Another Day of Florida Fun

Happy Wednesday everyone! I hope you’re having a good day!

Chris and I did his and hers workouts this morning at the FAU fitness center. Seriously that place is great! When I got back to Boston, my gym is going to look kind of crappy in comparison haha. Anyway, my workout consisted of:

  • 15 minutes of intervals on the elliptical
  • 15 minutes of intervals on the treadmill
  • 2 sets 12 reps lat pulldowns
  • 2 sets 12 reps seated rows
  • 2 sets 15 reps lower back extensions on the stability ball
  • various ab exercises

When we got back from the gym we ate some lunch and then played around in the pool again. I’m pretty sure that if I had a pool in my yard I wouldn’t get nearly enough of my school work done.

After getting ready we went to Bed Bath and Beyond to see if we could find some things Chris wants for his room. We didn’t find anything we liked, but I did see this in the parking lot!

Have you ever seen a car with a license plate for Alaska?!?! Um, I haven’t so I was super excited when I spotted this :). I made Chris drive by really slow so I could creepily take a picture. I made sure to black out the license plate numbers though so I could protect the owner’s privacy.

And then we stopped at Jamba Juice so I could get a yummy smoothie. Ever since I saw one on Julie’s post this morning I’ve been craving one! I doubt mine was as good as hers, but it was still pretty tasty!

It was a very simple smoothie with just strawberries, banana, soymilk, and peanut butter. Yummy!

This evening Chris and I had a date night near Delray Beach :). We went an Asian restaurant and I had sushi for dinner. I love sushi…I could eat it all the time! And this was really good, fresh tasting sushi- I’m pretty sure my eyes rolled in the back of my head several times after taking bites of it.

Shrimp tempura and salmon california rolls

When we were finished with dinner we walked around “downtown” Delray. That area is really pretty! It was nice to aimlessly meander, just taking our time, and enjoy one another’s company.

On the way back to the car an intense fro-yo craving hit. I just had to get some. I knew that if I didn’t I would keep thinking about it all night. My love of fro-yo has seriously intensified this summer. In fact, I was always an ice cream kind of gal. I think the reason I really enjoy fro-yo is that it isn’t too sweet or rich and I can pick the type and amount of yummy toppings :).

Wedding cake and vanilla fro-yo topped with rainbow sprinkles, chocolate chips, peanut butter cups, and cookie dough

However, this summer I have been indulging a little more than is usual for me, and I just haven’t felt as “healthy” as I normally do. Does that make sense? I generally feel more energetic and my body just feels good. Lately I’ve felt a little more “blah”. I don’t regret my indulgences, I just think I’m ready to stop feeling blah-like. This seems to happen to me a lot. I go through cycles where I want sweet desserts a lot and then I get it out of my system and I start to crave healthier treats- such as smoothies and the chocolate chip cookie dough protein balls of Amanda’s that I want to try!

Anyway, I hope you all have a fantastic night! I hope you don’t mind that my posts right now are just recaps of my time in Florida. I’m just trying to spend as much time with my man as possible, and I’ll be back to posting more regular stuff when I get back. πŸ™‚

Questions

Have you ever seen an Alaska license plate?

Does your body ever feel “blah” when you eat too many sweets? Do you cycle through periods of craving desserts and then craving healthier indulgences?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on August 17, 2011, in Chris, Dessert, Dinner, Life, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. I get the blah feeling with too many sweets, pretty much any alcohol at all, too much sodium, or processed foods! That’s not to say I don’t indulge, but it makes me think twice for sure.

  2. I definitely start feeling it if I start eating too many sweets, or just too many processed foods in general. Sometimes I get people questioning me why I eat so healthy, and it’s because I honestly don’t enjoy that blah feeling. I don’t deny myself when cravings hit, but I find they really don’t hit as much as they used to. Or maybe I’m just getting old or something lol.

  3. I LOVE lemongrass! I’ve been there a couple times. Atlantic ave is sooo pretty!

  4. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Looks like a great time πŸ™‚

    And, uh… I have a question…

    Did that car DRIVE from Alaska!?

  5. I’ve never seen an alaska plate but that is a great pic and how fun to see it in Florida!
    oh and your fro yo look yummy!

  6. Never have seen an Alaska license plate, how cool! I know what you mean by feeling a bit “blah.” You really do lose a bit of energy and simply don’t feel as fit and fresh. But you will be back to eating healthier in no time and feeling great once again. Enjoy your time now and please eat some froyo for me! Why oh why isn’t there a place like that near me?! So sad ha

  7. Ahhh, sushi!!!! Looks so delicious. You two are so cute, n’daww.

    I actually see a lot of plates for Alaska when I am in BC! But yeah, never in Ontario now that I think of it… I’m glad you’re having an awesome time!

  8. SMALLEST WORLD EVER! Girl I went to FAU for 3 years when I was studying graphic design (ditched it for FSU and dietetics when I got way too movitvated for a change) and my entire family is still down there! ❀ Does Chris live there and you were just visiting? I obv. need to do more blog stalking πŸ˜‰ haha!

    NEVER in my life have i seen an Alaska plate! man that thing is loud! haha =)

  9. Downtown Delray looks nice! Never been. I totally go through phases with sweets. I’ve been on a long sweet-loving kick lately, so I hope it passes soon! Oh, and I wanted to add that I’m a huge fan of back extensions on the stability ball. It really tones my lower back like no other exercise I’ve found – better than deadlifts!

  10. sara @ the foodie diaries

    I can honestly say I’ve NEVER seen a car with an Alaska license plate! That’s so cool! Mmmm I love smoothies, I actually just made my own at home for the first time! It didn’t turn out too bad, a little bland but that’s what some sweet n low is for πŸ˜‰

    I’m glad that you’re enjoying your time with Chris! Don’t worry about over indulging, summer brings on the heat and turns up the appetites πŸ˜‰

  11. I go through indulgent periods and healthy foods only periods, it happens!

  12. Ok funny stuff – Ive seen a few Alaska licence plates in my day….Alaska is farrr away from Ottawa, but closer than where you are, I guess?

    The Northwest Territories licence plates are shaped as a polar bear…..now thats a plate you’ll want a photo of!

  13. I love sushi and fro-yo…I could eat both a couple times a week :). Enjoy your time with your man!

  14. I ditto Emily … I love both sushi and fro-yo. But I know what you mean about feeling “blah” after indulging too much. I haven’t been saying “No” to really anything this summer, and I’m starting to feel like I need a “detox” … not a real detox, but just a period of really healthy eating.

    Of course, I’m going to 2 different fairs this weekend, so I can guarantee that the “detox” won’t be happening anytime soon!! πŸ˜›

  15. My boyfriend’s parents live in Alaska but they still have their ‘family farm’ in north-central Pennsylvania…and one of their cars parked in the garage has their Alaskan plates on it, ha! It’s a gorgeous state; I love going to visit them!

  16. Hey, really great blog post… I’ve enjoyed reading through your blog because of the great style and energy you put into each post. I actually run AceHealth.org, a blog of my personal research and experiences. If you’re interested, I would love to have you on as a guest blogger. Please send me an e-mail: bob.mauer65(at)gmail(dot)com, and I can give you more information. Looking forward to hearing from you.

Leave a Reply

