Intervals and Countdowns

Wow, sorry this post is so late today! Blogger was being super annoying earlier and I couldn’t do anything I wanted, so I took the plunge and decided to get my own domain :).

Breakfast this morning was super yummy:

Oatmeal with banana slices, peanut butter, a splash of unsweetened vanilla almond milk, and cinnamon!

I absolutely love, love, love oatmeal! Even on warmer days. It keeps me full for a couple of hours, which is more than most other types of breakfast foods.

Workout

Ok, so I woke up this morning and got the idea into my head that I wanted to take a spinning class. I checked the exercise class schedule online and there was one at 9:15am. Perfect- enough time to come back, shower, and study some more! Alas, when I got to the gym, they said that no class was offered at that time. WHAT? I was so sad! I had my mind set on spinning, and frankly I kind of wanted someone telling me what to do.

I decided to do another interval workout- I love them :). Since I was still in a “spinning” mindset, I decided to do treadmill intervals based on a routine that my fav spinning instructor in undergrad used to do. She called them pyramid climbs- I have no idea if that is correct terminology, but they are hard! The basic idea is that you keep increasing the amount of working time, but keep the recovery time at 30 seconds.

I warmed up on the stepmill for 10 minutes before completing the intervals. My workout on the treadmill looked like this:

Pin It

Let me just tell you, my chest was so tight during this! The beginning seems easy enough, but then it just gets harder and harder. Those 30 second recoveries go by wayyyy too fast! These speeds were fast for me because I don’t jog at a quick pace to begin with, so they could be adjusted to fit your endurance levels! Definitely warm-up before hand as well- you need to get your heart pumping before you jump right into doing intervals.

Countdowns

Generally, I’m not big into counting down to events because then I get too anxious about them. However there are several coming up within the next two weeks that I’m super excited about, so I though I’d share!

2 weeks from today – My 23rd birthday! Ahhh, I can’t wait. I love my birthday..and I’m excited to turn 23- maybe I’ll feel a little wiser and people will stop asking me if I’m 17. Doubtful, but a girl can hope πŸ™‚

Cake from my 21st!

8 days from todayI GET TO SEE MY BOYFRIEND!!!!!!!! Chris and I have been dating for over 3.5 years, and have been long-distance since last fall when I moved to Boston for grad school. It’s been really hard not being able to see him that often, and this summer we’ll be able to spend about 6 weeks together- that’s the longest amount of time we’ll be together for a while. I’m super pumped πŸ™‚ I miss him so much!

One week from todayI will be done with my summer class! One step closer to being done with grad school! YAY πŸ™‚

On FridaySome friends and I will be attending the annual City of Cambridge Dance Party! This sounds awesome…here’s a description –

“On Friday, June 24, join thousands of residents and visitors of Cambridge who will gather on Massachusetts Avenue (in front of City Hall, between Inman and Bigelow) for the City’s annual Dance Party.Β  This portion of the street, at the heart of Central Square, will be closed to traffic from 7-11 p.m. The annual dance extravaganza is a special opportunity for the entire Cambridge community to celebrate the beginning of summer with an evening full of music and friends.Β  After dark, spectacular lights will be launched, adding to the magic of the evening.” (source)

Can’t wait for all of these things! Hope everyone is having a great day πŸ™‚

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on June 22, 2011, in About Me, Breakfast, Intervals, Uncategorized, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

