Beach, Pool, and a Yummy Dinner

Hi guys! I hope you’ve been having fabulous Tuesdays :). I know I have been!

Chris and I woke up this morning to the sun shining. We checked the weather and saw that storms were predicted again for later in the day and decided to head to the beach then instead of in the afternoon!

I love the beach- the saltiness in the air, the sound of the ocean, the feel of the sand…all of it is awesome. Chris and I splashed around in the water for a bit. It was a very nice temperature, otherwise I probably would have said “no thank you” haha. While in the water and afterward when we were sitting on our towels, we had some fun watching a lady with a broken piece of wood trying to stab at jelly fish.

Yes, I totally took a picture of her 😉

I think she was trying to kill them? We’re not really sure. But it was quite entertaining. Don’t you just love people watching in public places?

Anyhoo we also took a nice stroll down the beach and talked about how awesome it would be to make enough money someday that we could just head to the beach early on a Tuesday. Gotta dream big right? 😉

After hanging out at the beach for a bit we headed back to Chris’s place. But I was in dire need of some coffee (I didn’t want to buy any at the store because Chris doesn’t drink it) so we stopped and I got an iced coffee from Dunkin Donuts on the way back, à la Courtney style, YUM 🙂

Once we got back we ate some lunch and then took advantage of the awesome pool at Chris’s place.

Seriously, you just exit the kitchen and this little piece of awesomeness is right there :). Gotta love splashing around in the pool and feeling like a little kid again!

After all the playing around we finally decided to workout. I completed an awesome workout that I saw on Lindsay’s blog about a week ago. This workout was great! It felt like it went by really fast and I was definitely working hard.

With our exercising done for the day we came back and showered, got ready, and then went to the store to get supplies to make dinner. I LOVED our dinner tonight. It was definitely successful. We made whole wheat penne pasta, sauteed chicken topped with some chili powder, sauteed veggies and topped it with this super easy and tasty Almond butter sauce that I found on Caitlin’s blog!

The sauce ingredients

The sauce when finished

Drool-worthy

All mixed together 🙂

Seriously, that was such an easy and tasty dinner. I will definitely be making that sauce and this meal again!

Now I’m off to spend the rest of the night hanging out with my honey :).

I hope you all have a good night!!

Questions:

What is something weird that you have seen a person doing at the beach?

What types of sauces do you like on pasta dishes?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on August 16, 2011, in Beach, Bloggers, Chris, Coffee, Dinner, Life, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. The picture of the woman poking the jellyfish is hilarious! I got stung once and it was not fun… I’d probably be pokin at it too 🙂

  2. Oh I’d love to be on the beach, but not near jelly fish… they kind of scare me! As do sharks 😯 And I go to the beach so rarely (I’m a mountains, forests, and lakes kind of girl) that I can’t even remember seeing people do weird things. And speaking of which, I totally want to give that almond sauce a try. I’ve never tried almond butter on any sort of savory dish, and I’m so intrigued!

  3. Yay! You made it to the beach! That dinner looks great and I must try that almond butter sauce. 🙂

  4. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    I’m glad you got a chance to go to the beach 🙂
    I have the CRAZIEST video that I caught of this creeper dancing on the beach, then of him checking me and my friends out. It is priceless– I’ll have to share it on the blog eventually haha

  5. I live at the beach in a wild tourist town, I swear I’ve seen it ALL. A few weeks ago I saw a family walking onto the beach and the mom was holding a giant watermelon. Like how would you ever get that open and cut it up on the beach? I still think about it obviously.. lol. I need to try and make that sauce, it looks so good! I love anything almond. -Jamie

  6. What a fun day! I’m so jealous!

    There are way too many weird things that go on at the beach to count! Haha. Some people are just quirky I guess!

    I’m a huge pesto fan when it comes to pasta – that and a good marinara!

  7. The beach is my absolute favorite!! Glad you’re spending time relaxing with your man, enjoy it!

  8. Ahh yes I lovee the beach, can’t get enough of it 🙂
    That sauce sounds so tasty! I really want to give it a try, I have never thought of putting almond butter with something more savory. Apparently I live under a rock haha

  9. Holy cow that sauce looks delightful! Looks like you two had a blast- I’m jealous of that pool!

  10. It looks like you guys are having a great time! My family would always go to Florida on Xmas vacation and rent a house with a pool like that. Ahhhh take me back!

    As for sauces..I like pesto mixes as well as red sauces. Not a huge fan of creamy ones.

  11. Love that sauce idea! I have made penne with a peanut butter based sauce, but AB sounds amazing!

    Glad you two are having such a fun week together!

  12. a good workout, some sun, good food! wow LInds, I am so glad you are embracing life right now!

  13. Welll where we go camping on the beach, there is a section of the beach about a mile away that old men will go lay out in speedos (or nothing) GROSS. It makes the decision kind of tough..to walk on the beach or not haha. I am glad you got to go to the beach, though! That place looks beautiful!

  14. Horray for beach days!!!!

    I love pasta with lots of sauces … marinara, pesto, alfredo … yum! 🙂

    Tomorrow I’m attempting a healthier version of a pesto-alfredo dish. Fingers-crossed that it works! 😛

  15. Mmm, now I’m wanting a nice rich sauce like that for dinner too! Looks like a nice day at the beach, glad you missed the storm!

Leave a Reply

