Gluten-Free Fudgy, Cakey, Brownie Bars

Hi guys! Hope you’re having a great hump day ;). I’m glad to know that I’m not the only girl who really likes pink things, or who tends to gravitate toward certain colors! You guys make me feel normal haha. Thanks!

Before I get into the dessert I made yesterday, let’s talk about some clothing!

This morning, I busted out my new workout top from Kohl’s. Chris had gotten me some exercise clothes for my birthday, but they didn’t fit and I finally exchanged them on Monday.

Please disregard how gross I look!

I love this top! The material wicks sweat very nicely, and after running 3 miles and doing a 1.5 miles on the stepmill, I’d say that it also successfully keeps the girls in place πŸ˜‰ (not that they move a whole lot anyway haha).

This top is one from the Kohl’s line – Tek Gear. I would definitely recommend checking it out! The stuff is nice and not super expensive.

ALSO, my first Rue La La purchase came in the mail yesterday! I’m super pumped. I got this Rugby Ralph Lauren jacket for less than $60 and it’s originally supposed to be around $150! SCORE πŸ™‚

I need to work on taking pics in the mirror

Okay, I’ll move on to the food now. Yesterday, I used my “The Best of Clean Eating” cookbook to make a gluten-free chocolatey dessert. As you can see from the title, I’m not sure whether it’s fudgey, cakey, or brownie-ie. The consistency isn’t quite like any of those…but it’s still good!

There is also a secret ingredient in these suckers that packs a nutritional punch…can you guess what it is?? No? Okay, I’ll tell you.

BLACK BEANS

Yes I was really skeptical at first too. But I promise- you cannot taste them!

Gluten-Free Fudgy, Cakey, Brownie Bars

You may see the original recipe here.

Serves 12

Ingredients

  • Olive oil cooking spray
  • 1 oz organic dark chocolate (70% cocoa or greater) – mine was 72%
  • 1 15 oz can organic black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 egg white
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • ΒΌ heaping cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • ΒΌ cup unsweetened applesauce
  • Β½ cup organic honey

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
  2. Mist one 12-inch square baking pan with cooking spray
  3. Melt dark chocolate in a small bowl in the microwave, with 1 tbsp water mixed in
  4. Combine melted chocolate, beans, eggs, egg white, oil, cocoa powder, baking powder, vanilla, applesauce, and honey in a food processor. Process until smooth.
  5. Pour mixture into baking pan.
  6. Bake in preheated oven until the top is dry and edges start to pull away from the sides, about 30 minutes.

These bars are really good! They are not super sweet- so don’t expect it to taste like a rich and decadent brownie or piece of fudge. It won’t and then you’ll be disappointed. At first I wasn’t so sure I liked them because I am used to eating rich desserts, but after a few bites my taste buds were thoroughly enjoying themselves :). By my second piece I was completely sold! These bars are moist and have the perfect amount of chocolatey goodness if you aren’t looking for something super sweet!

Tomorrow I’m heading to Cedar Point – an amusement park – with my dad, bro, and Chris! Can’t wait :). I’m obsessed with roller coasters!

Source

Questions-

Have you ever made a dessert with an interesting ingredient? Was it good?

Do you like desserts that aren’t super rich?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on August 3, 2011, in Dessert, Recipe, Shopping. Bookmark the permalink. 31 Comments.

  1. I have such a sweet tooth lately that I feel like i’d instantly pair this with some ice cream (defeats the point? nah!) But would love to try them out.

    I’ve always wanted to try Averie’s avocado banana ice cream. One day, when my banana-allergic beau’s outta the house! Until then, I’m nanner free living.

  2. Love, love, love your Ralph Lauren jacket!!!!

  3. What a cute jacket! I love it. Looks nice and comfy

  4. I’ve been eyeing this recipe in the Clean Eating book as well, but haven’t made it yet. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed it, though! I only made bean based brownies once before, and that was when I was kind of in the depths of my eating disorder, so they weren’t very good. It’s something I want to try again, though.

  5. haha your love of pink will always be okay! and i’ve always read about using beans in brownies but haven’t tried one or made some like that yet (although, i don’t know if i’ve ever made brownies in my life)…seems like a good idea πŸ™‚ have fun at the amusement park!

  6. ittybitsofbalance

    Rich ingredients definitely hold the key to my heart, so I’m definitely going to have to try these!

    My friend made these amazing cupcakes with espresso in them a while back– and they were too good for words. You’ve actually reminded me to go look up the recipe again.. πŸ™‚

  7. Oh that’s such a cute jacket/sweater. I’m usually not a fan of gluten free desserts but I like the sound of this recipe. I’ll have to try it sometime this week.

  8. Black Beans?!?! I would never have guessed! They look good though… maybe I will try these out over the weekend! Thanks for sharing!

  9. I’ve been wanting to try a dessert recipe using beans but I’m secretly still skeptical..I just might be convinced to try it now! πŸ™‚

  10. Loveeeee that jacket!! And those bars look amazing!:)

  11. Cute jacket and workout top Lindsay!
    I have heard of using black beans before but have never tried it… I want to sometime, I a rather intrigued by this idea πŸ™‚ Thanks girly

  12. Yum!!! I like dessert … period. πŸ˜‰ Rich or not! And those look awesome!!

    P.S. You are adorable in your workout gear!!

  13. I’ll have to try these! I have made black bean brownies before and they did NOT turn out well!

  14. healthycollegegirl

    cute new clothes!! i wanna try black bean brownies SO bad! my boyfriend just made a skeptical face….so we might need to try this soon πŸ™‚

  15. Have fun at Cedar Point! I haven’t been there in years!

  16. My sister in law just sent me a recipe using avocados as a base for chocolate pudding – I thought that was an interesting one and can’t wait to try it!

    I love black bean brownies, I was shocked at how good they were when I made them! Your recipe looks fab!

  17. Promise you can’t taste the beans!?

  18. My sis uses beans too for her cookies/brownies. YOURS LOOK AMAZING!! I love all your recipes, now I just need you to come cook for me:)

  19. Your top is super cute!! I have such a hard time eating really rich desserts. In fact, I am not really a chocolate lover at all! Many say I am blessed lol.

  20. ahhh, my husband races at cedar point every year!! too fun! take those delicious brownies too. Black beans work so well, eh?
    πŸ™‚

  21. SO this is going to sound really weird, but I am wearing that exact sweatshirt from rugby right now…ever since it came in the mail from Rue La La, I haven’t wanted to take it off!! Plus my office is absurdly cold, so it helps keep me comfy at work….score – great purchase!!

    Oh and I have an incredible addiction to brownies, the fudging, have to think twice if they are baked all way kind πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

