Stress About Treats

Hi guys! It’s almost Friday :).

 

***Don’t forget to enter my AdvoCare Spark (a healthy energy drink) giveaway!***

 

Last night, Chris and I went to see the movie Friends with Benefits

I must say, I really enjoyed this movie. Of course, it was predictable because it’s a chick flick…but it was really entertaining. I actually through JT did a good job acting! Chris even liked it…so that’s saying something for a chick flick :).

This morning I woke up with the world’s sorest (is that a word? haha) calves. I swear to god, they haven’t been this tight and sore in as long as I can remember. I guess all the stair running I did yesterday really worked my lower legs! I didn’t go too hard at the gym today, I ran a couple miles on the treadmill and then did 25 minutes on the elliptical.

Stress About Treats

A couple days ago I bought the new Shape magazine.

While reading the Rosario Dawson article, something that she said really stuck out to me:

When she wants a glass of wine or dessert, no problem. ‘The stress you put yourself through for having a treat is probably a thousand times worse for you than the sugar you just had.'”

I think Rosario is so right. Remember two weeks ago when I was feeling guilty about my indulgences in Florida and having negative body image thoughts? Well, I could have used Miss Dawson’s thinking to snap myself out of it. In reality, I knew that I really didn’t need to be worrying about having some desserts and not exercising. But, I still felt bad about it and I did stress myself out a bit.

I know I’m not the only one that goes through times where we feel so guilty about eating or drinking something “bad” for us…but I’m realizing the importance of recognizing the stress we are putting ourselves through when doing that. Yes, that treat may have lots of calories and sugar and what not, but stress can be really bad for our bodies.

I’m sure we’ve all read about ways that stress can impact us, but here are some reminders:

  • In the short-term – our immune systems are suppressed; body’s ability to repair itself slows down; metabolism slows down; headaches, dizziness, muscle tension, insomnia, fatigue, and anxiety are all possible
  • In the long-term – rapid aging is promoted; weight gain is more likely; risk of getting osteoporosis, heart disease, cancer, high blood pressure, and digestive problems increases

I know that my negative thinking DID stress me out and put me in a poor mood for a couple days. What is the point in doing that? There isn’t a point. Period. Thankfully my stress was only short-lived. But even then, my body going into a fight or flight response probably slowed down my metabolism- meaning that those treats were taking longer to “burn off” than if I had just accepted that I indulged a little and moved on with my life.

Can you imagine how stressed people are that worry ALL THE TIME about eating “bad” for you foods…or any foods they deem scary? The stress they are putting their minds and bodies through is probably wreaking havoc on them.

Anyway, I just wanted to share that idea with you guys! I think it’s important for all of us to remember that if we are healthy most of the time, indulging in treats here and there won’t do us any harm. The world we live in is stressful enough as it is…why should we stress out about something that small and insignificant?

Question:

What do you think about stress that occurs after treating yourself?

 

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on July 28, 2011, in Body Image, Giveaway, Health. Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. ittybitsofbalance

    I think so many of us are guilty of scolding ourselves after a treat– It’s a very difficult thing to overcome if you care the slightest bit about your health and appearance

    As my body image issues have gotten better, I’ve also gotten better at not scolding myself. I really think its only a matter of time and learning to cope πŸ™‚

  2. I think that stressing over treats should be illegal. And I totally agree that the stress we put ourselves through is probably worse than the actual treat itself. I remember when I was trying to follow a “perfectly” healthy diet, and would constantly obsess over the foods I should and shouldn’t be eating. I was miserable. It wasn’t until I just started going with the flow and eating whatever I was craving that I became happier and healthier.

  3. Treats are good for you πŸ™‚

  4. Hey girlie! Great post. I used to eat the treat, and then stress out thinking, “I wonder how many calories I just ate?!” Umm.. who cares? It’s too late anyways … you already ate it!! Hopefully it tasted good, you enjoyed it, and now move on with your life. Make a healthier choice at your next meal. It’s just food! (I still have to say this to myself more frequently than I care to admit!)

  5. I definitely agree that indulgences are an important part of leading a healthy life if for no other reason than to understand that we simply aren’t and never will be PERFECT! πŸ™‚

  6. sara @ the foodie diaries

    I’ve been dying to see Friends with Benefits although it may make me hate my life b/c of the ridiculous unrealistic things that happen in movies (and never in real life) hahahaha.

  7. The stress really sucks. Stressing out so much about minute caloric details is what made my eating so disordered in the past. I was obsessed with failure, basically, and it was so mentally and physically unhealthy for me. This totally makes sense and it’s a good mantra to keep in my head. Stressing out about giving in is SO not worth it — especially if the food is good πŸ˜‰

  8. It’s such an irony that we ladies are programmed to feel guilty for letting ourselves enjoy something awesome for once. When you’re a kid, you don’t feel guilty when you get treats, you get thankful and happy! Ah, innocence. Ignorance is bliss.

  9. I really like this post! I struggle with eating one too many indulgences, but I truly don’t stress about the few here and there. But boy, did I used to! It’s hard to get to the point where desserts/less working out is just part of life, but it certainly helps with the stress factor. I’ve been reading so much about stress lately and how it truly is the worst thing for our bodies.

    Thanks for sharing! πŸ™‚

  10. I saw Friends with Benefits last weekend, and thought it was so cute!! The two of them were adorable together!…but it was completely predictable lol

  11. healthycollegegirl

    this is a great post! i think you are so right. stressing about not working out or eating something kinda “bad” can sometimes ruin my entire day/night! SO SO not worth it. it’s hard to be rational about it sometimes, but hearing other people say it really helps.

  12. What a great post, as these sorts of thoughts are on my mind a whole bunch of the time. I have talked about this on the ole blog before… I put food on a pedestal, this great thing that is almost not allowed. So any time I even debate a treat, I contemplate it far more than I should and if I do end up having it, then of course the guilt sets in. Gosh this is no way to live and enjoy things, must.get.past.this!

  13. buyers remorse, eaters remorse…i have it all–that quote is so true though, thanks for sharing because we all need to learn how to coexist with stress, beat it up and indulge b/c life is about happiness so if i want a darn cookie i should be able to eat it in peace πŸ™‚

  14. i just read that article this morning! Loved it. so well put.

  15. I completely agree with this, although what to do when you want a glass of wine and dessert twice a day every day?! πŸ˜€ Herein lies my problem! πŸ˜‰

  1. Pingback: It’s August Already?? « In Sweetness and In Health

Leave a Reply

