Going to the Club…at the Gym?

Hi guys! Sorry for not posting yesterday…I just didn’t really have a chance to sit down and write something.

I’m so excited, on Saturday afternoon I received a package from the awesome Colleen over at The Lunchbox Diaries. Several weeks ago we decided to participate in a blogger swap and we sent each other some goodies.

I LOVE everything she sent me! I always enjoy reading Self magazine…and Zooey Deschanel was on the cover (score!). Also, I’ve been using Peanut Butter and Co. products for a while, but I’d never tried the Mighty Maple flavor. HOLY YUM people. I think I was addicted after 1 taste :). The trail mix and Larabars are really freaking tasty too. I’m so happy we decided to do this swap!

THANK YOU SO MUCH COLLEEN :). I hope your package arrives soon!!

Clubbin’ It

Today I kind of felt like I was at a club when I went to the gym.

– I took a spinning class with my mom (more on that in a bit) and the lights were kind of freaking out the whole time. They were flickering on and off and would dim or brighten with certain beats that occurred throughout all the different songs.

Ok, it didn’t quite look like that ;). But still, the flickering lights kind of reminded me of the strobe lights at a night club.

– The music was bumpin’. Our instructor was blasting the beats. Not gonna lie though, I really liked it! I love loud music when I’m working out because for some reason it motivates me.

– I saw some hoochie mama outfits. Before the spinning class, I walked around the track a little bit with my mom and I saw some seriously questionable gym attire. I mean, I could almost see a woman’s butt cheeks coming out of her shorts underwear. I don’t understand why some girls feel the need to look slutty at the gym. It can’t be comfortable when you exercise. I realize they may want to get a date – but c’mon, at least wear something that covers up your goodies.

– Ok this didn’t happen today, but if fits with the club theme. While I was lifting weights on Saturday, I almost choked when these two guys walked by and my nose was bombarded with a cloud of cologne. I’m talking some serious scents wafting off of those guys. Ew- cologne doesn’t mix well with sweat and b.o. Guys- wearing cologne to the gym will not make you like the guys in those Axe commercials.

Question

Do you ever see things at the gym that you think belong somewhere else?

 

Ok, back to the spinning class. I haven’t taken one in over a year…and I definitely felt it. The class was awesome! I am really going to try and incorporate more classes into my workout routine. It felt great to do something different and I was challenged in a way that I haven’t been in a while. I think my legs are going to be dead for the rest of the day.

Also, I’d forgotten the benefit of having an instructor telling you what to do. My gym at school has group fitness classes but they are always at times that don’t work well with my class schedule. Sometimes, I think I need that extra push that an instructor can give. They are motivating- they always seem to know when the class needs some pumpin’ up and I love it when they tell you how great you’re doing. I don’t know why but that makes me feel accomplished, even if I feel like I’m not going to make it til the end. I mean who doesn’t like to be told they are doing awesome? 🙂

 

Hope everyone has an awesome day!

 

Questions

Do you take spinning classes?

Do you enjoy group fitness classes? Why?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on July 11, 2011, in About Me, Bloggers, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Ahh I loveee the Mighty Maple flavor! The White Chocolate one makes me swoon as well 🙂 That spin class sounds quite interesting haha. Must have made the class go by a bit quicker at least
    I love spinning, but haven’t gone in quite some time. This post is giving me a kick in the butt to go soon 😀

  2. Love loud music in classes at the gym! It totally pumps me up, too! 🙂

    I don’t belong to a gym now, but when I did there was a guy who would always get on the treadmill beside me wreaking of cologne. I practically choked on it! I mean, when you’re huffin’ and puffin’ as it is and then someone surrounds you in a cloud of un-breatheable air? Give me a break, dude! Maybe he was looking for the girl with her butt cheeks hanging out! 😀

  3. Oh that class definitely sounds like something that I’d love. Loud music pumps me up big time, and I used to be crazy about the clump scene. I do really enjoy group classes because it’s nice to feed off of the energy of other people and the instructor, but I don’t attend as many of them as I’d like… especially since I started getting more into lifting… I just kinda like to do my own thing 😆

  4. I love spin classes!

    I belonged to a gym as long as i can remember and always enjoyed group classes – especially on the days where I wasn’t feeling motivated. It’s nice to just show up and have someone tell you what to do! It also adds a little variety. BUT for the past year I have been gymless until last week! We joined a gym and I am really looking forward to getting back into spinning!

  5. Oh…the questionable gym attire, haha. I once saw a lady with shorts so short that I could actually see her butt. I was at the gym with my dad that day…talk about awkward. And…I saw her walk into the gym with her husband (they’re regulars)…I have no idea why he didn’t say something to her!

  6. I love spin! I have to admit though, I’m turned off by loud music. Sensitive ears? I dunno – just doesn’t do it for me. You know what else doesn’t do it for me? Questionable attire. I’m right there with ya on that one.

  7. I can’t wait til I graduate, have a big girl job and can join a gym so I can take group fitness classes. I really want to try spinning! I bought a groupon for 10 classes at a boxing gym, but haven’t had time to start it yet. I love bumping music at the gym! And I have to admit as a girl with a lot of junk in the trunk, sometimes my shorts are on the questionable side for length, even though they’re mid thigh length for everyone else. But I keep the super short ones for workouts in my apartment only (the victoria’s secret yoga shorts are soo comfy, but sooo short).

  8. I’ve never taken a spin class, I’m kind of scared of them! I love intense workouts but I’ve heard some pretty crazy stories about spin!

  9. I also love loud and fun music…it definitely gives me that extra push I need in my workouts!

    I love spinning classes too! So fun! 🙂 Glad you had a great class!

  10. Spin classes can be awesome if I’m in the mood for them. However, most times, they get a little repetitive for me (which might be why I never got too interested in running).

    Throw me in a group fitness class (or a discotheque, if you’d like) with some intense bass blasting, and I’m good to rock out for at LEAST an hour!

    Once, my gym had a little “zumba party” with little “shots” of Gatorade, free baby luna bars, and ACTUAL CRAZY DISCO LIGHTS! It was just like your picture!!

    Most fun zumba class of my life.

  11. I’m not a fan of spin,… but LOVE bootcamp classes and totally nerdy old school step classes!

  12. I love fitness classes like yoga and pilates. I’ve tried spin class only twice (I know, I should probably give it another chance) but didn’t really dig it. & love the idea of blogger swap sounds awesome!

Leave a Reply

