We’re in Florida & A Book Review

Hey everyone! I want to thank you all so so much for your kind, heartfelt comments on Friday’s post! It means the world to me!

Chris and I are finally here in Boca Raton :). These past two days in the car have been looonnngggg. Chris’s car was packed to the max with the stuff he brought down here.

The backseat of his car...can't even see it haha

The plan was that Chris and I would alternate driving. Um…that didn’t happen. Poor Chris had to do all of it. Yesterday when we went to switch we couldn’t get his seat to move forward…and therefore my feet couldn’t reach the gas and break pedals. So, no driving for Lindsay.

Not only was this drive long (almost 18 hours) but I-95 is freaking boring! It’s really flat and there is hardly anything to look at. We had fun for a while trying to find license plates from all the states (we got a lot of them!), listening to music from when we were younger, and chatting. But we also got really tired and quiet at points. It happens. Thank goodness we are here now!

When we arrived early this evening, we brought all of his stuff inside and then immediately went grocery shopping. Yes, we are animals and food comes before everything :).

This is what we have to deal with now-

Oh hey sexy legs πŸ˜‰

Or actually, Chris told me I didn’t really need to help. So right now I’m sitting on his bed and catching up on all of your wonderful bloggies!

Please disregard how I look in that pic haha. I desperately need to shower…I feel gross after sitting in the car all day!

Also, I cannot wait to workout tomorrow! Chris and I are gonna go over to the FAU gym and hopefully I’ll be able to go there while I’m here for the next few days. After sitting the car for two days, my legs and body desperately need to MOVE.

While Chris was kindly driving the entire way yesterday, I was reading this novel on my Nook! I started it on Friday evening and finished it last night. It was SO GOOD. When I first read the synopsis I wasn’t quite sure if I would like it, but I’m glad that my expectations were surpassed!

Here is an overview from Amazon:

Every day Christine wakes up not knowing where she is. Her memories disappear every time she falls asleep. Her husband, Ben, is a stranger to her, and he’s obligated to explain their life together on a daily basis–all the result of a mysterious accident that made Christine an amnesiac. With the encouragement of her doctor, Christine starts a journal to help jog her memory every day. One morning, she opens it and sees that she’s written three unexpected and terrifying words: “Don’t trust Ben.” Suddenly everything her husband has told her falls under suspicion. What kind of accident caused her condition? Who can she trust? Why is Ben lying to her? And, for the reader: Can Christine’s story be trusted?

This book was intriguing from the very beginning. I got sucked in right away and couldn’t put it down. It was very well written and definitely kept you on your toes. I was shocked at what happened at the climax…it was not how I expected the story to go, and I love that this book had the ability to surprise me like that!

Before I Go To Sleep was perfectly paced. It never dragged on and it also didn’t rush through things that you wanted to know more about. I’m still thinking about the book and everything that happened in it and what I would do if I were in a similar circumstance. There aren’t many books that can do that- so this is a definite winner! Also, this book is the author’s debut novel. I hope she continues to write!

Alrighty guys, I just wanted to check in with you all!I hope you’ve had fantastic weekends.

 

Questions:

What do you like/hate most about road trips?

What is a book you’ve read that surprised you in a good way?

 

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on August 14, 2011, in Books, Chris, Life. Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. Welcome to FL πŸ™‚
    Boca’s only about 30 min drive from me!

    and I love road trips…all parts of road trips
    I know..weird right, but I love it!

    hmmm been awhile since any book surprised me in a good way 😦

  2. I just read “One Summer” by David Baldacci…the pace was really good also! Read it in just over a day!

  3. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Yey Boca! You’re like an hour away from me right now!! And I totally agree– I-95 is one of the most boring roads to drive on 😦

    Hope you’re having a great time

  4. I am sucked into that book just from reading the synopsis!!! It sounds kinda like 50 First Dates, but the thriller version πŸ™‚ I think I might have to put that on my to-read list.

    Have fun in Florida!

  5. I love all the sights and how I am surrounded by windows, it’s really not all that common except in cars when you think about it.

    I hate sitting still for so long and getting to see so many cool things without always being able to stop and explore.

    There isn’t so much a book that surprised me as there is an author–Sophie Kinsella. The subject matter of her books isn’t exactly intriguing but her writing style is fantastic. She is funny, dramatic, mysterious, can make your heart wrench and tears come to your eyes..considering she can do this while writing about dim-witted girls who enjoy shopping far too much I think really proves how good of a writer she can be. ‘Can You Keep a Secret?’ was by far my favourite of her books.

  6. Ha, I’m right there with Lindz about wanting to read this one just from the brief synopsis!! Though I must admit, it’s sort of like a more sinister version of 50 First Dates!! Only less Adam Sandler and slutty walruses…. but other than that, the same.

  7. This is making me think of all the packing/moving I’m gonna have to be doing soon. Eeeee not looking forward to that part. I just wanna get from A to B without all the mess in the middle πŸ˜‰ But I’m glad that you make it safe, sound, and with sanity in tact πŸ˜€ Road trips can be kind of hard when there’s nothing interesting to look at, and especially when they’re loooooong. But it’s always kind of nice to see the countryside, and… lol yeah I have no idea.

    And that actually sounds like a really interesting book! I just finished my latest book, so I might have to pick this one up. Thanks for the review!

  8. I ❀ road trips!!! I just love long drives, not sure why. Except coming back to Mass from TN. I drove 15 of the 18 hours and I was cranky and tired!!!

  9. healthycollegegirl

    Fun!!! I love road trip food but hate how uncomfortable and gross I feel afterwards haha. I hope you guys have so much fun! That book sounds awesome. I’m currently reading the hunger games. So good!

  10. Welcome to FL! i’m going to be attending FAU in about a week, let me know how the gym is! haha πŸ™‚

  11. What do I hate about road trips? Everything! I can’t stand long trips in the car. Sometimes the hubby and I have good conversations on long drives, but that’s about it. No fun!

    Glad you guys made it πŸ™‚

  12. Ha….sounds like my road trips too! I like to remind Sean that I always do offer to drive…even if I don’t leave the passenger seat (ha!)

    Love the tye-dyed teeshirt!

    My least favourite thing about road trips is sitting the the car all day. I feel gross after a day of being cramped in a car (especially when it’s supper stuffed, like yours was!)

    Glad you made it safely!

  13. I always feel so gross after car rides, too! I love a good, long shower after long trips!

  14. I just moved back home on Saturday and the back of my parents’ car looked just like the picture you posted of all of Chris’ stuff jammed in the back. And to think, I have to do it all again when I move back to school in 2 weeks!

    I love road trips for the time spent with the people you’re traveling with and also stopping at various rest stops.

    PS – love your blog, it’s one of the few that I read daily! Although I hope to start reading more now!

  15. So glad you made it safe! I am not a fan of road trips, I get so mad? (i guess that’s the right word) with having to sit for so long.
    Thank you for the book review too..I am always on the lookout for a new title!

  16. That book looks SO good!! I always make Billy drive the whole way:) Girl, you are SO gorgeous!!!

  17. Have fun with Chris!! πŸ™‚ I like roadtrips with Brandon because it gives us plenty of uninterupted time to talk! But it definitely gets boring after a while, especially because he likes to drive the entire time! πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

