Dance Party Recap

Hi everyone! Hope you’re having a groovy Saturday :).

After taking a much needed rest from exercise yesterday, I was ready to go this morning. I completed a total body weights workout and was inspired by Holly’s post today to switch things up a bit so I incorporated some plyometrics! I completed 3 sets of the following, and did anywhere from 10-15 reps depending on the amount of weight I used.

Total Body Weights Workout

*Chest press on stability ball

*Bent-over rows

*Push-ups with feet on stability ball

*Assisted pull-ups

*Bicep “21” curls – this is where you go halfway up for 7, from the shoulder and halfway down for 7, and then 7 full curls

*Shoulder press

*Tricep extensions

*Leg press

*Jumping lunges

*Hamstring curls

*Lateral bounds

*Hip thrusts on stability ball

*Burpees

*Dumbbell hip thrusts on stability ball (see this video for an idea of what hip thrusts look like)

*Weighted side bends

*Weighted crunches

*Back extensions

It felt awesome to do some plyos..they really get your heart rate up and you can definitely feel the burn!

Outdoor Dance Party

Last night was the outdoor dance party in Cambridge. IT WAS SO MUCH FUN!!!! Mass Ave in Central Square was completely shut down, there was a DJ playing awesome music, so many people were there- it was insane, and it was slightly misting-which almost made it better because it cooled you off from all the dancing. Before we went dancing, my roommates and I went to our friends’ apartment for some food and Margaritas :). Then we headed over and danced the night away for two hours straight! Let me just tell you- I was worn out. I slept so good last night. Here are some pics from the evening!

Natalie cooking the veggies for our fajitas

I need a hair cut...it's starting to look a little poofy on the side haha

Haha I thought the conversation blurb was funny

Guac from Whole Foods- so yummy!

I have a problem controlling myself around chips and guac or salsa. I seriously think I ate a majority of those chips. Haha, oh well, I think the amount of dancing I did definitely made up for it ;).

Veggie fajitas and spanish rice

Funny poses! Please don't make fun of me haha

And then, after we got that out of our systems, we walked over to the dance party :).

Seriously, why do I always find men not wearing shirts in this city???

We were supposed to make animal faces? Way to go Natalie...

There we go 🙂

Going out to a bar/club can be a lot of fun…but honestly, this was so much better! I haven’t danced for that amount of time in a while and it was awesome. I’m so glad I got to experience this annual event :). I secretly kind of hoped that the skies would open up and it would pour at the end so we could go out with a bang- Step Up 2 style..haha yea right.

Would you enjoy a night of dancing in the streets??

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on June 25, 2011, in Boston, Dance, Dinner, Friends, Life, Lifting, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. I love switching up workouts! If I try to do the same thing too often, I end up getting bored and just wanting to get through my workout as fast as possible, so keeping things different keeps me interested. I have exercise ADD 😉

    And I would LOVE a night of dancing in the streets. Seriously. That looks beyond fun.

  2. lindsay’s know how to party! Love the outdoor fun.

  3. If that night of dancing in the streets was EXACTLY like Step Up 2: the streets, then it would be the best night of my life.

    If there was guacamole involved, it would be the best night of anyone’s life.

    Fun post!

  4. Found your blog today and thougt I’d say hi! I’m new to blogging, but really enjoy your posts. I’m looking forward to reading more! 🙂

  5. your workout looks great! And it looks like you had loads of fun at your dance party! Yay for fun nights with friends

  6. the party sound so fun!! and I LOVE the step-up movies : ) i just came across your blog recently and am enjoying it!

    Katie : )

  7. Hahahaha! Looks like an awesome night! I love the animal faces pictures 😉
    I have a problem controlling myself around chips & quac too- they are just SO good.
    & thanks for the shout out!!

  8. OH my gosh! It looks like you had sooo much fun! Yay!

  9. Saralie Dawlott

    Sarah and Natalie here. We’re big fans of your blog, of dancing in the rain, and of YOU! Can’t wait for more…of all of the above…also we want copies of your pics!

  1. Pingback: 5-4-3-2-1 « In Sweetness and In Health

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Cookies and an Early Morning | GOtheXtraMile

  3. Pingback: Wine and Dine – Grad School Style

Leave a Reply

