Another Year Older

It’s my birthday!!! šŸ™‚

I can’t believe that I am 23 years old. I guess I don’t really feel any different, but I kinda like the sound of “23” – it makes me feel like more of an adult. Maybe this is the year people will stop telling me I look like I’m a senior in high school…doubtful, but a girl can hope right?

Here is a pic of baby Lindsay-

And here are two pictures I found from my 2nd birthday and I thought my excitement was awesome šŸ™‚ –

Not gonna lie, I still feel as giddy as I look in those pictures on my birthday.

A lot happened in my 22nd year of life. Here’s a list of some of the big things that stand out šŸ™‚ –

  • Graduated magna cum laude from Miami University in Ohio
  • Went to Hilton Head, SC for a summer vacation
  • Was a bridesmaid in my cousin’s wedding
  • Moved to Boston for grad school, knowing absolutely nobody
  • Started graduate school at Tufts University to obtain a masters degree in occupational therapy
  • Made a bunch of new friends in my OT class
  • Went to Siesta Key, FL for spring break
  • Attended my first American Occupational Therapy Association national conference in Philly
  • Started blogging šŸ™‚
  • Finished my first year (out of two) of grad school

Of course, many more wonderful things happened- but these were some of the big highlights.

During this past year I’ve definitely grown as an individual and learned a lot about myself-

  • I am more outgoing than I thought I was. I have always considered myself a shy person and the thought of moving to a big city and not knowing anyone really scared me, but I was actually very at ease when it came to meeting new people. I think part of this deals with the fact that I’ve definitely become more comfortable with who I am.
  • I no longer try to please everyone so they will like me. This was something I did a lot in high school and even in college. I’ve always wanted other people to like me and want to be friends with me. When someone didn’t, it would knock down my self-esteem and I would wonder what was wrong with me. I don’t know if it’s come with age or getting tired of trying so hard to be a people pleaser, but I just don’t care enough anymore. If someone doesn’t like who I am- it’s their loss and not mine. Of course I still have moments where I want other people to love me (I’ve had this with wanting other bloggers to like me…oh boy), but at the end of the day, I’m not going to change for someone else or put forth a ton of effort for nothing in return. There are more important things in life to spend my time and energy on, and there are other people out there who DO like me without me having to put on a show

  • I can still succeed without wearing myself down. In undergrad I studied all.the.time. I worked myself so hard and often didn’t let myself enjoy nights out with friends. Yes, I still had lots of fun in college, but I would often agonize over how much studying and work I needed to do to get good grades. I definitely over-studied for so many tests. My parents always told me that I needed to lighten up a bit, and I realized that when grad school started. Once I first started studying again, I discovered that I couldn’t do what I did in undergrad- I think my mind was burnt out. I’ve learned not to be so hard on myself with studying. If I can’t concentrate, I don’t keep pushing through the material- I take a break and watch a tv show. I listen to my body and my mind and I let myself live a little. I’m not going to miss out on more fun nights. And you know what? I still did really well my first year.
  • I’ve found the hobby I was missing with this blog. I’ve never really had any hobbies. During undergrad and even up until this past month, I considered mine to be fitness related things and reading. Um, that’s kind of boring. I’ve been reading healthy living blogs for a while and seriously, one day I was just like- you know what? I really think I want to start one. So I did. In Sweetness and In Health was born….and I love it. This blog has fulfilled a creative hole that was present in my life. Now, I don’t consider myself a creative/artistic person by any means- but writing posts gets my imaginative juices flowing. It makes me think in different ways than school does. Also, sometimes I feel like I am able to communicate my thoughts better through writing than I am through verbal communication, so this is a great outlet for me. I feel like I’ve found something that I can be passionate about and it isn’t for a monetary or any other purpose- it is just for me and the joy I get out of doing it :).

So, all in all, I think I had a great 22nd year. I can’t wait to see what will happen while I’m 23 :). Hope you all have an awesome day!

