Reasons for Exercising

Hi guys! Hope everyone is having a fabulous Saturday so far :).

Let’s do a quick recap of yesterday-

I had a dentist appointment yesterday morning. Usually I don’t mind going to the dentist, but I was kind of dreading yesterday because I hadn’t had my teeth cleaned in a few year :oops:. I know, I know…shame on me. BUT, the good news is that my teeth look awesome! She said that whatever I’m doing is working because mine looked better than the woman who had come in before me- and she had just been in 6 months earlier. Boo ya!

My initial plan was to workout after my appt…but of course, I was super hungry.

source

This is how I approach every meal…naturally.

After eating and letting my food settle, I decided that using cardio equipment at the gym did not sound at all appealing. What’s a girl to do? Check out other blogs…duh!

I completed a cardio circuit from Julie. Holy crap that workout got my heart rate sky high! I did two rounds of it the way Julie described, and then the last time I cut my time in half- so 30 seconds of work and 30 seconds of rest. I also added squat thrusts in the mix! Sometimes it just feels good to do something totally different…and my body definitely felt the shock I gave it (it still does too haha).

Last night, Chris and I went out to a local pub for some drinks. I decided to be brave and try a martini. Big mistake. I got a strawberry flavored one and it tasted like I was drinking medicine. Ew. My tummy didn’t really agree with that beverage. Oh well, at least I got to spend some quality time with my handsome man :).

I can’t believe that Chris and I are moving him to Florida 1 week from today. Thank god I’m staying for a few extra days. I’m going to miss him like crazy!

I needed my workout this morning to clear my head and boost my mood. I woke up today feeling a little down about Chris leaving. I don’t want to be upset about it because then I won’t enjoy my time left with him- and that’s no good. And my workout did just what I needed it to. I feel so better now that I got my endorphins flowing.

Reasons for Exercising

When I went through my disordered eating period and even through much of college, I always worked out for the sole purpose of burning calories. I remember when I got my heart rate monitor that I became obsessed with getting to a certain amount of “calories burned” in every workout. Um, that’s not the way to be people. Trust me. I often hated working out because I was doing it for the wrong reasons.

I’m still not 100% free of viewing exercise as a way to burn calories, but I’m so much better than I used to be. Nowadays- I absolutely love working out. I don’t try to figure out how many calories I’ve burned…I base my “success” on how I feel afterward. That sense of mental clarity I get during and after I exercise is something I love. The physical fatigue after a workout, but also the strength that I feel is awesome. Exercise has become a powerful stress reliever for me as well. And, knowing that I’m helping to ward off so many chronic diseases and that I’m keeping my body/mind healthy is one of the best workout motivators ever. I now (mostly) view exercise as a way to stay healthy. Once I realized that exercise was so much more than burning calories- I truly was able to embrace it and develop a love and passion for it.

I think that so many people dread exercise because they don’t view it with the right lens. Exercise will suck and you probably won’t see the best results if you only see it as a way to negate the food and drinks you’ve consumed. It took me a while to figure that out. Now, some of my friends and acquaintances think I’m crazy for enjoying exercise, but I think that everyone can like it if they start appreciating how they feel after it, and seeing it as a way to maintain their overall health and prevent future medical problems!

source

Questions

How do you view exercise?

What is the thing you love most about working out?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on August 6, 2011, in Body Image, Health, Life. Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Aw I’m sorry for the crappy drink, little lady. What can you do– it happens :/
    Where in Florida is Chris moving?! I live in Florida!

  2. I know it is going to be hard when he moves, but I think you are having a great attitude with it. Being down and sad when you still have time together is a waste, just like you said. Stay strong girl, I know you have this and I truly believe your relationship is going to grow even stronger from this!
    On the exercise front- I have been needing to write a post like this for quite some time now. I have no advice because I am consumed in the exercise and need to burn calories thought process.

