Friday Furry Friends, Part 1

Woo hoo it’s Friday!!! πŸ™‚

I woke up this morning and really wasn’t feeling the strength workout that I had planned. My body was just too sore and my hammies were screaming with tightness. So I decided to do some yoga in my living room. I do not normally do yoga- I’m horrible at it, and I had a creepy teacher once whisper in my ear, asking if she could “touch me”. Eek it gave me the willies. I realize she just wanted to help me adjust my posture, but c’mon- she could’ve said it differently.

Anyway, I love that our cable has exercise tv on demand! I picked a 35 minute yoga session and definitely got to stretch it out.

I realize I’m not doing what the lady in the video is…sometimes I can’t keep up because I’m not a “practiced” yogini (is that a word?) so I go at my own pace :).

After the video, I did a little more stretching on my own. Seriously, holy tight hamstrings. I really need to start incorporating more stretching into my routine.

Furry Friends

So, I’m going home to Ohio next week for the rest of the summer, and thought that I would dedicate my Friday posts to my pets. My mom likes to call them her furry children :). We have a dog and a cat, and I miss them so much! I thought that I would introduce them to you today.

Cooper

Omg doesn’t he look so fat, happy, and lazy?? This is the epitome of Cooper- he loves to lounge around and let his flubby flub hang out for all to see.

Cooper originally started out as my cat. My college roommate and I decided to get him, even though we weren’t allowed to have animals in our apartment. I had never had a cat before, but I instantly fell in love with him!

See, he wasn’t always a fat cat. Actually, when we got him, he weighed less than a pound. I think he was starving, and once we started feeding him- well he’s basically never stopped eating. He now cries incessantly around our house whenever his food bowl is almost empty- just to remind us that we need to fill it up soon.

We got his front claws removed because he was scratching up everything. We tried to get a scratching post and cover it with catnip- he did not respond. Strange cat :). Well, after his claws got removed, he wouldn’t let himself heal so this happened:

Thanks a lot mom

Poor thing…he was so stinkin’ cute though :).

To make a long story short, we got caught by our landlord :(. So, Cooper had to go home to my mom. It’s a good thing he and my dog are BFFs. Seriously, they get along so well. They wrestle, clean each other, snuggle together…it’s adorable! Cooper also was given the name SeΓ±or. Apparently my brother and his friends think he is a mexican cat? I don’t know. I refuse to call him that. So now, he is happily enjoying life at my mom’s house. He cries at the back door because he always wants to be outside, he bangs on doors at night if he wants to be in the room with you, he likes to fetch ribbons, he loves to rub his face against mine, and he’s just all around awesomesauce. Be prepared for lots of pics and stories when I go home!

Camera flash = creepy eyes

Mia

This is Mia in her halloween costume a few years ago…doesn’t she look so happy? Haha :). Mia is my mom’s dog. She is a havanese, and she is one of the most loving dogs in the world. She loves to lay in your arms and snuggle with you pretty much anywhere. She was hard to train, but she is finally getting so much better!

She was soooo small when my mom first got her! Isn’t she precious?

Mia has quite the personality, and I hope that when I get a dog of my own it loves me as much as Mia loves my mom! Mia has the bark of a big dog…seriously it is so loud and deep it’s crazy! She loves to lay on her back with her paws in the air, and she LOVES her toys- they consist of stuffed animals, my mom calls them her babies. Except, she kind of likes to tear them apart and rip all the stuffing out. I guess that how she shows her love ;).

Lovin' life

Anyway, I absolutely can’t wait to see my pets! I miss them so much! Animals bring such joy to your life, and I wish I could have one of my own, but right now that isn’t feasible. So, I will just enjoy their company and craziness whenever I get to go home :).

Be prepared for some more “Friday Furry Friends” posts this summer!

Have a great day!

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on June 24, 2011, in Pets, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Awe! Cuties! I am pretty much only equipped to be a fishy parent right now, but I do love my Beta! I know he’s just a fish, but I am 100% attached. Silly. πŸ™‚

    Happy Friday, Lindsay!

  2. indecisiveathlete

    Your animals are so cute! I love that Cooper looks like he is probably bigger than Mia πŸ™‚ I am so attached to my animals too and always miss them when I’m away at school.

  3. awww that’s so sad you had to get rid of your pets! Even if they are with your mom… 😦 I would be devastated!

  4. Awwr Cooper and Mia are adorable! I have a puppy of my own and I love her to pieces. I wish I could get a cat too, but I’m allergic to them so I just have to love them from a distance.

  5. Martha Freeman

    Awwww I love the post about Cooper! I miss him so much 😦 He was such a freaking cute little kitten…so weird though! Hahah remember how he used to push himself off walls when he was laying down? He looks pretty happy though.. πŸ™‚

  6. Yay for animal posts! You look SO cute doing yoga, girl! That’s awesome!

  7. Just came across your blog and I love it! I wanted to say hi πŸ™‚ I hope you have a great weekend! P.S. I JUST started yoga. Luckily I do it in my basement where no one is watching because I look ridiculous. I guess I have to start somewhere!

  8. Oh my gosh- they are both so cute! Love little Cooper in your bag! What a cutie.
    & I bet your muscles enjoyed the stretch you gave them..sometimes that is SO necessary!
    Happy weekend πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

