>Dark Chocolate Procastination

>Hi everyone πŸ™‚ Hope you’re having a great Tuesday so far! Here’s a cute picture I found that made me smile this morning πŸ™‚

After eating breakfast this morning, I went to the grocery store for the last time before I go home to Ohio for the rest of the summer! I kind of hate trying to figure out what to buy when you’re also trying to get rid of everything. I have a feeling I’ll be having some random meals this next week.

After the store, I headed to the gym for another total body weights workout. I did 15 reps and 2 sets of the following:

*Lateral step-ups
*Squats
*Calf raises
*Single-leg dead lifts
*Chest press
*Seated reverse flies
*Bicep curls
*Upright rows
*Tricep kickbacks
*Seated rows
*Bicycle crunches: 60 x 2
*Regular crunches: 30 x 2
*Side plank raises: 15 x 2 each side

I followed this up with 10 minutes on the elliptical. I love getting in a good weight workout- I like the fatigued feeling my muscles have afterward πŸ™‚

Ok, so after reading Julie‘s blog post last week about peanut butter granola, I knew it was only a matter of time before I tried to make it myself. ME make granola? Yea…I don’t know what’s gotten into me. I think this whole blogging thing is inspiring me to be brave in the kitchen. I digress, I apologize….Anyway, it looked easy enough, and then when I saw it on Courtney’s blog yesterday, I could not get it out of my head. I seriously think I had dreams about granola last night.

So, I took the plunge and made some today. I should be studying for my mini lab practical that is tomorrow, but this is a delicious – and totally worth it – form of procrastination. Let me just say: holy crap, Julie you are a granola goddess! This was so easy and I now think I know what I’ll be eating for the rest of the day :).

I followed Julie’s recipe except that I doubled it and used Dark Chocolate Dreams instead of regular peanut butter.

Dark chocolate and peanut butter are two of my all-time favorite things to consume. So the fact that there is dark chocolate pb is awesome in itself (and all-natural at that!). However, using it to make granola is AMAZING. Seriously, you can taste the dark chocolatey, peanut buttery goodness in every crunchy bite πŸ™‚

Yes, I’m classy and put it in plastic Tupperware

I’m in big trouble with this stuff. I can envision the stuffing of my face that will occur probably all day long. Oh well, you only live once right? πŸ˜‰

Special thanks to Julie for giving me a new favorite snack/meal/anytime food and to Courtney for getting the idea stuck in my head to actually make this stuff. Love you girls for it!

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on June 21, 2011, in Lifting, Snack, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. >yum, it looks great!

  2. >I am not a huge fan of granola…but honestly, anything with dark chocolate dreams is probably going to be DANG good!

  3. >Great idea to use the chocolate PB!

  4. >Nice workout, girl!! I love fatigued muscles too. And that granola looks awesome! I saw it on Julie's blog & thought I definitely have to make it. & I love that you used the Dark Chocolate pb- Holy Yum!! πŸ™‚

  5. >you just inspired me to lifts some weights this week!

  6. >:) aw yay! Lifting is honestly such a great workout!

Leave a Reply

