Cedar Point Recap

Roller coasters are freaking awesome :). However, after yesterday- I feel like I’m getting old. My body does not handle the jerking around the way it used to. Good thing my thrill-seeking side doesn’t let that stop me from enjoying coasters!

As I mentioned on Wednesday, my dad, bro, Chris and I went up to Cedar Point yesterday. Cedar Point is an amusement park in Sandusky, OH and it sits right on Lake Erie. I am obsessed with this place…and mainly just for its many awesome coasters- most of the other rides I could care less about haha.

When I was younger I wanted to be a “roller coaster designer”. Yea…I’m that big of a coaster freak :). Does anyone remember the computer game Roller Coaster Tycoon?

Source

I used to spend HOURS playing that game and designing roller coasters. Eventually I grew out of that phase, but my love for them has persisted!

Anyway, yesterday was lots of fun!

The Maverick

The first coaster we went on was The Maverick- one of my favs. This thing flips you around a bunch, and the first drop is inverted more than 90 degrees. Nothing like being jerked around and having your stomach flip-flop first thing in the morning eh? I love it :).

Chris and I in line for The Maverick

Skyhawk

Matt (my bro) and I went on Skyhawk, which is a ride that basically has these two arms that swing back and forth, getting higher each time. It feels like you’re free falling…totally cool.

Chris and my dad didn’t want to ride, so I made him carry my bag. Thanks babe, I love you!

"This is my 'I'm a man' pose" 😉

Top Thrill Dragster

Oh man, Top Thrill Dragster is one of the most exhilarating rides ever! It shoots you off at 120mph and you travel up 420ft, and then come back down. It lasts 17 seconds…but those are 17 AWESOME seconds I tell ya :).

My dad and I

Matt and I

The Raptor

Your feet dangle on this coaster, so it kind of feels like you’re flying….of course, I love this one too!

After riding the Raptor, I got kind of lazy with my camera so most of the other stuff went undocumented…lame, I know. But, here is a pic I found online of another roller coaster we rode- Millenium Force

Source

It was after this ride that I felt old and like perhaps my body can’t handle this stuff very well anymore. At the bottom of the first huge hill I got dizzy, my vision got really fuzzy and then everything faded to black and I couldn’t see for a couple seconds. Then I was fine. I have no idea what the eff happened. All I know is that my vision blacked out for a couple seconds, and that’s never happened before. I also felt a little funny after the ride. What’s even more strange is that the same exact thing happened to Chris.

After this ride, we were all feeling pretty tired and lacking energy. BUT, there was 1 more ride I wanted to go on. No one else wanted to try it so I went on it all by my big girl self :). On this the riders sit in a large ring, and that starts to spin. Then the ring starts to swing back and forth like a pendulum, all while it’s still spinning. Surprisingly I did not feel dizzy at all! The combination of the free-fall and spinning feelings was so cool. I’ll definitely go back on this ride!

maXair

All in all, it was a very successful day of riding rides. Even though I was physically exhausted from standing in long lines and having my body shaken all around, I absolutely loved it! Can’t ya tell? haha 🙂

Question

Do you enjoy roller coasters or other thrill rides?

Do you feel like your body is less able to handle roller coasters as you get older?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on August 5, 2011, in Life. Bookmark the permalink. 29 Comments.

  1. Lol I remember Roller Coaster Tycoon- loved that game!!!

    I actually use to be horrified of roller coasters when I was younger and now I enjoy them 🙂

  2. I loved roller coaster tycoon, I spent so much time playing that game! I’m not a fan of roller coaster though, they just don’t make me feel good at all. Not my kind of thrill. I really want to check out that Snoopy Boutique behind you in one of the pics though!

    You look great in all your pics girl, looks like you had a great time 🙂

  3. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    I was a HUGE Rollercoaster Tycoon and Zoo Tycoon fan! I’m also a huge roller coaster lover, but am not the biggest fan of thrill or drop-of-fear rides 😦

  4. Woo! I love theme parks 😀 I used to really love roller coasters and all of those scary thrill rides when I was younger, but I definitely noticed that my body doesn’t seem to appreciate them as much now that I’m older, and they kind of make me feel sick too. I used to be able to ride them all day long, but now I’m kind of wiped after 2 or 3 lol.

  5. I love roller coasters and Cedar Point is a MUST VISIT on my list. I haven’t been yet but WILL go someday. I want to try out all the awesome coasters. This post just solidified my need to go.

  6. What a wonderfully fun and family filled day! It’s been too long since I’ve been to an amusement park, I love that you did your best to ride so many rides!

    I think it would take me a ride or two to get back into the thrill of it but I think my body could handle it (i hope!) 😛

  7. I don’t remember the last time I was on one…probably back in high school! But from what I remember, I LOVED them. Looking at all your pics makes me want to ride one!

  8. I LOVE any ride that involves going fast, quick drops, etc… but can’t do anything with spinning. The results are not pretty.

  9. Fun! I enjoy roller coasters, but I dislike waiting in lines for them.

  10. I used to hate roller coasters as a kid, but I started enjoying them in middle school. Now I love them!

    Looks like you had an awesome time!! Your boyfriend is pretty cool for taking that picture with your purse. My husband would have flat out refused haha!

  11. Eww..I would get sick sick sick! Looks like you had fun though! 🙂

  12. I love Cedar Point!!! Millenium Force is such an awesome roller coaster. The summer it opened up, we waited 4.5 hours to get on, totally worth it!
    The husband and I haven’t been since the summer we got married (2001), it’s time to go back!

  13. 100% roller coaster fan!! I have been on the Kingda Ka at Six Flags in New Jersey and it was epic to say the very least 🙂
    I want to go to Cedar Pointe so flippen badly!

  14. I grew up in south florida, so i spent lots of time at disney, universal studios/islands of adventure, and busch gardens. I love roller coasters! but my last trip there made me realize that my body does not love them as much anymore. I actually started getting nauseous the last time, but that def didn’t stop me from riding this new crazy roller coaster at universal studios in orlando, that goes straight up 7 stories and shoots you straight back down! I want to check out cedar point!

  15. Crazy – I remember going to cedar point when I was really little, visiting my parents friends!

    I love roller coasters..and always have 🙂

  16. I used to play that game for HOURS 😉

  17. i love roller-coasters 🙂 and i would play roller coaster tycoon for hours…i was pretty darn amazing at creating those parks, if i do say so myself!

  18. I lovedd roller coaster tycoon! The best part was when you got to “ride” on the roller coasted you made haha. The view from the second to the last roller coaster is amazing! I would be fearing for my life at the top though.. 🙂

  19. those look like a blast! I loved theme parks but I have to admit I like the fair better. carousel and all. hehe.

  20. OMG! Wish I could’ve been there with you! I LOVE ROLLERCOASTERS. I remember watching the Ten Most Extreme Rollercoasters on the Travel Channel and I vowed to go ride every one of them. Hasn’t happened yet!

  21. Ahhhahaha! I used to DIE for that game! So much fun.
    I have always wanted to go to Cedar Point!

Leave a Reply

