Sometimes Life is Not Fair

Sometimes life sucks and is not at all fair. We all know this…and once again that fact has been illuminated this week.

Earlier this week, my step-grandpa was admitted to the hospital because he was in severe pain.Yesterday, biopsy results came back positive. He has lung cancer. And it’s bad. It’s all over his lungs and has spread to his liver. 😦

That in itself is awful and hard and sad. My poor nana is still taking on her own battle with breast cancer. My grandaddy’s two daughters lost their mother two weeks ago to lung cancer. And now this is happening.

Sometimes life sucks and is not at all fair.

My nana, me, and grandaddy

I could sit here and whine all day about how I can’t believe another devastating health problem is impacting my family, but I’m not going to. That won’t change anything, and it certainly won’t get us anywhere. I don’t think the reality of this situation has completely sunk in yet. I’m in a state of disbelief. I know that when it subsides, sadness (and probably anger) is going to take over.

I’m not sharing this to make you sad and I definitely don’t want you to feel pity. I’m doing this to remind you, and myself, to really take advantage of every day that you have and to never take for granted your loved ones. You really never know when life is going to throw you a fastball that will shatter your world as you know it.

I’m also writing this because I ask that you please keep my grandaddy, nana, and family in your thoughts and prayers.

————

An important thing for me right now is to keep doing things as I normally do.

Last night, Chris and I went to dinner with his mom and sister. It was their “goodbye” dinner for him since we leave for Florida tomorrow morning.

Kelli, Chris, and his mom

We went to one of our favorite whole in the wall restaurants- Whole World Natural Restaurant. This place is awesome. All of the food and baked goods are made fresh, and Chris loves it because he can get pizza with non-dairy cheese :). If you’re ever in Columbus, OH and want some good vegetarian or vegan meals- go here! Also, it’s BYOB!

I’ve got a busy day ahead of me- which is good to keep my mind off of my grandaddy and the fact that I have 1 week left with Chris :(.

Here in a little bit I’m gonna go get my butt kicked by Chris again. That’s good, considering I’ll be in the car for the next two days and won’t be able to workout! This afternoon I have to pack and then I’m going to part of my friend Jenna’s bachelorette party tonight!

Tomorrow and Sunday I’ll be helping Chris drive down to Boca Raton, Fl so I won’t be doing my normal blogging. I’m sorry! But no worries, once we’re down there I’ll have internet so I’ll keep you updated on my last few days with him in Florida.

Thank you guys for being so awesome! I am amazed every single day by this blogging community and I really do love it more than I can describe! I apologize for having a sad post, but I don’t want to always write things just because they are happy. My blog is about my life…and it isn’t always chocolate and rainbows.

I hope you all have great Fridays and fabulous weekends!

 

Questions:

How do you get through hard times in your life?

What are some fun ways you stay entertained on long road-trips? I need some ideas for this weekend!

 

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on August 12, 2011, in Family, Life. Bookmark the permalink. 38 Comments.

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    I’m so sorry about you grandfather’s lung cancer. My dad was recently in the hospital and I know how horrible and defenseless of a feeling it can be to have somebody in your family get really sick.

    Regardless, I will be praying for your grandpa ❤ If you need anything, please don't hesitate! I'm here (virtually, at least haha)

  2. I’m so sorry to hear about all of that…life is really tough sometimes, but this is when your close friends and family come into play. Just spending time with them, to talk about it or not always makes me feel better. Or a really good run in the morning (bc there is less people).

    Have a fun and safe road trip! I usually just put on good music, or play silly games such as naming a movie and an actor in it, and having the next person name another movie & actor and so on…it can go on FOREVER!

  3. my heart and prayers are with your nana and your granddaddy as well as your whole family.
    have fun on your road trip!!!

  4. Hey Lindsay,

    It’s been awhile! I found your blog on facebook, and I love it 🙂

    I’m sorry to hear about your grandfather and nana. That’s a lot to take in, and you’re right, it totally sucks and it’s not fair at all. It’s been a couple months since Mom died, and I haven’t figured out the concept of fairness, and most times I try not to because it drives me crazy. It doesn’t make sense, but I guess it’s not supposed to.

    Enjoy every single moment you spend with them and your family. Life is way too short, and people in general take that for granted… I know I did.

    I’ll definitely keep your family in my prayers. Let me know if you need anything!

    • Hi Molly!

      Thank you so much! I am so sorry about your mom. I can’t even begin to imagine what you have been through. You have been in my thoughts and prayers for a while.

      You’re right, trying to figure out fairness will drive you crazy. I know that’s how I get too. I also know that I take people for granted sometimes and I need to stop doing that asap. Let me know if you ever need anything as well!

  5. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family, Lindsay.

    I hope you have a enjoyable and safe road trip!! I’m a huge proponent of the classic license plate game…lame but always entertaining. Treat yourself over the next few days- you deserve it!

