Tilapia Citrus Couscous Salad

I made dinner last night!!! All by myself too :). Now, I have made dinner before, but usually something really simple that doesn’t involve dicing, sauteing, zesting, squeezing, etc. So I’m pretty pumped and proud of myself.

Tilapia Citrus Couscous Salad

Adapted from The Best of Clean Eating cookbook

Ingredients

  • I.5 cups whole wheat couscous
  • 1.5 lbs tilapia fillets (I used 6 fillets)
  • 2 large carrots, peeled and diced
  • 1 stalk celery, ends trimmed and finely diced
  • 2/3 large vidalia onion, finely diced
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, cored, seeded and diced
  • Zest and juice of 1 lime
  • Zest and juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 1 Tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tsp dried parsley
  • Olive oil cooking spray

Directions

  1. Dice carrots, celery, onion, and pepper. Set aside for later.
  2. Saute diced onion over medium-heat until slightly brown and translucent. Set aside for later.
  3. Prepare couscous according to package. *
  4. Heat a large non-stick skillet over high heat for about 1 minute. Spritz with cooking spray and reduce heat to medium-high. Place tilapia in skillet and cook for about 2 minutes per side. Remove tilapia and flake with a fork.
  5. In a large bowl, combine couscous, tilapia, carrots, celery, onion and bell pepper.
  6. In a medium bowl, whisk together lime zest and juice, lemon zest and juice, Dijon mustard, oil, garlic and parsley. Pour dressing over tilapia-couscous mixture and stir until well combined.
  7. Serve immediately or chill in the refrigerator.

This amount served 5 people and there are plenty leftovers.

*The couscous I used only took 5 minutes to cook after the water was boiling. Move this step based on cooking time of the couscous.

This meal actually tasted really good! And everyone else that was eating thought so too…so it wasn’t just in my head. And no, they weren’t lying to make me feel better. I was surprised that I didn’t screw anything up…yay! Go me :). The citrus flavors made it taste very refreshing, and I think it’s a perfect summertime meal. It is something that I will definitely make again!

 

Furry Friends Friday Part 3

Here are some pics of Mia and Cooper that I’ve snapped over the past few days. Enjoy 🙂

So precious!

Loungin'

Naughty Mia- trying to lick the dirty plates

Hiding from Mia- I found you!

 

Question

How old were you when you really started cooking?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on July 8, 2011, in Dinner, Pets, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. I love the ball action shot. So sweet!

    That dinner looks great! I would never have thought of having a white fish in a couscous dish like that! Very interesting! Great job!

  2. Probably last year, so around 24. I did cook before then but nothing more than the occasional sunday roast and very regular pasta + pesto dish. I love it now! Can’t imagine not cooking! 🙂 And your babies are sooo cute btw!

  3. I really started cooking once I got married…my mother-in-law did not teach my honey a thing in the kitchen!!!!

    Congrats on a successful meal!! I love Clean Eating and have made a few of their recipes before. Good luck in the kitchen and keep trying new things 🙂

  4. I guarantee you my puppers and yours would be bffs. She LOVES licking the dirty dishes. And her tennis ball os by far her favorite toy!!

  5. I just started cooking too 🙂 and your puppies and cats are cute!

  6. FREAKING YUM! tilapia+citrus+couscous in a salad form!?! YES 🙂

  7. is that a cat? the last picture? hehe, big guy! i love cooking. I started too in high school with my brothers.

  8. I started cooking at about 18. Before then, it was hot dogs and cheese 😉

  9. sara @ the foodie diaries

    I started cooking just recently 🙂 I absolutely love it!! I love trying new recipes and figuring out what I am and what I’m not good at 🙂

  10. That looks yummy! I hate dicing and chopping stuff, luckily my bf has a food processor so we’ve started using that. It makes cooking so much easier and fun

  11. I started to cook when I lived on my own in college, so around 21. I cooked simple things (and still do!) but it’s a great skill to have 🙂

  1. Pingback: It’s August Already?? « In Sweetness and In Health

  2. Pingback: 2011 Highlights

Leave a Reply

