Whole Wheat Strawberry-Orange Muffins

Hi everyone! Hope you’re having a good Tuesday so far :).

I had a great workout this morning. I did a total body weights routine, but threw in a bunch of plyometrics for my lower body because I wanted something different. Man, let me tell you, I was sweating hardcore. AND my legs already feel sore. Like I’ve said before- I like changing things up to keep it interesting and to challenge my body!

The plyos that I did today were:

Bosu Ball Burpees – described here

Box lateral shuffles – described here

Box jump marches – described here

Box jumps – described here

Plank jacks – described here

You should definitely give some of these a try!

 

Whole Wheat Strawberry-Orange Muffins

Yesterday afternoon, I decided to make some muffins! Chris’s mom always makes the best and most delicious muffins so I asked her for some recipes. I adapted one of them and came up with these! They are healthy and very very tasty :).

I guess we don’t really have a lot of muffin pans at my mom’s house, so I had to make some big ones and mini ones. The recipe yielded 6 large muffins and 18 mini muffins.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2/3 cup agave nectar
  • 1  1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons grated orange rind
  • 3/4 cup, less 2 tbsp of orange juice (about 1 large orange)*
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 2 cups chopped fresh strawberries
  • 1/3 cup chopped walnuts
  • cooking spray

*Use 2 tbsp less than 3/4 cup of orange juice because I used agave nectar instead of regular sugar like the original recipe called for

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees
  2. Combine flour, agave nectar, baking powder, salt, and baking soda in a large bowl; make a well in center of mixture.
  3. Combine orange rind, orange juice, applesauce, and egg in a small bowl, mixing well with a whisk.
  4. Add to flour mixture, stirring until just moist.
  5. Fold in strawberries and walnuts.
  6. Spoon into muffin cups coated with cooking spray.
  7. Bake at 375 degrees for 12 minutes for the mini muffins and 20 minutes for the large muffins, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Oh my gosh, these muffins are really good! And the strawberry and orange flavors make it taste like summertime :).

Hope everyone has an awesome day!

 

Questions

Do you every incorporate plyometrics into your workout?

What are your favorite kinds of muffins?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on July 12, 2011, in Lifting, Recipe, Snack, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. You know I’m a plyo fan!!! They work wonders in strength workouts and making them more challenging.

    Those muffins sound so amazing. I love my lemon berry muffins so I bet an orange berry muffin is just as good…or BETTER!

  2. Hehe I baked muffins today too, but mine were less summery than yours… the combination of strawberries and oranges sounds divine, though! My favorite muffins are probably banana-nut muffins with some kind of streusel topping.

    And I’m definitely a plyo fan… even if the moves DO whoop my butt and make me curse like a sailor 😉

  3. I love the flavor that you picked out for the muffins- orange + strawberry sounds awesome!! We have a ton of strawberries right now, so I might just have to borrow your recipe 😉
    & I LOVE plyo too! One of my favorite moves is the box jump marches!! 😀 Great choice!

  4. These look GREAT. Thanks for pointing them out to me – they’re on my list “to do” – just printed out the recipe 🙂

  5. mmm your muffins look delicious and so easy to make!

    I know I should do plyos more but I never have the energy. In truth, I find it intimidating. You’re inspiring me though!

  6. I love the flavor combo in these! Muffins do a body good 😉

  7. Those look SO moist and yummy. I defiantly want to try them. But, I think I might make them first without the orange zest since I’ve never been a fan of anything orange flavored besides actual oranges, haha. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

  8. Those look great–I have been craving muffins lately, thanks for the healthy recipe 🙂

  9. I love lemon poppy seed muffins or blueberry with a crumble top 🙂

  10. Plyo workouts are the best/worst – I love to hate them!! 🙂

    I like the orange/strawberries combo!

    Blueberry muffins are my all time fav 🙂

  11. I love the flavor combo!

  12. Yay for plyos! They are so hard, but the results they give are rather fantastic 🙂
    ANd what a great muffin recipe! I have never thought of putting those flavors together…thanks for this recipe pretty lady

  13. totally stealing this workout! i love plyos! wowza linds, good job!

  14. I am getting more and more into the plyometrics I must say! I will be stealing some of these moves for sure!

    Morning Glory muffins are my all-time fave!

  15. Bosu Ball Burpees are killer but in a good way! I like the combo of orange and strawberries!

  1. Pingback: Oat Brananer Muffins

  2. Pingback: It’s August Already?? « In Sweetness and In Health

Leave a Reply

