Guest Post: Quick & Easy Dinner Recipes from Holly

Happy Friday everyone! The guest blogger for today is Holly from Greek Yogurt and Apple Slices. Her blog was one of the first that I ever started reading consistently. She is someone that I would want to be friends with if I lived in Orlando! Her posts are always great to read and I always love getting to know more about her through them. Enjoy her post today and go check out her blog when you’re done!

Hey In Sweetness & In Health Readers!!!

I’m so happy that Lindsay asked me to do a guest post for her. She is such a SWEETHEART! I always love reading her blog & she has some awesome workouts that I must try. 🙂

Well, I am Holly & I blog over at Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices. Yes, I know that is probably the LONGEST blog name ever- haha!


My blog is all about being a newlywed (we got married 5-27-11), keeping up with my workouts, living with Crohn’s disease & enjoying what life has to offer!

Today I thought I would share with you some of my favorite quick & easy recipes! Perfect for weeknight meals after a long day at work, or just for one of those nights that you really don’t feel like cooking…I mean we all have those kind of nights, right?! 😉

The first recipe is for Crunchy Nut Chicken Tenders. I used a new cereal that I found, Crunchy Nut, as the ‘breading’ for the tenders. If you cannot find it, you could use Honey Nut Cheerios.



Crunchy Nut Chicken

Ingredients:
-1 lb. chicken tenderloins
-2 cups Crunchy Nut cereal
-Salt & pepper
-2 egg whites
-Honey, for drizzling on chicken
Preparation:
1. Take the 2 cups of Crunchy Nut cereal & put it in a food processor, or blender. Pulse/ blend until the cereal is ground pretty finely, but there are still a few bits in the mix- just no whole cereal pieces.

2. Sprinkle each side of the tenderloins with salt & pepper. Then pour the cereal crumb mixture onto a plate. Set up an ‘assembly line’- take each tenderloin & first dip it into the egg whites & then into the crumb mixture. Make sure both sides are coated with the cereal crumbs.

3. Place the coated chicken tenders on a greased baking sheet. Spray them with cooking spray (to help them get crispy) & then drizzle them with honey.

4. Bake for about 15- 17 minutes, or until no longer pink in the middle.

I mixed up some honey mustard (just did equal parts yellow mustard with honey) & served it with the tenders.


See, that was EASY, Peasy 😉

Now for something a little different, thought I would share a pasta recipe too! I don’t know many people who don’t like pasta, so it’s always a winner in my book! J But this recipe has a little spin on it, so it’s a bit different than an ordinary pasta recipe!

Basil Pesto Chicken Pasta with Sundried Tomatoes
Ingredients:

Pesto: (all amounts are approx)
*1 1/2 cups fresh basil leaves, packed
*5 Tablespoons Parmesan-Reggiano
*2/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
*6 Tablespoons pine nuts
*8 garlic cloves (I personally LOVE garlic, so you might chose to add less if you aren’t quite a fanatic like I am 😉 )
*Salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

REMAINING INGREDIENTS:
*1 box (or 16oz.) whole wheat pasta
*4 chicken breasts
*About 1 cup olive oil vinaigrette dressing (I used one that Kraft makes)
*2/3 cup sundried tomatoes
*Italian seasoning (basic blend of oregano, basil, & garlic- just look for ‘Italian seasoning’ in the store

Preparation:

PESTO:
Combine all ingredients except oil in food processor.

Add half the oil, and process until smooth. Scrape down the sides of the bowl when necessary, and slowly add in as much of the remaining oil as you desire to reach your desired consistency. Set aside.

PASTA:
Cook pasta according to package instructions.

Meanwhile season chicken with Italian seasoning. Marinate the chicken breasts for about 30 minutes in olive oil vinaigrette before roasting them at 425 degrees for 30 minutes, or until the juices run clear. Then cut them into bite site pieces.

Toss chicken, pasta, & sundried tomatoes in a bowl until well combined.

I promise these recipes are easy to make! J If you try them, please let me know! I always love hearing feedback about them.

Well, I hope you all have a wonderful day! Thanks again Lindsay for letting me invade your blog for the day 😉

Feel free to visit me at Greek Yogurt & Apple Slices; I would love to hear from you!

Question from Lindsay:

What are some of your favorite quick and easy recipes??

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on July 15, 2011, in Bloggers, Guest Post. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. healthycollegegirl

    Both of this recipes look sooo good! My all time favorite go-to dinner doesn’t require much of a recipe….I just like throwing all kinds of veggies and meats and cheeses into a big salad. I need to start getting more creative! 🙂

  2. i love holly! never saw that recipe but wow, its genius! cereal addictions unite!

  3. Both look wonderful. My favourite quick and easy recipe isnt really a recipe…its more or less just throwing a bunch of produce in a bowl, fkax seed oil and balsamic vinegar and call it a day 🙂

  4. ittybitsofbalance

    What a great idea to process cereal to use as breading for chicken! I’m allergic to wheat so this tactic will definitely come in handy 😉

  5. Both those recipes look amazing! I usually bread my own chicken with breadcrumbs, but that sounds like a delicious healthy alternative.
    My fave easy recipes are spaghetti, and crockpot anything!

Leave a Reply

