Surrounded by Pink

Hello everyone! How’s your day going so far? I’ve been pretty lazy haha. I woke up at 8 am and just sat around, reading some blogs, reading a book, and enjoying the contact my butt was having with the couch :). Finally, at 11 am I decided to go workout. But, my laziness kicked in and instead of making the effort to drive to the gym I went down to our basement to get in a lifting sesh. It was a good one though, and I worked hard, so being lazy paid off haha.

Oh! And I was so proud of myself, I even made sure to incorporate some ab exercises into my workout. 1 ab workout down, 3 more to go for the week according my new August goal!

So, as I was watching the Bachelorette last night (yes I’ve been watching it this season…and yes I LOVE JP) I realized that I was surrounded by pink. Huh? Let me explain.

I was already in my pj’s, and my bottoms were pink.

They even say “Love Pink” and are from the PINK Victoria’s Secret line.

My pink purse was sitting nearby-

I carry this purse pretty much every day right now 🙂

…as was my fairly new pink iPod nano.

My cell phone with its pink cover was right next to me-

My Macbook pro was on top of its pink case, which was sitting on my lap-

And, my toe nails are currently painted pink (as they usually are)-

So, now you now what I mean. I was surrounded by pink things.

I sort of realized that I apparently gravitate toward the color pink,  and started wondering why I am. I don’t generally like just any “pink” color either. It’s usually the brighter pinks or the ones that are warmer. Not those baby, barely there pink colors- those just don’t do it for me. Perhaps I like pink because well, I’m a girl and in our society pink is thrown in our faces as soon as our parents discover our gender. But, I don’t think that’s why I’ve continued to like the color for my entire life.

I think I like the vibrant and warm pink colors because they give off a “happy” vibe. They aren’t depressing and drab colors. Those pinks scream fun, flirty, giddy, and summer (at least to me). Which frankly, I associate all of those “words” with happy times. That’s probably why I even like to get bright pink sweaters in the winter- they boost my mood. Call me crazy, but they do.

I also really like pink because sometimes it feels plain awesome to be a girly girl. I’m not always super girly. I don’t dress up that often. I really only style my hair in 1 of several ways. And I usually prefer shorts and jeans to skirts and dresses. But to me, wearing pink or carrying a pink accessory just makes me feel girly and pretty. I can’t really explain why, it just does. Which is why I apparently gravitate toward that color without always knowing it :).

Even though I do love the color, at least I never wear too much pink at one time and look like a girl who had a pink fairy throw up all over her :). I don’t think I would like that.

Questions:

Do you have a color that you tend to purchase items in? Why?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on August 2, 2011, in About Me, Random. Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. I don’t have a fav color, but I do own a bunch of pink. I think it makes my workouts peppier when I’ve got a pink on somewhere. I was admittedly a little embarassed yesterday though – I went to work in a pink dress with my pink lunchbox and pink purse. I felt like Elle Woods from Legally Blonde!

  2. ittybitsofbalance

    Haha love this post because I’m totally a pink fan too.

    As far as clothes– I tend to purchase greens and greys. I have greenish greyish eyes– so that’s usually what I lean towards

    • Ditto everything you just said! Love pink, but I buy a lot of greens and greys when it comes to clothes. I just think they look good with my eyes and skintone. Blues are also good because my eyes are blue. 🙂

  3. I’m really into turquoise and purple. I love bright colored accessories! I love mixing in a pop of color to every outfit. Accessories are the easiest way to do that, or adding it in by layer a tank top under a neutral shirt. I’m way to obsessed with fashion.

  4. Gotta love pink! I feel like everything I own is pink, too, even though I normally where blue (especially turquoise and navy)

  5. A girl can never have too much pink in her life. I love it! A lot of my stuff ends up being different shades of pink too, because a) it makes me smile, and b) it matches my skin tone 😀 Then again, I own a lot of gray and black stuff as well, but they end up making a killer combo with anything pink, so it’s all good ^^

  6. I don’t know that I tend to buy things in one color scheme, but I do tend to buy certain items in the same color, almost all the time. For example, zip up hoodies tend to always be grey. I always gravitate towards black purses. And lately, I’ve noticed that green is making a HUGE push in my life; backpack, Macbook case & sleeve, and a couple shirts.

  7. ahhh, I think I just painted my toe nails that SAME color. I don’t even like pink, but that pink is stellar…..like u!

  8. I definitely also gravitate towards things that are pink! Usually more of a deeper pink than a bright pink. I love it 🙂

    Abs are definitely my goal area right now! It is the one part of my body I always slack on. NO MORE.

  9. I love the color purple! If there is a shirt available in multiple colors, I tend to gravitate toward the purple one. I even had bright purple walls as a teenager!

  10. first off, thanks for the sweet comments on my kick the habit post ❤
    second, I am always surrounded by pink. I share my office with 3 boys and my desk looks ridiculous compared to theirs lol 🙂

  11. Ugh. JP was NOT my pick!! I’m with Ashley’s sister on that one.

  12. Pink is just such a lovely color! I agree with you in that I am not too much of a girly girl but have tons of oink stuff too I also like lighter shades of blue 🙂

  13. Purple is usually something I just naturally buy a lot of. Of course varying shades, but nonetheless. I’m currently going through a phase in which I really love charcoal grey and navy!

  14. I am all about purple. I heard that purple is the best colour to compliment hazel eyes when I was probably only 14 years old but it stuck and now it is my go to color for sure!

  15. Pink (& VS PINK!) fan for sure! I am pretty girly and love all things girly, so it’s kind of a no-brainer for me. 🙂

    Also, I’m pretty addicted to VS’s PINK line . . . most of my loung-y clothes, my duffle bags, water bottles, bathing suits, flip flops . . . oh dear . . . all PINK!

  16. Great post! I gravitate towards navy blue and greed and purple! I need colors that make my red hair/lighter skin POP! I LOVE pink, but unless it has Fuscia undertones it generally does nothing for me! Your toes are adorbs!!

  17. Haha I love this post! Probably because I buy everything pink too!

    The colors I purchase the most though are probably pink and turquoise..my entire workout wardrobe is pretty much a combination of pink, turquoise, grey and black. 😀

Leave a Reply

