A Thursday Thank You

One more day til Friday! πŸ™‚ I found this video this morning and thought I should share- totally random, but kind of awesome!

A special thank you

So, in an attempt to really start appreciating the body that I’ve been blessed with (as opposed to comparing it to others and wishing it looked different) I thought I would write a thank you note to it :).

Dear Body,

I want to thank you for everything that you do and that you allow me to do. You truly are an amazing piece of machinery and I’m sorry that sometimes I wish you would change for aesthetic reasons. Without you I would not be able to do any of the things that I love. I’m working on learning to love you more than I have in the past, so please bear with me! I’m going to target some different parts of you that I don’t always like and highlight all of the wonderful things that you let me accomplish:

Legs-

Thank you so much carrying me places. Sometimes I don’t want to drive, or take another form of transportation, and you let me walk or run to my destination. Walking is one of life’s simple pleasures that is often taken for granted and I don’t want it to ever be taken away from me. I realize that I may want you to be skinnier sometimes, but in actuality, your strength is truly a gift. With you I can exercise the way I want. Your strong muscles will combat atrophy that occurs with aging and help keep my metabolism elevated. With you I can dance- something that I absolutely love to do! Also, you sustain me through all daily activities that require me to stand and move. More importantly, I can use you to kick someone should they ever try to attack me, or just annoy me (kidding, I don’t kick people because they annoy me). I can play footsie with my boyfriend under the table, and I can drive an automobile. You let me pedal on a bike and help me swim in a pool (or other body of water). The list could go on, but essentially, thank you for letting me move in ways that I want. I think I would actually rather you be strong and muscular, than skinny and waifish because I want to be able to do all of these things!

Buttocks-

Thank you so much for letting me sit on you all the time. I promise that once grad school is over and I don’t have to sit in a classroom or study all day, I will alleviate some of that stress on you. You have some of the human body’s strongest muscles and I don’t always give you the love you deserve. Sometimes I wish you weren’t so flat because I hate that my pants get baggy in the back. However, without you I wouldn’t be able to shake-it to my favorite songs. Sitting really wouldn’t be an option. A strong booty is important to support the pelvis- a much needed area for childbearing (not that I’m anywhere ready for that), and it helps relieves pressure on the lower back. I do not want low back pain later on in life- no thank you. Strong butt muscles also allow us to have better posture, they can decrease the effort it takes to walk, and they help stabilize the hips- which in turn helps stabilize the knees. I already experience some knee pain, so the fact that you’re helping it from getting worse is awesome! I really should give you more booty love :), you totally deserve it!

Abs/Core

Thank you so much for supporting me- literally. Without a strong core, I would not be able to complete any movement as efficiently as possible. Almost every motion that a person does is initiated in the core. Your strength helps keep me stable and balanced in everything that I do. That’s pretty awesome if you ask me. I do kind of wish that you were “flatter” in the lower ab area sometimes, but I think I can get over it knowing that you help me in virtually all of my crazy movements. I promise that even though I want to hurt someone when I’m doing planks, I will continue to do them so that I can give you the strength to help a sista out (aka me) :). Also, you protect my spine- which is one of the most important components of the human body. Without you I don’t think, no I know, that I would not be functioning the way that I am and the way that I want to be. So, thank you for being so supportive ;).

Thank you body! I’m working to love you more- and simply stating all of the awesome ways you contribute to my full life is one step in that direction!

Love always,

Lindsay

Hope everyone has an awesome Thursday!

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on June 23, 2011, in About Me, Body Image. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I am loving all of this self love! What a wonderful tribute!

    I really think that taking the time to write and think such positive messages to yourself makes such a difference. What a wonderful post! πŸ™‚

  2. Aww what a great post. Whenever I start getting too hard on myself, I always try to think of all of the positive things that I love about my body – like how it’s healthy and let’s me live the kind of life I want. I lost my health for a long, long time and life was absolutely miserable – it really makes you appreciate the value of a healthy body!

  3. Such an important sentiment! I love this idea because it’s so easy to get bogged down in comparing yourself or frustrated with little parts of your body that you don’t like. Focusing on the positive and appreciating what you have is so key. I wish I was as smart as you when I was your age!

  4. I think it’s so important to love yourself!! What a great post!!

  5. Beautiful letter to yourself! I’m so glad you decided to do this; I know it will make a difference for you! It definitely takes some time to love your body, but it is so wonderful once you do! There are so many other important things to worry about in the world than what you look like. And of course, always remember that you’re probably the only one who notices the things you don’t like about yourself!! Good luck in grad school and on your journey to really love yourself! I look forward to reading more πŸ™‚

  6. What a great letter! πŸ™‚

    I find talking positive about myself, especially my body, helps me stay in a postive and caring mindset.

  7. Yay for self love! This is a wonderful post and something that we all need to remind ourselves every so often- to love our bodies!
    I think I should make a tribute to myself too, especially when I am feeling a bit crappy for whatever reason

  8. What a thoughtful post πŸ™‚ I am going to thank myself a little today…with that hair appointment you already know about hehe, and a little workout tlc! Always helps to have others remind us…so thanks!

  1. Pingback: My 7 Links « In Sweetness and In Health

Leave a Reply

