Interval Workout and a Salmon Recipe

Hi everyone!

Today I’ve got a new interval workout for you that I completed this morning and a recipe that I made last night :).

I have made known (or at least I think I have) that I love doing interval workouts. My favorites can be seen under my “workouts” page! Today, I didn’t really want to do any of those, so I came up with this one while at the gym.

Amount of Time Speed (mph) Incline
Warm-up
1 min 4 0
4 min 4 5
1 min 6 0.5
1 min 8 0.5
1 min 4 0.5
1 min 6 0.5
45 sec 8.5 0.5
1 min 15 sec 4 0.5
1 min 6 0.5
30 sec 9 0.5
1 min 30 sec 4 0.5
1 min 6 0.5
1 min 8 0.5
1 min 4 0.5
1 min 6 0.5
45 sec 8.5 0.5
1 min 15 sec 4 0.5
1 min 6 0.5
30 sec 9 0.5
1 min 30 sec 4 0.5
1 min 6 0.5
1 min 8 0.5
1 min 4 0.5
1 min 6 0.5
45 sec 8.5 0.5
1 min 15 sec 4 0.5
1 min 6 0.5
30 sec 9 0.5
1 min 30 sec 4 0.5
1 min 6 0.5
30 sec 9 0.5
30 sec 8.5 0.5
30 sec 8 0.5
30 sec 4 0.5
Cool-Down
4 min 3.5 5
1 min 3.5 0

Total time = 40 min

This was a great workout! The last 1.5 min of work (with the 30-sec increments of decreasing speed from 9-8 mph) was killer. I also really liked recovering with walking and then easing back into the hard working part of the interval with running at 6.0 mph. This was a change from my usual intervals where I just do hard work and then recover…it added another component where moderate work was in between the recovery and hard work. I loved it :).

Now, on to dinner last night. It was super tasty.

Baked Salmon with an orange glaze, sugar snap peas, and a salad (not pictured)

I adapted the recipe from my “The Best of Clean Eating” cookbook.  The original recipe only serves two and I found it posted online here.

Here is the recipe according to how I made it :).

Baked Salmon with Orange Glaze

Serves 5 (or more if you don’t want big pieces of fish)

Ingredients for baked salmon

  • 5 large salmon fillets (we had about 2.8 lbs of fish)
  • 3 cups chopped spinach
  • 2 cups sliced mushrooms
  • 4 medium tomatoes, chopped

Ingredients for homemade orange glaze

  • 8 tbsp 100% fruit orange marmalade
  • 1 tsp minced fresh ginger
  • 1 tsp minced fresh garlic
  • 2 tsp tahini

Instructions for orange glaze:

1. In a microwaveable bowl, combine marmalade, ginger, garlic, and tahini.

2. Stir very well with a whisk or fork.

3. Heat for 3 minutes. Stir well.

Instructions for salmon:

1.Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

2. Place salmon fillets (skin side down) in a baking dish sprayed with cooking spray. **If you have more than three fillets, I would recommend using two baking dishes so the fillets and toppings can be spread out. See note below.

3. Mix remaining ingredients until well blended and spoon over salmon.

4. Bake for 25-35 min or until salmon flakes easily.

**NOTE: I suggest that if you have more than 3 fillets that you use two baking dishes. We used one dish and it took longer (35 min) to bake, likely because the fillets were too bunched up and there was too much topping covering everything. Baking time would likely be closer to 25 min if everything is more spread out in two dishes.

5. Top with orange glaze

Oh my goodness, this was seriously awesome! It was not at all heavy and the orange glaze flavor mixed so well with the flavors of the salmon and its toppings. I will absolutely be making this again. And, it wasn’t hard…SCORE! 🙂

I am so proud of myself. Who knew that I would be able to be successful with something like this? I’m loving it!

Hope you have an awesome Thursday!

Also, Brittany over at Itty Bits of Balance nominated me for the Amazing Blogger Award! You may see my responses in this post here :). Thank you so much Brittany!!! I am so honored that you nominated me!

Questions:

If you do interval workouts, what is your favorite way to do them? (ie: treadmill, elliptical, recovery/hard work, recovery/medium work/hard work, etc.)

Do you follow established recipes in the kitchen or do you come up with your own?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on July 21, 2011, in Dinner, Intervals, Recipe, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Yay for you! I know we’re both working on improving our cooking skills, so it’s awesome that your dish turned out so well!

    I usually stick with recipes, because I am still learning. But there’s a few things that I watched my mom do over the years that don’t require a recipe… I just have seen her do them so often, that I have been able to copy her. Or if I do a recipe once, I might decide to “tweak” a few things for next time. 🙂

  2. hoorayyyyy for a successful salmon recipe!! If it tastes half as good as it looks, you were definitely in for a treat. I’ve never done an interval workout in my life, but props to all who do!

    As far as recipes… I normally get lazy which could result in my recipes not ALWAYS turning out the way they should, but I’m not too bad when I stick to them!

  3. I prefer my interval workouts on the treadmill or stepmill… occassionally the spin bike… I cant do them outside though, totally too hard mentally to figure out hte pacing! lol

    I usually wing it in the kitchen with meals… baking I”m more stick to the rules

  4. I love interval workouts because they seem to make the time go by so much faster. I usually do recovery/hard work, and most often on the treadmill.

    And awesome job cooking the salmon! Cooking can be so much fun. I usually make up my own recipes, unless I’m baking and working with some kind of flour or new ingredient that I know nothing about. Then I go with trusting people who are more familiar with it lol.

  5. Interval workouts are my favvvv- they make the time go by so much faster and you can feel and see results at a quicker rate as well
    You know I love this recipe! Salmon with any sort of sweet glaze makes me swoon 🙂 Nice job with such a successful dinner

  6. Most of my cardio comes from interval workouts. Unless I’m cooking for a crowd I usually just make up my own recipes in the kitchen. I never really know what I’m having until Dinner time comes, then I just make whatever sounds good at that moment.

  7. healthycollegegirl

    umm wow this salmon recipe looks sooo good! i’m a huge fish + fruit combo person. i’m gonna try this!
    interval workouts are my favorite…they make the time go by so fast! i’m currently battling a bit of an injury so i’m off running for a bit, but as soon as i can i will give this one a shot! 🙂

  8. My favorite way to do intervals is by spinning. Oh man that makes me feel the burn!

    Good looking fish 😉

  9. I never have tried interval workouts! but dang! good for you girl! this salmon recipe look bomb! loved all those vegs on top! I usually follow a recipe but always tweak it 😉

  10. I always try to take a recipe that I know is good and put my own spin on it – sometimes it works and sometimes I eat cereal for dinner.

  11. I have that exact same cook book! I love it (and the magazine!)

  12. Oh man. Your dinner AND your workout look amazing. But your workout isn’t making my mouth water like your dinner is…

  13. That looks awesome! I am huge on intervals, probably why I like Insanity so much, but even when I am not doing hardcore intervals like Insanity I try to do them on the treadmill, elliptical, whatever. It is so good for your heart, and you burn calories so much faster!

  1. Pingback: It’s August Already?? « In Sweetness and In Health

Leave a Reply

