It’s August Already??

Um…can you believe that it’s August already?? CRAZY! July flew by so fast…and now I only have 4 more weeks left of freedom before I have to start my grad school courses again. I’m determined to enjoy every single minute :).

Here are some of the highlights of July-

  • I had my 23rd birthday and celebrated with a couple of great dinners – you can read about them here and here.
  • I went a little more serious with you guys and opened up about depression.

I can’t describe to you all how much I have fallen in love with blogging! July was my first full month of it – and it was pretty amazing! I absolutely love reading all of your comments (just so you know- I do read all of them!) and I thoroughly enjoy writing my posts and reading a bunch of other blogs!

I was reading Chelsey’s blog this morning and I’ve decided to steal her idea about setting some goals for August!

I’m not usually a person that sets goals for myself, because I tend to lose track of them or just plain forget about them haha. BUT, sometimes a girl could use some direction, right? So here we go:

I want to stop taking myself so seriously.

This is kind of an issue for me. Don’t get me wrong, I love to joke around and have a good time but sometimes I just need to lighten up a bit. There are some days where I have a tendency to take a joking comment about me too seriously, or I don’t let loose and do what I want. I’m not entirely sure why I’m like this…maybe I’m afraid that what someone is saying is actually what they’re thinking? Or perhaps I don’t cut loose because I’m afraid of what people will think, although I don’t usually care, so I think this is a leftover fear from my high school days when I was afraid of being judged by others.

Anyway, in order for me to really enjoy my life- I can’t take myself so seriously.

I want to enjoy as much quality time as possible with Chris before he moves.

Chris is moving to Florida in less than 2 weeks. I’m helping him drive down there and then staying for a couple days to enjoy my last bit of time with him. After that, I move back to Boston a week later to get back to grad school. Chris and I have no idea when we will be seeing one another again. We both plan on visiting each other- but since we don’t have course schedules yet, we haven’t been able to set a date. Not knowing when I’m going to see him again sucks ass.

So, that’s why I want to see him as much as possible and soak up all of our lovey dovey time together so that it can hopefully hold me over until we do see one another again in the fall!

Sorority formal, senior year

I want to incorporate more ab exercises into my weekly workout routine.

Okay, I have to admit, I don’t really enjoy doing ab work all that much. I can handle the burn in my upper and lower body, but something about my abs burning is just a real workout turn-off. That being said- I do like the way I look when I consistently do ab exercises. I tend to go through phases where I’ll work my abs for a few months, and then I’ll stop (which has happened this summer). So, I my goal is to do ab workouts 4 times a week! We’ll see if this happens ;).

Okay, so there are a few goals. I don’t think they are so hard…and they are completely achievable :). Hope you all are having a good Monday!

Question:

What was the best part about July?

Do you have any goals for August?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on August 1, 2011, in About Me, Blogging, Life, Recipe, Relationships. Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. Enjoy your time with your boyfriend! Just to give you some words of encouragement, Brandon and I did long distance for our entire time dating … me in Florida and him in Ohio. And now we’re married. So it can absolutely have a happy ending! Just communicate, be patient, and put in the effort to make it work!! 🙂

  2. July sounds like it was a great month for you, and I hope that August is just as good! The highlight of last month for me was definitely finding a condo that I loved, and having everything go smoothly with my offer on it. I don’t really have any goals for August… mostly I’ll just be focusing on packing and moving 😀

  3. ittybitsofbalance

    I definitely want to work more abs into my routine as well haha. There’s something about ab workouts that I do not not like at all! 😦

  4. We were both July birthdays (obviously, the best)! Aside from all the birthday festivities, I got to spend time with all my girlfriends in Chicago which was awesome and I started running in the morning more which was a big step for me. For August, I need to reorganize and kick up the half marathon training!

    Enjoy your time with Chris, you guys are so freakin’ cute~

  5. Read my post for July goals 🙂

    I love your first goal. I totally need to work on that as well.

  6. What a great July you had! Your recipes were rather tasty looking, that salmon one is bookmarked 🙂
    I agree with your first goal and it’s something I want to work on. Oh and the abs thing, good idea girl! Just a small physical goal like that can take you so far if you do it on a regular basis
    Enjoy your time with Chris, I love you guys together 😀

  7. sara @ the foodie diaries

    Long disntance is HARD but if you care enough about each other you can make it work. You just have to figure out if eventually you’re both going to be at the same place again. Don’t worry, I’ll come visit you in Boston 🙂

  8. I can’t believe it’s August either! Ahhh! The end of summa makes me so sad…
    Enjoy your time with your lover while he is still here! I’m sure the long distance thing will be tough. I read somewhere about buying the same dinner ingredients and then skyping while you make dinner “together” and it sounded so romantic I wanted my boyfriend to move out just so we could do that 🙂

  9. My best part of July was heading to Nebraska for a wedding and seeing family! 🙂

  10. yey for great goals! So sorry that the end of your break is in sight. I can’t believe that summer is going so fast!

    Goals for August is to have a great time with my fam during our staycation and then with bloggers at HLS and keep up with my work 🙂

  11. that is SO Good to not take yourself too seriously-such a great goal girl!!! I have to work on not being SO hard on myself, which is basically the same thing!

  12. The best part of July was totally diving into a half-marathon training schedule. I ran a 15k in the early part of the month and now I’ve got the bug.

  13. It sounds like you had a pretty good July. Mine was pretty awesome too. I can’t believe it’s gone already! I would be sad, but I know that August is going to be just as good – if not better. I hope to take more calcium and spend less $ on groceries this month. Wish me luck!

  14. My best part of July was my one year wedding anniversary!!

    Goals for august: get my California teaching credential, take awesome photos at my first legit photography job, sign up for a 1/2 marathon and prepare for school in the fall!!

  1. Pingback: Surrounded by Pink « In Sweetness and In Health

  2. Pingback: A Whole Foods and Movie Kind of Day « In Sweetness and In Health

Leave a Reply

