Change Things Up

Happy Saturday everyone :).

Last night I got to see Chris!!! Yay! It was awesome to hang out with him for awhile!

We had dinner with my mom and her boyfriend. And look who we found while we were outside-

Can you spot Cooper? That little stinker snuck through our backdoor and lounged around outside for awhile.

Yep, he’s lovin’ life. I think he would love to be an outdoor cat, but I refuse to let that happen. Once we got him back inside, Chris scooped him up and I don’t think he was too happy about it haha-

Changing Things Up

This morning I headed to the gym to get my lift on. I love being able to go to the gym here at home- it’s so much nicer than the one I go to at school. It’s also more expensive, but it’s worth it for these two months :). I can’t wait to try out some of the group fitness classes!

For weight training workouts, I think it’s really important to change it up fairly often. Not only does it keep you from getting bored, but it keeps your muscles guessing- you know, because they have a brain and all ;). If you constantly work your muscles in the same way and with the same weight, you aren’t going to continue to see changes. Also, your body will learn to become more efficient at performing those exercises and it won’t have to work as hard. Thus, your workout won’t be as effective.

I rarely do the same exact workout when I lift because I have a lot of different exercises that I can rotate through. Even then, I think it’s great sometimes to throw in a few different moves so that you challenge your body in new ways. I did some exercises today that I haven’t done in a while and I definitely think I will be feeling it tomorrow. Here are the different moves I incorporated into my routine today (give ’em a try!)-

Barbell Side Lunge:

Instead of doing regular lunges and step-ups I did these side lunges. You can really feel these in your quads and glutes- the glutes more-so if you lunge out farther.

Push-ups on Bosu Ball

Okay, standard push-ups are hard on their own, but these require a lot more stability and you can really feel your core being engaged. I definitely can’t do as many of these as I can regular push-ups.

Front Squat to Push Press

These are killer. Don’t use too much weight, especially when you are first doing these! You won’t be able to use as much weight as when you do a normal back squat because you’ll need to lift the weight overhead. A front squat is a little more challenging than a back squat because it recruits your abs to help stabilize you. And then you will need some momentum to get the bar overhead. This is a compound exercise, meaning that it uses two or more muscle groups to complete the exercise. You’re working the upper and lower body with this move.

Lying Triceps Extension

Typically I prefer to do regular triceps extensions, triceps dips, or triceps kickbacks. I definitely felt the burn doing these!

Stability Ball Tuck

This is an awesome exercise! You can really feel it in your lower abs :).

I love changing up my workouts sometimes. It helps keep me motivated, I never get bored, and I always like a good challenge. Hope everyone has an awesome Saturday!

Questions

Do you like to change up your workouts?

If so, how often do you try to do new things?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on July 2, 2011, in Lifting, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. indecisiveathlete

    Your cat looks so happy lounging out side.

    I sometimes change things up but I mostly do the same weights workouts because I don’t do them as often as I should…

  2. I love changing up my strength workouts otherwise I get really bored… it’s one of the reasons I don’t think I could ever be a long distance runner… too much of the same thing and I’m ready to quit lol. And that last move is one of my favorites… I did a bunch of them yesterday and my abs are killing me today!

  3. I’ve just started changing it up–I was in a workout rut 😦 Thanks for the tips, girl. Now that I started lifting I can finally do these bad boys! Have a great weekend w/ Chris!

  4. ohhh awesome moves! Several are my favs especially the bosu ball pushup and knee tucks. I hate side lunges but I need to do them!

    So glad you got to spend time with your wonderful bf! 🙂

  5. Aw your kitty’s cute! Mines an indoor cat too, i’d be too devastated if he ran away and theres a lot of wild hungry dogs around here so it’s a no no! Love the front squat to push press and the stability ball tuck! All great exercises actually!

Leave a Reply

