A Whole Foods and Movie Kind of Day

Hey everyone! Hope you’ve all had a good Monday :).

Chris and I woke up this morning, ate some b-fast, and went to the FAU gym after letting our food settle. Let me just tell you, that facility is super nice. The fitness center is fairly new (it was done in the spring of 2010) and you can definitely tell! I wish I could workout here all the time.

Today I completed a 3-mile run on the treadmill, 10 minutes on the AMT, and then did some abs. Yes, I’ve been trying to keep up with my August goal of doing ab exercises 4 days a week :). Go me! It felt awesome to exercise after sitting in the car for two days. My body is thanking me for moving it again.

Nice and sweaty after our workouts

After we worked out we came back to his place, ate lunch, got ready and then went to finish the grocery shopping at one of the best stores ever…

Whole Foods is freaking awesome. But, I’m sure you already know that. Plus, if you buy their brand you actually don’t have to spend an arm and a leg!

I would have loved to go to the beach or swim in the pool this afternoon, but sadly it was raining. We went and saw a movie instead.

Oh Ryan Reynolds…I love you ;). Chris and I thought this movie was really entertaining. Of course it’s predictable, but it’s still funny and I really enjoyed it! The movie was in the late afternoon and by the time it was over, Chris and I were both starving. So, we went back to Whole Foods to enjoy some of their delicious prepared meals. YUM.

Chicken teryaki with brown rice and some veggies

Sauteed veggies

Tuna chickpea salad

A very tasty dinner if I may say so myself :). And I got a Larabar for when I get hungry tonight! I’m kind of new to eating these bars and I’m hoping this flavor is just as good as the other ones I’ve had!

Now we’re just going to hang out for the rest of the night! It’s still raining so we can’t really go enjoy the fact that this city is a beach town..boo. But, I get to spend time with Chris- and frankly that’s what matters, especially since we only have 4 more days together.

Hope you’re having a great night!

Questions

Do you ever like to eat the prepared food from Whole Foods??

What is your favorite Larabar flavor…or if you don’t eat them, what is your favorite type of bar?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on August 15, 2011, in Chris, Dinner, Life, Movie, Random. Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. cashew cookie or banana bread are both amazing!

  2. I grew up in that area and actually took a few courses at FAU! Love the prepared foods at Whole Foods plus their cornbread is so good!

  3. Oh my gosh, I LOVE Whole Foods- not only their brand stuff (you’re right about the price!) but their hot and cold bars as well as all their prepared foods! So tasty πŸ™‚

    That’s actually my favorite Lara bar flavor…hope you like it as much as I do!!

    Have a great 4 days with the boy!

  4. Ooo that tuna chickpea salad looks great! Did you make it or is it a WF special?

  5. Gosh it must be raining everywhere! It’s been pouring in Mass alllll day long. And I love WF prepared foods AND Ryan Reynolds!!! I just had my first Larabar the other day…chocolate chip cookie dough, yummy!

  6. I would LOVE to be able to eat the prepared meals from WF, but we don’t have one up here in my part of Canada-land, so I’ve never been 😦 I’m definitely gonna hit it up when (if?!) I take a trip down to the States, though, and I’m looking forward to seeing what all the fuss is about.

    And as for Lara’s, I can’t really eat them because of allergies, and that pretty much applies to all other bars as well =\ So, if I’m feeling bar-y I have to make my own, but usually I just make my little chocolate chip cookie dough balls, and that’s enough to take away the bitterness of being allergic to everything πŸ˜‰

    • Definitely a “when” for your States visit! I’ve never been to Canada, so I need to plan on visiting there haha. And it’s a good thing your cookie dough balls look and sound amazing! I actually want to make them when I get back home :). What all are you allergic to?

  7. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    My friend used to go to FAU so whenever I would go visit him we made SURE to make a beach trip. You have four more days so I’m sure you will find some time to head on over and check it out.

    AND YES. I am a HUGE fan of the prepared Whole Foods meals! I usually just fill up one plate with tons of options, and not portion it our like you & Chris did. Kudos for having the self-control to do that πŸ˜‰

  8. Good for you on the abs! That is where I slack πŸ™‚
    Eats are looking awesome.
    My fave type of Larabar is PB and jam!!!! soo yummy.

  9. I’ve never had the prepared food from Whole Foods but I have walked by the food bar and it all looked delicious!

    I’ve never had Lara Bars either, my fav are Clif Bars!

  10. I had Whole Foods for lunch today! I can walk to it from work. I had sweet potatoes, kale and black beans along with some fruit and pretzels I brought from home. It was a random mix of things, but it was good!

  11. I love their prepped food – all of their tofu dishes rock my world (buffalo garlic? Holy yummmm!) And Larabars are always a great choice too – especially the cookie dough! πŸ™‚

  12. I’m a big fan of the Whole Foods Bars. I told the beau the other day, even though it doesn’t look like anything fancy, I’ve wanted to try a slice of pizza from there every time I’ve visited!!

    Normally I go with a crazy mixed up plate when I go, though, so I can taste a little bit of everything.

  13. I’m so jealous.. I don’t have a whole foods OR a trader joes near me and I’m going through withdrawal. That tuna looks amazing (I am officially putting chickpeas in my tuna salad from now on)! I like the cherry pie larabars.. I have one sitting in my kitchen calling my name..

  14. I had tofu fried rice from whole foods prepared meals last night – delish!

  15. I have never been to a Whole Foods and I have never tried a Larabar 😦

  16. healthycollegegirl

    ahhhhh whole foods…how i love you! the salad bar at whole foods might be my favorite place to eat in the world. and i am sad to admit that i have NEVER tried a larabar! everytime i go to buy one, i am talked out of it by how expensive they are haha i’m a cheap skate!
    looks like you’re having sooo much fun!

  17. That sounds like the perfect day! There’s no Whole Foods in my city in Florida, but maybe that’s for the best. πŸ˜‰ The tuna chickpea salad sounds excellent though! When it finally gets nice out, head to the beach! Florida weather is soo unpredictable.

  18. Enjoy your time, doll! I love to put the chocolate chip cookie dough larabar in the fridge first–it gets even more dough-like somehow. YUM!

  19. I could live on the food bar options from Whole Foods!! So yes I eat them πŸ™‚
    Keep enjoying your time, I am loving these recaps!

  20. That chicken teryaki looks delish!! We don’t have a Whole Foods around us. 😦 So sad.

Leave a Reply

