Thick and Hearty Pancakes

Hey guys! Hope your Sunday if off to a great start!

I woke up this morning and my stomach was growling…as usual :). And I decided that I wanted some pancakes. These things were thick, hearty, and delicious!

Thick and Hearty Pancakes

Makes 6 large pancakes

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cup oats
  • 1 1/4 cup light vanilla soy milk (or other non-dairy/dairy milk)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 Tbsp canola oil
  • 1 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 Tbsp ground cinnamon

Directions

  1. In a medium bowl, mix oats with milk; let stand for 5 minutes
  2. Add egg and oil to oats; stir to combine. Add dry ingredients and mix until just blended. If the mix is too dry you may need to add a little water so that it can easily be spooned onto the skillet.
  3. Spoon out mixture onto hot skillet (you can make your pancakes however small or large you want!). Cook until golden brown. Flip and cook until the other side is golden. Note– these did not bubble on top like other pancakes so don’t use that as a sign for “flip readiness”.
  4. Serve with 100% maple syrup or any topping of your choice.

These pancakes were so tasty. They definitely satisfied my craving, and they are keeping me full which doesn’t usually happen all that easily! YUM 🙂

——-

Yesterday afternoon I was verrrryyyy lazy. I literally sat on my bed for almost 3 hours. I read some blogs, played around on Pinterest, and stalked people on facebook (ps…like me!). Sometimes, doesn’t it just feel great to be completely lazy? It’s really refreshing!

Cooper got the lazy bug too. Actually he has it pretty much all the time, but he looked insanely cute while lounging on my bed.

Haha, I think he thought it was too bright in my room. Or maybe he was tired of me taking pics of him ;).

Last night I watched the movie Eat Pray Love with my mom.

source

I really enjoyed the movie! I love Julia Roberts (Pretty Woman anyone?) and I also loved the story in this. Although, sometimes when I’m watching a movie I find that I get distracted by the most random things ever- and those are what I take away from it. For example- in this movie, Julia’s character pets an elephant while she’s in India. This scene literally lasts for less than 20 seconds. Yet during it my mom said that elephants are considered to be good luck in India, and then I couldn’t stop thinking about it. Now I kinda want an elephant charm or something with an elephant on it for good luck. I mean, I do attend a university whose mascot is an elephant- so it wouldn’t be too strange right? Or is it back luck to get something just because it stands for good luck? Am I even making sense? Haha probably not, I apologize.

The other thing that got me side-tracked was the part when she is seeing a doctor of sorts in Bali and the woman says “You have not had sex in a long time. I can tell by your knees.” Umm…I wonder what kinds of things my knees say about me? 😉

And this quote reminded me of the one in The Proposal (with Ryan Reynolds…sex god) where Ramone says “You can tell she’s a good dancer by the way she drinks a soda pop.” I don’t typically drink soda pop…but I’m pretty sure that Ramone would say I’m a good dancer by the way I drink my wine :). And in case you forgot, here is what Ramone looks like-

source

Hope you have an awesome day!

Questions

Do you like pancakes? How do you like to make them?

Do you ever get distracted in movies by random things?

Are there any weird things that you can use to judge something about another person (ie drinking soda pop= dancer status)?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on August 7, 2011, in Breakfast, Life, Pets, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Wow! Those are some thick pancakes! Perfect for Sunday morning. 🙂

  2. Yummm I love thick pancakes! I add blueberries or peaches to mine. 🙂 I saw Eat Pray Love when I was in South Carolina with my boyfriend..he didn’t like it at all so it kind of ruined it for me lol

  3. I love pancakes but haven’t had them in months and months. now I totally have a craving for them

  4. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Damn girl, these pancakes look FABULOUS. I’ve never thought about adding canola oil but that sounds like a great idea 🙂

  5. My pancakes look like yours too! Yum. Sometimes I eat them with peanut butter and banans on them – if I’m in need of something super hearty.

    ps: i love cooper the cat!

    pps: what’s your pinterest username! I don’t think I’m following you yet!

  6. Those pancakes look amazing! I love pancakes, but don’t usually make them very often because my favorite ones are these ones that my mom makes, and she’s kinda been lazy in the cooking department lately. I’m not sure I could make them as good as she does, so I don’t try lol. And I don’t really tend to get distracted by things IN movies, but I get distracted a lot while trying to watch a movie. I can only get through like 15 minutes before I want to go do something else lol.

  7. Those look great!! The ones I have on my blog under “blueberry oatmeal pancakes” are really awesome and somewhat healthy. I love pancakes. 🙂

    I definitely think I have movie ADD. But I don’t get distracted by things IN the movie .. I get distracted by my own brain (ex: Oh, I forgot to put away the dishes. Let me pause the movie and do that. Oh, I wanted to send an email to my mom. Let me pause the movie and do that.). It makes the movie-watching process a pretty lengthy one. 😉

  8. Those pancakes look amazing! I have been making oatmeal pancakes a lot recently and I’m thinking I may have to try out your recipe… I love topping mine with PB and syrup!

    I loved Eat Pray Love the book, but wasn’t the biggest fan of the movie, sadly. I think because the book was just so much better. If you liked the movie, you should read it!

    Annnnd, your cat is ridiculously cute.

  9. Holy cow these look good! Kinda like a pancake and a biscuit had babies! Pancuits? Biscakes? 🙂

  10. I’m not a huge pancakes fan, only because I tend to feel hungry again shortly after eating them. Although I don’t think that I would feel that way after eating yours =)

  11. those really are some hearty pancakes! look delicious! I love pancakes that are somewhat dense but still got a bit of fluff factor. 🙂

    Love lazy Sundays. Those are the best.

  12. Yum! Those pancakes look incredible!

  1. Pingback: The Help (movie) and Germs « In Sweetness and In Health

Leave a Reply

