My Body Has Spoken

It is such a pretty day outside on this lovely Saturday :)!

I think that clear, blue sky and sunshine means that I’m gonna have to layout and attempt to get a tan :).

Last night, Chris and I went and saw the movie Horrible Bosses. It was super funny! There were definitely several moments where my stomach hurt from laughing. That being said, it was exactly what you’d expect it to be- there weren’t really any surprises. But still, a movie that makes me laugh is a great one in my book.

Also, remember how I turned 23 the other day? Well apparently I don’t look old enough to see an R-rated movie because I got carded last night when we were buying our tickets. I mean c’mon people! haha

Anyway, this morning I completed a pyramid climb treadmill workout very similar to this one. However, I had to decrease the speeds a little bit because my body wasn’t having it. A pyramid climb involves increasing the amount of time spent working and always recovering with just 30 seconds. Today’s workout looked like this-

Minutes Speed
5 4.2
0.5 8
0.5 4
1 8
0.5 4
1.5 7.7
0.5 4
2 7.7
0.5 4
2.5 7.4
0.5 4
3 7.3
2 4

Repeat one more time starting with 30 seconds at 8.0mph. Cool down for 5 minutes at 4.0. I followed this with 10 minutes on the AMT.

Like I said, I had to decrease the speed somewhat because my body just couldn’t work as hard today. Actually the past several days my workouts have felt a lot harder than normal. I think it’s because I have been indulging a lot this past week- in more ways than one. I’ve had heavy desserts multiple 5 nights in a row. I’ve been drinking wine or mixed drinks with dinner most of the nights since I’ve gotten home, and usually I only drink once or twice a week. AND I’ve been eating out a lot, which is a rarity when I’m at school.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for indulging with food and drinks. Of course I want to enjoy those sweet things in life :). BUT, I usually only do that once or twice a week…not most days of it. My body has spoken – it feels sluggish when I workout, my stomach has had some pains the past two days, and I can’t seem to get a good night of sleep.

It’s been a fun holiday and birthday celebration week, but I think it’s time to get back on track and return to my normal eating patterns :). No worries, I’m still going to have my treats-

Just maybe not every single night ;). I want to feel good…and I want to sleep.

Hope everyone has a great Saturday!

ALSO, I want to promote The great Fundraising Act that I read about on Janetha’s blog.

I think this is awesome and if you want to learn more about it, click here!

Question

Does your body ever give you signs that you’re maybe eating a little too many treats?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on July 9, 2011, in About Me, Health, Intervals, Movie, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Oh my body definitely starts acting up if I start feeding it poorly. Sometimes I get a lot of flack for eating so healthy, especially because of my history of disordered eating, but I choose to eat the way that I do because it’s what makes me feel the best… and I kinda like feeling good 😉

  2. My body seems to love sweets, but does not like spicy food! I had started eating healthy (I used to eat a LOT of fast food) and when I would occasionally have fried food my body would not be happy at all!

  3. Don’t feel bad about the rated R thing. I’m 27, almost 28… and a few months ago, when I was flying to Florida, I was questioned if I was old enough to sit in the emergency exit row. I think you have to be 14 or 15 to sit in that row. :/ Seriously?

    And yes, I start feeling lethargic and bloated (for lack of nicer word hahaha!) if I treat myself too much, too frequently. A few treats are great, but eating junky for too many days makes me feel really gross.

  4. Don’t feel bad about getting carded..I’m the exact same way! I’m 21 and was told yesterday that someone thought I was 16. It’ll come in handy once we actually want to start looking younger, though. 😉

  5. My body always feels sub par after a few days of crappy eating. All the more reason to get back to healthy food right?

  6. Ill go and check that Janetha’s blog next, but wanted to tell you – great interval work out! I did one today too – I love how I can get such a good work out in, 30 minutes or less!

  7. That’s great that you’re listening to your body! Mine did that as well last week. I just didn’t have the same energy I usually had so I took it slow on my workouts and got back to my normal eating. It just goes to show you that what you put into your body really and truly affects how you feel!

  8. ittybitsofbalance

    Don’t worry! I’m almost 22 and I still get asked if I’m over the age of 13 sometimes!
    It just means that when we’re 80, we’re going to look 50 😉 No biggie

  9. Especially when those “special occasions” end up being one after another, I always bounce back a little slower, a little groggier, and a lot less bouncy!!

    I just have to jump right back into it, and usually a few days of especially clean eating really make a world of difference!! Vegetables and salads to me are like spinach to Popeye!

  10. Urghh i’m exactly the same after a few days of indulging. But at least when it has only been a few days it doesn’t take so long to get back into the groove of things! 🙂 The main thing is that you enjoyed your birthday week! 🙂

  11. I’m craving some dessert yumminess as I type this. I completely agree…once I start eating a lot of takeout, indulging in ‘adult beverages’ and too much simple sugars, I feel like crap.

  12. My body has spoken, love it. So true, I start to feel sluggish and my energy levels plummet after a few too many treats. It’s a great reminder that I eat healthy/exercise because it leaves me feeling my best!

  1. Pingback: It’s August Already?? « In Sweetness and In Health

Leave a Reply