    Hugs from Boston…

  6. 😦 Awwr hun. I’m so sorry to hear about your grandpa. My family’s been plagued by cancer as well. I lost my uncle to lung cancer 5 years ago, and before that my mom was battling cervical cancer, which was probably the scariest time of my life. She beat it, thank God, but I still remember all of the fear and pain it caused everyone. When times get rough, I turn to people close to me for support, and to God for strength. I’ll be keeping you and your family in my thoughts ❤

  7. I’m so sorry about your grandpa. 😦 My dad has a brain aneurysm right now and a hernia and needs surgery on both and my grandma has health issues and needs back surgery soon. I’ve been keeping it off my blog though. I agree that we need to take advantage of every day given to us and the people in our life. Stay strong!

  8. Oh my Lindsay, I am so sorry about your grandpa, I wish I could offer some better words for you 😦
    We have had cancer in my family too and it’s just awful, no other way to put it.
    I will keep him, you and your family in my thoughts and prayers ❤

  9. Oh no, your family is most definitely is my prayers. Much love. ❤

  10. my thoughts and prayers are with your grandpa and family! I get through the hard times by surrounding myself with as much normalcy as I can. Whether its my favorite breakfast, a trashy TV show or just hanging out with friends – it helps to be reminded that even in the hard times, life still carries on and we have to grow and adjust. Sending hugs your way 🙂

  11. I’m so sorry to hear about this! I understand what you’re feeling, since my grandma has just been diagnosed with lymphoma, my uncle/godfather has melanoma, and also my boyfriend, who I was living with and who kept talking to me about marriage, unexpectedly broke up with me out of the blue on Monday. I constantly keep cursing the world for doing this to me, but I know that is the wrong attitude. It is hard to be positive at times like these, but the truth is that your true colors do show during stressful situations…and it looks to me like you are a super tough girl!

  12. I’m so sorry to hear about this….your family will be in my prayers!! In hard times it helps me to remember that God is in control of everything. Enjoy your time with chris, girl!!

  13. I’m sorry to hear about your nana and step grandpa, my thoughts will be with you and your family!

    Have a safe trip down to Florida! If you guys need any help or advice while down there let me know. And right near FAU is a boomers, they have go karts, mini golf, laser tag, big arcade and a rock climbing wall, if you’re looking for something fun to do 🙂

  14. I’m sorry to hear about everything going on 😦 I just try and stay positive,even though that is sometimes really hard to do. Also, I find that staying active also helps me clear my mind.

  15. I’m so sorry that so much turmoil is going on in your life right now. You have the best attitude and are so strong despite the circumstances. I’m definitely not good at getting through hard times, but the best therapy I’ve found is yoga – it really allows me to slow down and put things in perspective.

  16. I’m sorry about his lung cancer 😦

    Sending my thoughts to you and your family!

  17. So sorry about your granddaddy! Momma had cancer and my grandmother died of it, I certainly know how devastating it can be. I’m thinkin about ya! Enjoy your last few days with Chris, live them to the fullest!

  18. I’ll be praying for your family, Lindsay.

    And to answer your question, I PRAY to get through difficult times. And I lean on God, friends, and family. God put those people in your life to be a support system, so don’t be afraid to utilize that support! 🙂

    Take care and drive safe!

  19. Lindsay – I’m so sorry to hear this. Sending prayers and hugs your way. Stay strong, girl!

  20. Prayers with you And Your family! ! ❤

  21. sara @ the foodie diaries

    I’m so sorry love. Praying for you and your family. LOVE YOU! Hope you and your boyfriend have a great trip down to my stomping grounds. Wish we could meet, but there will be time for that when I move to Providence!! So excited, we’ll have to plan a blogger meetup 🙂

  22. I am so, so sorry — my grandmother recently passed away from her second occurrence of breast cancer and it was really hard on my family.

    Thinking of you!

  23. i;m so sorry to hear this friend. Life isn’t always fair you are right. But if we continue to have faith, hope, and all, then life can be more meaningful in the midst of trials. Praying for you and your family!

  24. Friend! I LOVE your outlook. You are so right and I know it’s such a tough thing to deal with especially since it’s totally out of your control but you keep living your life and remaining positive – it helps a lot of others do the same 🙂

    Love you lady!! We need to catch up soon 🙂

  25. Sorry to hear about your pap, prayers and love to you and the family, I know how hard that is, my grams cancer came back and she didn’t make it through the second time, but just have faith, hope, and love girl : )

    Happy Weekend! xo

  26. So sorry to hear about you granddad, lindsay! Thinking of you!!

  27. Aww Lindsay, I am so sorry to hear. I will definitely be thinking of you!
    All of my grandparents have died of some form of cancer (except my nana), and it sucks.

    To stay positive I usually do the same as you, do what I would usually do and surround myself with friends. Reading and kind of throwing myself into my work (or even my blog!) would prob help me out as well.

  1. Pingback: We’re in Florida & A Book Review « In Sweetness and In Health

  2. Pingback: Blog Feature Idea

Leave a Reply

