Some Of My Favorite Workout Songs

Hey guys! I can’t believe it’s already Thursday. It seems like this week is flying by. I’ve got a short and sweet post for you guys today.

I ran the stairs at the reservoir near my house again this morning…seriously that is a killer workout! You can feel the burn and it gets your heart rate up like crazy. I love it :). If you don’t want to go the gym and are looking for a way to push yourself- I suggest running some stairs. What I do is will run up the stairs, walk back down, let my heart rate come down and then I will do it again. This way, it’s like doing an interval workout. Today, I parked my car farther away so I had to walk about 15 minutes to where the stairs are. Then I ran the stairs 8 times, alternating running the stairs and running up the ramp next to them. Then I walked the 15 minutes back to my car. My legs were dead haha.

Of course, I was listening to music while I was exercising. I can’t workout without some tunes playing in my ears. Songs just help motivate me and if the music is at the right “speed” and has a good beat I often find myself working harder. If I don’t have music to listen to, my workouts feel like they last forever and seem twice as hard as they really are. Um…no thank you.

So, I thought I would share some of my FAVORITE songs with you that are upbeat and bumpin’ and that always help me through a really hard workout!

Song Title Artist Time
All of the Above Maino Ft T-Pain 3:59
Best Love Song (feat. Chris Brown) T-Pain 3:18
Boys In the Summer Jessie James 3:03
Church T-Pain featuring Teddy Verseti 4:02
Do You Remember Jay Sean feat. Lil Jon & Sean 3:30
Fighter Christina Aguilera 4:06
Heaven DJ Sammy and Yanou 3:55
Higher Ground Red Hot Chili Peppers 3:22
I Wanna Dance With Somebody (Who Loves Me) Whitney Houston 4:51
The Last Song The All-American Rejects 5:00
Lose Control (Featuring Ciara & Fat Man Scoop) Missy Elliot featuring Ciara & Fat Man Scoop 3:47
Made of Glass Trapt 3:30
Me Against The Music (Rishi Rich’s Desi Kulcha Remix) Britney Spears Feat. Madonna 4:30
Remember the Name Fort Minor featuring Styles of Beyond 3:47
Show Me the Money Petey Pablo 3:45
So What P!nk 3:34
SOS Rihanna 3:59
Where Them Girls At (feat. Nicki Minaj & Flo Rida) David Guetta 3:15
Who Dat Girl (feat. Akon) Flo Rida 3:20
Yeah Usher 4:10

 

Questions:

Do you ever run stairs for a workout?

What are some of your favorite songs to exercise to?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on August 11, 2011, in Music, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I LOL at “I Wanna Dance With Somebody” by Whitney Houston. That is TOTALLY on my workout playlist…thought I would be the ONLY one! 😉

  2. “Remember My Name” is one of my faves…I feel so hardcore when I listen to that song, even if I’m reading a girly magazine on the elliptical…

  3. I really like some upbeat Green Day to run to. But lately I’ve been really into Girl Talk – if you haven’t heard him yet – its this guy that remixes music of ALL sorts of genres, you can even download his latest album for free!

    http://illegal-art.net/allday/

    By the way, those stairs look ridiculous! I used to run stairs because there were good ones near my old apartment. I need to find another place now bc its a great workout!

  4. I love doing stair workouts with a friend…kind of relay style (and motivation to keeep goooooing!). (-: Waka Waka by Shakira and Bust Your Windows by the Glee Cast have been keeing me movin’ and groovin’ as of late. Thanks for sharing!

  5. I love David Guetta and Rihanna! Guilty pleasures! I also enjoy dubstep…it gets me in the zone!

  6. Gah running stairs is a KILLER workout. I used to run them back when I did trail running in our river valley, but not so much anymore. I do remember them killing me though lol. And for workout songs, when I’m doing cardio I like more upbeat things like Britney Spears, Rihanna, JLo… and when I’m lifting, I like heavier things by Disturbed, Godsmack, Mudvayne… although right now I’m really loving ET by Katy Perry, and Dancing in the Dark, by Dev.

  7. Stairs kick my butt…. yet I love it! Well after it’s over with that is! I actually taught a boot camp class this morning and part of the workout involved running up and down a small set of stairs 10 times total. I was huffin and puffin during it to say the least!
    I enjoy pretty much any current pop songs. I prefer them to be upbeat and motivating too! I also like select country thrown in there… Rascal Flatts for example 🙂

  8. Hey, girl! Thanks for your sweet comment. What do I want to do with my life? TBD. Plan is to go to Europe, come back and figure it out 🙂 Great idea with the stair workout, I love anything by pitbull for running/working out!

  9. Excellent, excellent. I am always on the hunt for new workout songs.

    I Wanna Dance with Somebody is one of my fave workout songs, hands down! It gets me so pumped!

  10. That’s a great playlist. I looove all Pink songs, especially the throwbacks. They get me goin!

  11. I have so many of the same songs on my playlists, too! Love the Step Up soundtracks for running music.

    I’ve never run stairs for a workout because I am insanely clumsy and would likely trip and break a tooth. I wish I was kidding.

  12. Running stairs kicks my butt every time!!!!
    I can’t have a good workout unless the music is blaring in my ears!

  13. I love ideas for workout jams – my favorite for some reason is “Sugar We’re Goin’ Down” by Fall Out Boy, always gets me through!

  1. Pingback: Shatter Me Book Review and Thanksgiving Workout

Leave a Reply

