Treadmill Workout and Pita Pizzas

Hey guys! How are all of you doing? Today feels like it’s gone by so fast. Probably because I’m flying back to Columbus tomorrow…blahh I’m not ready to start up our long distance relationship again just yet.

Chris had a couple of job interviews today for personal training. And he basically already got the jobs…oh yea, he’s that good ;).

Haha...love the pose

When Chris got back from his first interview, it was time for lunch. I wanted a good salad so I made him take me to Whole Foods and I attacked their prepared meal bar again. The plan was to only get a salad…yea then I saw the mushroom tofu stroganoff and I was a goner.

YUM πŸ™‚

After letting our food settle for a bit we went to the gym and I was honestly not feeling it. I think it’s because we went in the afternoon instead of the morning. I’m more of a morning workout girl…as the day goes on my motivation to exercise gradually decreases. So, we decided to just do a quick 30-minute workout. I did 10 minutes on the bike and this treadmill incline walking workout-

20-minute Treadmill Incline Walking Workout

Time Incline (%) Speed (mph)
1 min 0 4
2 min 8 4
2 min 10 4
2 min 12 4
2 min 8 4
2 min 10 4
2 min 12 4
2 min 8 4
2 min 10 4
2 min 12 4
1 min 0 3.5

Feel free to adjust the incline and speeds to what is comfortable for you. 4 mph is about the fastest my legs can handle when walking uphill and not only was I feeling the burn in my thighs and glutes, but I was having a hard time catching my breath! After walking at an incline of 12% for 2 minutes, going back down to 8% was a relief.

When we were done working out and showering, Chris and I hung around for a bit before his 2nd interview and went to the store for our dinner ingredients. Once he got back from his meeting we got crackin’ and made some seriously yummy pita pizzas!

Whole Wheat Pita Pizzas

Makes 4 pizzas

Ingredients:

  • 4 whole wheat pitas
  • 1 8oz can organic tomato sauce
  • Daiya dairy free mozzarella cheese (Chris is lactose intolerant, so you could use dairy cheese too)
  • 1 medium green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 cup uncooked sliced mushrooms
  • 1 medium roma tomato
  • 3/4 lb ground turkey
  • Dried oregano
  • Dried parsley
  • Garlic powder
  • Onion powder
  • Ground black pepper
  • Olive oil cooking spray

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F
  2. Spray a skillet with olive oil cooking spray; cook ground turkey over medium-high heat until cooked all the way through (no longer pink); set aside
  3. In same skillet, saute sliced mushrooms and chopped bell pepper; lightly season with dried oregano, parsley, garlic and onion powders, and pepper; set aside
  4. In a small bowl, season tomato sauce with dried oregano, dried parsley, garlic powder, onion powder, and black pepper to taste. We used around 3 generous shakes of each seasoning, except for the black pepper which we only used lightly. Mix the sauce well.
  5. Place pitas on a cooking sheet that has been sprayed with olive oil cooking spray. Spread pizza sauce onto the pita. Top with cheese, sauteed peppers and mushrooms, ground turkey, and sliced roma tomatos.
  6. Bake for about 10-12 minutes.
  7. Enjoy πŸ™‚

Oh my gosh, these were soooo good! And they were really easy to make :). The pitas made for a great pizza crust. They were crispy, but not too crispy if that makes sense haha.

Okay, I’m off to spend my last night with Chris! Gotta enjoy our last bit of time together…

P.S. if you haven’t already…”like” me on facebook!

Hope you have a fabulous night!

 

Questions:

Does your motivation to workout decrease as the day goes on? Or are you more of a late-in-the-day exerciser?

Have you ever used pitas to make pizza?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on August 18, 2011, in Chris, Dinner, Recipe, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. I’m so a morning workout gal!!! 5am, gym is where you’ll find me. I’m just too pooped in the afternoon.

    Enjoy your last evening together!

  2. That looks like a fab dinner! YUM! Enjoy your time with your honey!

  3. Tasty dinner! So simple too!!

    I am much more of a morning workout gal too!! Get in and het ‘er done!! πŸ™‚

    Have a special night with the boy!

  4. I looove pita pizza’s, but I have never tried pita pizzas that look like that! So yummy looking.
    I much prefer to workout in the morning! I even prefer the evening to afternoon.

    Hope you guys have a great last night together!!!

  5. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    I’m a HUGE single-lady pizza fan πŸ™‚ I usually make mine on tortillas, but I’m SURE pitas are great! And Chris is a personal trainer?! That’s awesome– talk about having exercise motivation in a relationship haha

    My chosen time to exercise changes daily– its really whenever I decide to get movin πŸ˜‰

  6. I’ve always been a morning workout kind of girl, but lately I’ve been thinking about switching my workouts to the afternoon ’cause I still feel a little bit like I need to warm up more in the morning before I get going lol. It might explain why my workouts have been kind of slacking, so I’m gonna try it and see what happens. And I’ve never used pitas to make a pizza, but I use tortillas regularly and love it πŸ˜€

  7. I worked out at 8:30 tonight, talk about dragging myself there! but I ran three miles and it felt GOOD! πŸ™‚ My ideal time is in the morning, but I wake up at 4:30 just for getting to work so my schedule is not actually conducive for it.

    I made a pita pizza tonight as well, but I used salsa as my base and added on whatever I had on hand. It is slim pickin’s in this house. Yours looks delish and I am definitely going to try it!

    Praying for you through you leaving your guy tomorrow. I know how hard it is. I have done long distance for 5 years with my guy and it is HARD. We are finally living only 2 hrs away from each other so it is a little better. . . not good enough though. Savor every moment.

  8. pita pizzas look sooo good! I think I’m gonna try that out.

  9. healthycollegegirl

    girl you’re gonna have to share some long distance relationship tips with me! i’m glad you’ve had an awesome trip, and i’m sorry it’s already time for you to leave!
    those pizzas look amazing and your workout sounds like it rocked. i am definitely usually more of an early morning exerciser…especially when i have a busy day. after a day full of work and school the LAST thing i wanna do is hit the gym.

  10. I looove pita pizzas! Yours look soo good.. I usually just do simple cheese pizzas on it!

  11. Woahhhhh! Those pizzas look so great–need to make ASAP. I’m glad you are having fun down there with Chris, eating WF’s and hanging out! I like to go to the gym in the am too, sometimes it is better to change it up and go in the afternoon when your muscles are a little more warmed up! Thanks for your sweet comment on my post!

  12. I’m a morning workout girl too! After sitting at work all day the last thing I want to do is go exert myself at the gym. I wake up and workout at 6 everyday and it feels great to know that it is behind. Plus I feel better during the day!

  13. Those pizzas look delicious!

    Strangely, I yearn to be a morning exerciser but I have found that my energy is at its peak late in the afternoon (or even at night!) I’ve always been a night person, so maybe that’s where it comes from.

  14. I’m a huge fan of pita pizzas! My best one was a mexican version. Refried beans as a base; ahh. so good!!!

  15. reminds me of the tofu stroganoff i posted wayyyy back on my blog that i would get from Green Cuisine Restaurant. Gosh this looks amazing!!! ❀

  16. Pita pizzas are one of my favorite quick meals!

  17. Thanks for the workout, and the dinner idea. I used to make English muffin pizzas back in the day – not sure why I ever quit.

  18. My motivation to exercise DEFINITELY lessens as the day goes on…

    Those pita pizzas look very yummy! I used to make pizzas on whole wheat pitas all the time in college. They’re great for a quick, one person meal!

  19. Those pizzas look great! I am hosting a couple of vegans tonight and that might just be the direction this dinner is going!

Leave a Reply

