Cakes and a Circuit

I had one of the most amazing cupcakes of my life last night. Seriously, it was awesome!

It was a “Choc-annoli” cupcake from Kickass Cupcakes in Davis Square. The website description of the cupcake is this-

Ltd. Edition Choc-annoli Cupcake – Chocolate cupcake, sweet ricotta center, vanilla frosting garnished with cannoli chips and chocolate chips

Oh.my.god. It was delicious. I think I ate it in about a minute flat. That was stupid, I should have savored it and made the process take a little longer. Oh well, it was worth it :).

I don’t generally like chocolate cakes or cupcakes. I don’t know why because I consider chocolate to be one of my food soul mates. But, this chocolate cupcake was perfect!

Speaking of cakes- I CANNOT wait for my birthday because that means that I will get to cherish one of the best cakes ever. There is a bakery near my boyfriend’s house that makes the most delicious cakes in the world. Actually, the icing is what is total awesomesauce :). It’s buttercream, and it is spread around the cake in a super thick layer. I’ll be sure to take pics of the cake next week (yes, I already know that I’m getting one) but here is a picture of my cake from my 21st-

Not only does it taste eyes roll back in the head amazing, but it’s pretty! Perfect ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyway, now that I’ve officially activated my sweet-tooth, let’s move on.

I woke up this morning and had to go to Starbucks for my coffee. I’m not complaining, I love Starbucks. But I don’t generally spend money on my morning coffee. However, since I’m going home in two days I’ve been trying to go through all of my food without going to the grocery store. Thus, coffee = all gone. I can’t start my morning without a cup of coffee. I don’t consider myself a coffee addict- the most I ever have in one day is two cups and usually I just have one. There is just something about the smell and taste of coffee in the morning that I love and cherish :).

I usually drink hot coffee. Yes, even in the summer. Deal with it. But, I figured since I was buying it- go big or go home. Actually I probably could have gone a lot bigger and ordered some fancy drink, but I just got regular iced coffee. It tasted good :).

Now that I’m caffeinated and ready to go, it’s time to do some laundry and head to the gym. I’m going to do some circuit training today that will look like this-

Circuit Workout – go through twice

  1. Chest press on stability ball โ€“ 15 reps
  2. Bent over row with non-working hand on stability ball โ€“ 15 reps each side
  3. Reverse lunges holding medicine ball โ€“ 20 reps each leg
  4. Reverse flys โ€“ 15 reps
  5. Squat with stability ball against wall โ€“ 15 reps
  6. Bicep curls โ€“ 15 reps
  7. Single-leg hamstring curls on ball โ€“ 12 reps each side
  8. Overhead tricep extensions โ€“ 15 reps
  9. Deadlifts โ€“ 15 reps
  10. Lateral shoulder raises โ€“ 15 reps
  11. Side plank raises โ€“ 15 reps each side
  12. Crunches on stability ball โ€“ 50 reps
  13. Back extension on stability ball โ€“ 15 reps

Then I’ll probably do some cardio at the end.

Today will consist of laundry and studying until I go pick up mi madre from the airport! She’s flying in so she can help me make the 13 hour drive back to Ohio on Thursday. Thanks Mom!

Have an awesome Tuesday!

What is your favorite kind of cake or cupcake?

How do you drink your coffee?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on June 28, 2011, in About Me, Coffee, Dessert, Lifting, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. Favorite cupcake are carrot cupcakes! Or cranberry walnut!!

    Favorite coffee: Iced coffee with a little almond milk…or if I’m feeling like “goin big” it would be a caramel macchiato ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. indecisiveathlete

    Oh wow that cupcake sounds delicious and that cake from your 21st is so cute!

    I whenever I have to get coffee from starbucks I get iced coffee too its just such a nice change from typical hot coffe. Good luck with your drive home!

  3. Ahhh when’s your birthday?!

    My favorite cupcakes… Hmm… I really like pumpkin spice cupcakes with cream cheese frosting. Especially in the autumn.

    As far as coffee, I don’t drink it at all (something about the smell on the breath of others turned me off as a child and I never could turn it back on).

  4. I am such a cheap person when it comes to coffee. I never buy coffee at a coffee place…. ever. I stick to my cheap Maxwell House at home ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Don’t like chocolate cupcakes?! Crazy! Those are my favorite… especially with an espresso flavored buttercream. Oooo good stuff. And I’m the same as you with my coffee… I don’t need it to feel awake, but I love it for it’s taste and always look forward to my morning cup. Hot and straight up black is my favorite, but I’m not one to turn down an iced coffee either ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. ohh my all three – the cupcake, the birthday cake, and the iced coffee all look sooo delish! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I don’t think that I would ever turn down any type of cupcake but I am partial to vegan chocolate cake with peanut butter frosting. mm mm! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’ve pretty much given up coffee (tear) because it doesn’t agree with my body too well, but I still love it so. In fact sometimes I just sit and breathe in the aroma of my husband’s morning cup of joe… ๐Ÿ˜›

    Love the workout! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I LOVE cupcakes! Yesterday I had a red velvet with almond buttercream! Sooo good! I’m a big fan on strawberry cupcakes with white chocolate icing!

  8. Okay a cannoli cupcake? That sounds like freaking heaven!

  9. OMG that cake!! It is adorable I love it!! My abs. fav. cake/cupcake is red velvet with cream cheese frosting… heaven!!!

  10. I love the workout! Looks like a lot of what I do too. I’m actually posting about my latest circuit tomorrow ๐Ÿ™‚

    I am so NOT a coffee person! I know, I know! I just do not like the taste at all. Even a fancy vanilla cappuccino won’t do. Give me a thing of hot chocolate though and I’ll go to town ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. when is your bday? soon? Oh i am not a cake person but I do like to make them, cause they are so cute! I love ice cream or some type of pie/cobbler. They need to make a cobble cupcake!

  12. I’m not a coffee drinker, weird right? I love anything chocolate and I especially love ice cream cake from TCBY!

  13. That cupcake looks awesome! Ricotta cheese in a cupcake is so interesting. It’s like a mix of cheesecake and cupcake… sounds like a win!

  14. Great circuit!!

    I like my coffee with almond milk!

  15. Great circuit!!

    I like my coffee with almond milk! ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Best kind of cake? Anything homemade and most!!

    as for coffee, I love mine With a little splenda or sweetner with sugar free chocolate torani. A little skin or almond milk thrown in on occassion is great for extra creaminess. ๐Ÿ™‚

    When I’m out, I love a cappuccino with skim and sugar free flavoring. And starbuck- iced Mocha lights = โค

  17. OH my that cupcake… the description left me drooling a bit!
    I’m pretty boring when it comes to coffee- just a bit of scream and splenda for me!
    Chocolate cake with buttercream frosting is always my cake of choice ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. chocolaet, peanut butter, icecream. combine that into my dream cake! ahaha

    I actually drink hot coffee all summer too. On occasssion I have iced, but i generally prefer hot!

  19. I have never had a cupcake with ricotta before…sounds awesome though! And I love excuses to go to Starbucks, even though I hate spending that much money on coffee too. It’s nice every now and then to start the day with a treat ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. Banana chocolate chip muffins are definitely my favorite. Home-made of course ๐Ÿ™‚

    And I’m horrendously allergic to caffeine, and I don’t see the point in de-caf coffee… so I suppose I save myself some money on the coffee front. ha

Leave a Reply

