New Total Body Weights Workout

Hi guys! I hope everyone is having a great Sunday!

I wanted to post my workout yesterday, but my internet was down for hours :(. But, it’s back up now…yay! So here it is.

 

Total Body Weights Workout

Lower Body

  • Reverse lunge with knee lift, holding dumbbells – 2 sets 15 reps, each leg

  • Barbell straight leg deadlift – 2 sets 15 reps

  • Squats with stability ball against the wall, holding dumbbells – 2 sets 15 reps

  • Single-leg stability ball bridges, use body weight – 2 sets 12 reps, each leg

Upper Body

  • Push-ups with a medicine ball – 2 sets 8 reps each arm

  • Seated cable rows – 2 sets 15 reps

  • Bicep curls, standing on bosu ball – 2 sets, 15 reps
  • Tricep pushdowns – 2 sets 15 reps

  • Front and lateral raises – 2 sets, 10 reps (1 rep is 1 front raise, then 1 lateral raise)

Core

  • Tummy Tucks or Spiderman Climbers (I’m not sure what name to call them haha) – 2 sets 10 reps, each side

  • Medicine ball v-ups – 2 sets 20 reps

  • Stability ball low back extensions – 2 sets 15 reps

 

There ya go guys! This was a great workout! I’m definitely feelin’ it today! The whole thing took about 45 minutes and I followed it up with a 1 mile run :). Let me know if you ever try it, or any of my other workouts!

Hope you all have awesome days!

Oh, and make sure to “like” me on my new facebook page! 🙂

 

Question:

When you lift do you like to do total body workouts, or do you do upper and lower body exercises on different days?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on July 31, 2011, in Lifting, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. This looks like a great workout! I love a lot of these moves. Well… love-hate 😉 When I lift, I usually do a full body workout, but I might eventually move on to separating it into upper/lower body days just to give my muscles some more rest and time to rebuild in between.

  2. Your question intrigues me because I only ever lift upper body and I’m wondering if anyone else has that problem. I feel like running & biking do enough for my legs… and I just hate ab work ha But I’ll work biceps and triceps all day.

  3. I love it when bloggers post pictures along with a workout. I am such a visual person so it makes it a million times easier to understand. sounds like a great one, too!

  4. spider climbers are my favorite. call me crazy!

  5. I do total body workouts, but I usually end up focusing on my back (it kind of just ends up that way) and my shoulders. I love total body workouts!!

  6. ittybitsofbalance

    I like doing full body workouts because I feel like they can be effective in less time. Maybe that’s just me 😀

  7. I try to do them on separate days. I run or ride everyday, so I try to keep things lighter.

  8. Love the pics!! I usually do biceps/back one day, triceps/chest/shoulders on another day, and some leg stuff mixed in on both days. 😉 I mostly do it that way because that’s what husband does … and I like to copy him. 😛

  9. Love these pictures! This is so helpful and a great workout too. Thanks Lindsay!

  10. Love that you do weights too – at first i was sooo nervous to go into the weight room, now I love it.

  11. LOVE this workout!! thank you!!

  12. this circuit seems so great, i’m going to try it–i’ll let you know how it goes 🙂

  13. Looks like a great strength training workout! I love mixing it up with different equipment, too! I bet you felt good after that! 🙂

  14. Love all these moves!! RIght now I have a divided routine of upper an lower but I really prefer to do it all at once!! I feel like the other parts are getting left out when I dont work them, and also I seem to feel more tired and sweaty when I work out my total body 🙂

  15. I love balls-to-the-wall squats. That’s one of my fav exercises. I usually do upper and lower body on different days, but I change it up from time to time.

  16. just tried this workout this morning! so good! thank you!

  1. Pingback: Let’s Talk About Rest, Baby | The Lunchbox Diaries

Leave a Reply

