Gross Water

Hi everyone :).

First off, I want to thank you all for your kind and wonderful comments! You have no idea how much they mean to me! It’s really good to know that I’m not alone and thank you for the advice!

Today I tackled a sweaty workout in the gym, even though the amount of sweat produced didn’t seem to equal how hard I was actually working haha. I just ran for a bit on the treadmill and followed it up with 15 min on the AMT. I’m not entirely sure why I sweating buckets…perhaps the sweltering heat outside made the inside of the gym even warmer than normal. Anyway, it felt GREAT to get a workout in :).

Gross Water

Before heading to the gym, my mom and I stopped at Target so she could get a few things and she said she wanted to get a water bottle similar to mine. I’ve been using CamelBak water bottles for several years now and I love them!

I like that you have to bite and sip on the mouthpiece in order to get water out because it means that I can get a quick drink while exercising without spilling all over myself :).

At Target we saw ones that have filters in them and my mom said she wanted that one. I didn’t know why she wanted to spend more on it and we had a conversation that went a little like this:

“Mom, that one is more expensive. I would just go with the regular CamelBak.”

“Well, I think I want one with a filter after reading this article about dirty water.”

“What article?”

“An article in Reader’s Digest. It said that traces of gas and birth control pills have sometimes been found in tap water.”

“Um….ew that’s disgusting! Can I get a bottle with a filter too?”


So, we decided to get the CamelBak with a water filter:

I also immediately read that Reader’s Digest article (I’m sorry, I can’t find it online or I would link to it!) when I got home…and I think I will be sticking to filtered water from now on. It said that traces of these things have been in water across the country-

  • Methane
  • Rocket fuel
  • Contraceptives
  • Antidepressants
  • Blood pressure meds
  • Antibiotics used on animals

Now, granted, most of these were found in such small amounts that they wouldn’t really harm us. Also, most tap water is totally fine, but you really don’t ever know unless it’s tested.

What about bottled water? The article stated that a lot of it originates as tap water, and often isn’t monitored as much as tap water is…so it’s not exactly better by any means.

After reading this article, I’m completely grossed out. Even if my tap water is safe and clean or if it does have things in it, it’s probably in small amounts, I would rather ease my mind and be SURE that I’m drinking clean water. I can’t wait to start using my new water bottle :).

Questions:

Do you drink bottled water?

Do you filter your water?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on July 18, 2011, in Health. Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. I only drink filtered water too and for a while our new office space didn’t have any filtered water so I was bringing a days supply of water with me each and every day until we got a filtered water system. I’m scared of all the junk in tap water.

  2. I love my camelbak waterbottle! I have not seen the filtered one before. I keep a brita in our fridge so we have filtered water around, it definitely tastes more fresh!!

  3. We have a filter on our drinking water at home, so I drink that. I can’t stand the taste of unfiltered water now, but the downside is, my dentist tells me that I need to drink it, because the fluoride is good for our teeth. Without the fluoride that we get from water spots can form on the teeth, and our enamel can become weaker (not cute). I told him that I used mouthwash with fluoride and he said that it’s a lot cheaper just to drink one or two glasses of unfiltered tap water everyday. I guess I just can’t think about all of the gross stuff in the water when I do that!

  4. Oh awesome. Those all sound like good times. Who doesn’t like drinking rocket fuel?

    I always pour the water from my Brita into my water bottle, but those do look handy… and I ALWAYS spill water all over myself! I think I need one of those, filter or no filter.

  5. Wow, I am really glad I read this… We have a brita filter at home, but I don’t always use it. I might start to be more conscientious about it though.

  6. I can’t live without my Brita!! I even have one at work because that water is worse than what we have at home!

  7. ittybitsofbalance

    I’m so glad you brought this up! I carry around a Bobble water bottle with me all day (which has a filter) and I absolutely love the thing. I feel like it really changes the taste of the water I normally would be drinking from the tap.

    Although I’m pretty sure I was supposed to change the filter about a month ago… :X haha

  8. We have filtered water coming into my house – so I usually drink that. I try to stay away from drinking bottled water to help the environment (even though all the Gatorade I drink probably cancels out my efforts). The taste of tap water isn’t exactly my favorite either!

  9. We bought a filter from Whole Foods…it was kind of expensive, but it’s a 10 stage filter and I only drink water from that.

    I’m not crazy about bottled water…I watched a documentary that kind of put me off about it. Do you have a filter at home?

  10. Filtered water is the only water that touches these lips πŸ˜‰

  11. I really want one of those CamelBak’s. I use a Sigg bottle now, but the metallic-ness of it is kind of starting to turn me off. As for water, I drink filtered tap. I don’t drink bottled because it’s too expensive and results in too much waste, and straight up tap feels kind of… dirty O.o

  12. I drink bottled sometimes, but I use my bpa free bottle..I want a bobble πŸ™‚

  13. Hey girl πŸ™‚

    I do like to filter my water although I don’t worry as much as I should about drinking unfiltered. Maybe it’s because I figure I’ve worried too much about everything in the past! I do try to avoid using plastic water bottles (and use aluminum instead) so that I don’t drink too much leached plasticizers.

    I just read your last post and I’m so sorry that you had a rough time with body image during your trip. i think traveling can really be the toughest time to stay cool and calm even when you’ve come so far in your journey. I think that continuing to write out your thoughts and examining the truth in them is key. As you said, dessert is NOT going to make you fat. Not working out much is NOT going to make you fat. Most importantly, your weight does NOT define you by any means. You are who you are because of the wonderful things that you do and the love you show to family and friends. Weight is NOT part of the equation. Tell yourself that over and over until you know it’s true.

    You’re doing great just keep it up! πŸ™‚

  14. I much prefer filtered water! We have a PURE water filter that we use and it is super easy to install!

    I only drink bottled water if I am out and have forgotten my water bottle, etc. but that doesn’t happen too often….it goes with my everywhere!

    I also sweat buckets when I workout, but that’s just the norm for me, esp. when I run on the treadmill! πŸ™‚ Glad you fit in a great wkout…go you!

    Have a great day!

  15. Yuck!!! I usually use filtered water. And when I’m at the gym, they have one of those water coolers, which I’m hoping is filtered?! I’m glad I didn’t read that article. It would have grossed me out!

  16. Usually I drink filtered water (at work, my fridge or filtered from my sink). My dad gets readers digest so I’ll have to check that article out.

  17. Ewwies! I’m usually good with basic tap water (aka: city punch), but this is making me wish my office had a water cooler. At least my fridge at home has a filter!

  18. Ewwwwwww! SO nasty! I use a brita and at work we have a filtered water system. I try to avoid bottled water because of the bpa, but I hardly EVER drink tap water.

  19. i’ve been wanting one of those waterbottles for weeks but have no idea where to find one in canada :S

  1. Pingback: Girl In The Pink

Leave a Reply