Question

What is one thing you have learned about yourself this past year?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on July 6, 2011, in About Me, Birthday. Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. Happy Birthday! In the last year I learned that I CAN survive without my husband (he deployed for a year… he’s back now, but that year was tough)

  2. Happy, happy birthday!! Yeah, I’ve just gotten used to “23” and it’s almost over šŸ™‚ I hope you have a great day! I’m hoping to get your packing in the mail this afternoon or tomorrow! Just depends on what time I get out of work šŸ™‚

  3. Happy Birthday Lindsay!! Congrats on 23!!

    The past year, I’ve learned that living with someone can be a challenge, but brings you so much closer together.

  4. Happy Birthday, Lindsay!

    You are such an adorable little kiddo and an even more beautiful 23 year old!! Hope 23 is as good if not better than 22!

  5. what a good idea to throw together everything you learned in your last year. šŸ™‚ aand you’re such a cutiepie.

    I’ve learned a whooole lot about myself this year. I am surprising myself with how much strength I’ve pulled together from my weaknesses, though. if that makes sense?

  6. Happy Birthday Lindsay! I bet this year will be even better than your last, you deserve to have a successful 23rd year šŸ˜€
    I have learned that recovery is indeed possible, I just have to keep fighting

  7. Happy Birthday, girl! Eee! You were such a cutie when you were tiny. Not that you’re not gorgeous now šŸ˜‰ 22 sounds like it was an amazing year for you, and I’m hoping that 23 will be just as, if not more, amazing šŸ˜€ I think one of the most important thing I’ve learned this past year is to accept myself for who I am instead of trying to mold myself to “fit” something that I’m not… and to not sweat the small stuff and appreciate everything I have.

  8. Happy Brithday!!! You went to Miami of Ohio?? I’m from Columbus! (I went to Ohio State) but I live in VA now. Hope you’re enjoying the “east coast” šŸ™‚

  9. Happy Birthday! What a cute post – I loved reading it and learning a little more about you. The side benefit to turning 23 is that Blink-182 song now applies to you – but only the age part. “what’s my age again? what’s my age again?” That’s what I kept singing when I turned 23

  10. Happy happy birthday! Sounds like you had a fabulous year!

    I think those things your learned about yourself are fantastic! You seem so down to earth and just a genuinely happy person which makes reading your blog so interesting and uplifting! Keep it up in your 23rd year! Wooot!

  11. Yay, for birthdays šŸ™‚ I hope you have an amazing day and I loved reading about what you’ve learned/what you did this year…I love that kind of stuff. Enjoy šŸ™‚

  12. Happy happy happy birthday! šŸ˜€

  13. Happy birthday!!! Hope you have an amazing day!!!!

  14. Happy birthday girl! šŸ™‚ I hope 23 is an amazing year for you! This last year or so I have learnt that things don’t just fall into place without a lot of hard work and effort. I have always known it but only just REALLY realised it if you know what I mean?! It has given me a lot of focus that I didn’t have before.

  15. Happy Birthday! Hope you achieve every goal you set for yourself.. this year and beyond!

  16. Loved this post, Lindsay!
    And, by the way – you were an ADORABLE baby!
    Happy Birthday! šŸ™‚

  17. i’ll trade you, you can be almost 28 and I’ll be 23, k? haha. JK. Getting older is fun to me! happy birthday!

  18. Happy Birthdayyyyy šŸ™‚ I’m glad you started your blog because I love reading it! I also had to laugh when you said you’re getting over being a people pleaser. I gave up on that years ago. Your’re right – people should like you for you, and if not – their problem!

  19. Happy late Birthday!! One thing I have also learned this year is a lot about blogging. I have always enjoyed talking to others about fitness and healthy eating, and blogging has given me a perfect outlet!

  1. Pingback: My 7 Links « In Sweetness and In Health

  2. Pingback: It’s August Already?? « In Sweetness and In Health

Leave a Reply