  3. My main reasons for exercise are stress relief and the mood enhancing endorphins! If i’m sad, cranky, angry, stressed, etc I can always turn to a good run to work out the emotions … or sometimes sitting on the couch with a pint of B&J works much better. Its all about balance πŸ™‚

  4. Bah. I remember hating exercise so much when I used it solely as a way to burn calories. I would dread every workout and couldn’t wait to get it over with. Now, I do it because it gives me energy and makes me happy. Plus I looooove feeling myself get stronger, and the feelings of accomplishment I get when I’ve mastered something that I couldn’t do a few weeks before is just amazing.

  5. Sorry you were feeling blue this morning. Good for you for fighting through it with a workout. I used to have that same kind of thing a lot with my last relationship (long distance) and I could never enjoy our time together because of it. 😦

    Why I workout? A million reasons! Stress relief, endorphins, and feeling strong are among the main reasons. And it doesn’t hurt that regular workouts allow me to indulge from time to time and not feel guilty.

  6. sometimes i feel like i work out for the calorie-burn but for the most part it’s a great break in my day and something i really enjoy! i feel so clean (minus the sweat-part lol) and free, like i really accomplished something and am pushing myself…is it weird that i feel like a better version of myself when i’m kicking major butt at the gym?

  7. i feel more ALIVE and ENERGETIC after working out! i, too, sometimes suffer with viewing exercising as a way of burning calories. how FREEING it is to realize that it’s a way to make my body HEALTHY and work like it’s supposed to! by the way, im loving your blog! just found it πŸ™‚

  8. I didn’t work out for a long time. A long, long time. The reason was that I didn’t want to get any thinner and I thought people only worked out to lose weight. Then I found a type of workout I love, and now I”m completely addicted. It helps my mood, my sleep, it helps me think, its my time alone… I love it!

  9. The way I look at exercise is that’s it’s a necessary part of life. I like the Jerry Seinfeld reference to exercise when he said that all we seem to workout for is to be able to be in shape for the next time you workout. I like how I feel when I’m done – I don’t like getting overly hot, but I like the growth of muscles and endurance. Oh, and being able to eat more =)

  10. I exercise for the endorphins πŸ™‚

  11. Sorry the martini didn’t agree with you. 😦 If I had been there, I would have happily taken it off of your hands!!

    I workout because I know it’s good for my health. And although I don’t really have to worry about my weight right now, I want to get in the habit so that I can continue to maintain a healthy weight when I get older.

    Plus, I like feeling like I’ve accomplished something. It makes me feel strong and proud of what my body can do!! πŸ™‚

  12. I like working out because it makes me feel good about myself. I like feeling strong after a tough weights workout, or proud after a long run. I like knowing that I take good care of my body. I’ve always been very active, and I think I get kinda crazy if I don’t work out for a couple of days πŸ™‚
    ps you and chris are the cutest!

  13. I luv the way it makes me feel! Plus, I love knowing the awesome benefits I reap for my future health!

    ps What area of OT are you hoping to practice in? πŸ™‚

  14. I don’t love martinis either. Apparently, I drink like a guy and love the tastes of whiskey and bourbon.

    I hate the THOUGHT of exercising, but I love it once I get started. I am usually so happy afterwards and I know that I’m doing my body some good- thats what keeps me motivated!

  15. Just came across your blog and love this post! I was the same with exercise- I could eat according to how strenuous my workout was…and every workout had to intense to meet a ‘decent’ calorie burn! Fortunately exercise is now a stress-buster and endorphin-booster for me and unsurprisingly, my attitude towards exercise has also changed! i want to do it and look forward to it now as opposed to the past where it was something i would do as an obligation!

  16. I think a lot of people go through phases of working out just to burn calories – but in reality, if you think about the message media sends us about working out, that’s the message they give us! I work out now so I can be healthy, fit, and strong. I love the way my body looks when I work out too (not to be vain or anything πŸ™‚ ).

  17. you are so right linds. The purpose of exercise is to stay healthy and enjoy life! I know a majority of us have abused this privilege in the past and learned the hard way. What a great post to express the true meaning behind it!

Leave a Reply

