B-day Celebrations Begin

Last night I had my birthday dinner with my dad, his fiance, and Chris! We went to McCormick and Schmick’s seafood restaurant and it was awesome :).

It was so sweet, my dad told the restaurant we were celebrating my birthday when he made reservations and they recognized it on their menu! Sorry some of these pics aren’t super clear- I sneakily taking pics with the camera on my phone…

For my cocktail I ordered a Sangria Lemonade, which was a mix of sangria, lemonade, and vodka- it was delicious!

I started with a field greens salad. I think I scarfed it down pretty quickly. Get in mah bellay πŸ™‚

I loved my entree- I branched out and ordered the cashew crusted tilapia. Good choice on my part! Usually when I’m at a seafood restaurant I get salmon, tuna, or scallops but I was very happy with my decision to switch it up. The fish came with green beans and a sweet potato risotto. Oh my god it was all so so good :).

And finally, for dessert I got the peanut butter pie. Seriously, it was to die for. I ate the entire thing myself πŸ™‚ Holy yum

This dinner was awesome! And it was a great way to kick off my birthday celebrations :). Thank you so much dad and Beth!

Leg Shaking Workout

This morning Chris and I woke up and decided to go walk by Hoover Dam and run the stairs. No, I don’t live by the real Hoover Dam, well I guess it’s real but it’s not the famous one, you know what I mean. Our Hoover is right by my house, so we went and parked my car a little farther down from where the stairs were so we could get a walk in first.

These are the stairs that we ran-

Source

It may not look like it’s that hard to run these, but let me tell you I was dying after the first time up them. I ran them 5 times and Chris ran them 8- he’s a stud :). After the 3rd time running up them, my legs were shaking whenever I stood still. I’ve never seen them do that of their own accord before. When I finished the 5th time, my legs were shaking even harder and it felt like my lungs were going to jump out of my chest. I don’t think my legs have ever visibly shook like that before after working out- I guess that means I worked pretty hard, huh?

Once we were done, the sad part was that we realized we still had to walk about 15 minutes back to my car…oh well, it gave us time to cool down. All in all, I’d say I got in a pretty damn good workout :). That just means I can shove my face later today when Chris and I go to his mom’s house for a cookout! Yay!

Hope everyone has an awesome Sunday!

Question:

Have you ever completed a workout that was so hard it made your legs shake? If so, what did you do?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on July 3, 2011, in Birthday, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. Happy Birthday! Looks like you had a delicious meal- especially the dessert! Any dessert with peanut butter in it, is a winner in my book! πŸ™‚

  2. Happy birthday girly! Have a fantastic ‘birthweek’! πŸ™‚ Every time I finish a muay thai session my legs feel like that… it never seems to get any easier?!

  3. Aww that’s SO sweet about being mentioned on the menu. Enjoy your birthday week, girlie! Milk it for all it’s worth πŸ˜‰

    Ever since I started getting more into strength training, a lot of my workouts have left me feeling shaky and ready to collapse lol… especially when I’m doing weighted lunges and working with the stability ball. Ohhh why’s it gotta hurt so good?

  4. I love that your name is on the menu! How special… did you get to keep it?

    I started working out with my Dad back in the day and he ALWAYS made me to stairs. They are so tough. Good for you for doing so many!

    Enjoy the birthday celebrations! Wooohooo!

  5. That sangria vodka lemonade looks AMAZING! I made sangria for a cookout today πŸ™‚

  6. I’ve has that sangria drink there, it’s so addicting! Happy birthday week!

  7. Happity Happy Birthday πŸ˜€

    Ahhhh dinner looks amazing and even better w/ the company πŸ™‚

    I figured out why I couldnt comment on your blog – or, my computer did, I guess. Haha! Yay!

  8. Great post! I’ve been inspired to try some stairs for a hard workout!

  9. Happy Birthday yesterday!
    What a fun post, and your dinner and drinks looks quite tasty, something I would certainly enjoy!
    Stair workouts are the devil, but they are so great for improving your speed and endurance. Nice job with them πŸ™‚

  10. Yowza, those stairs look crazy. Pretty sure my legs would be shaking too…
    And your entire dinner looks amazing! I can’t believe the menu was customized. You must have felt like a superstar πŸ™‚

    Happy birthday!!!

  1. Pingback: Holiday and Hugs « In Sweetness and In Health

  2. Pingback: Birthday Recap « In Sweetness and In Health

  3. Pingback: My First Giveaway! « In Sweetness and In Health

  4. Pingback: It’s August Already?? « In Sweetness and In Health

Leave a Reply

