Last Day in FL and Long-Distance Relationships

Hello friends! Sorry I didn’t post yesterday! I spent the early part of the day cherishing my last few hours with Chris and then I had my flight back to Columbus. By the time I got home I just wasn’t in the mood to sit down and write something.

***Check out my guest post today on Kristen’s blog! πŸ™‚ Thank you!

Yesterday morning, Chris and I woke up and decided to head to the beach for one last walk. It was a beautiful morning!

As we were walking along the beach we noticed a ton of small areas blocked off with orange posts and orange rope.

When we got closer to one, we discovered that they were marking off the areas of sea turtle nests! So cool! I couldn’t believe how many nests were populating this beach…wouldn’t it be awesome to see the hatching of a nest and watch the cute baby turtles make their way back to the water? I think so πŸ™‚

I think I’d be in heaven if I could walk the beach with this hunk everyday for the rest of my life :).

After our beach time we went back to Chris’s place, ate some lunch, and I got all packed up. I pretty much hated the entire car ride to the airport. I was not at all ready to say goodbye to him. We are still not sure when we’re going to see each other again and I hate not having a solid countdown ready to go. But, as soon as we get our school schedules we will be making flights. Our plan is to visit each other once in Boston and once in Boca Raton. I’m hoping we won’t have to go more than 6 weeks without seeing one another.

When people hear that I was in Boston all last year, and that now Chris will be in Florida, I always the get question of how do we do it? “It” being the whole long distance thing. I’m not going to sugar coat it- it’s not easy. But, it is completely worth it because I love him so much and I know for a fact this is the guy I want to be with. I also know that he feels the exact same way. I’m pretty sure long distance wouldn’t work if we didn’t both feel those things.

I am by no means an expert on long distance dating, but if you want it to work, I believe that it absolutely can- you just have to be willing to put forth the effort. Here are some of the things that I’ve “discovered” over this past year, and things that will definitely be going into play again now:

  • Skype is freaking amazing. Seriously. Seeing Chris on my computer screen is awesome and is so much better than just hearing his voice. And I think it makes our conversations better because we are completely focused on one another.
  • Texting throughout the day lets the other person know that you are thinking of them. I know that I love getting them :).
  • You have to really talk and communicate with each other. When you aren’t seeing the other person, you need to keep each other updated on the small details of your life or else talking about doing the same thing over and over again everyday will get boring. When you’re talking on the phone, try not to multitask. It will take away from the conversation and you won’t really be listening to one another. Also, if you’re upset about something- don’t keep it in. Talk about it asap. I sometimes have a problem with this, but I’m trying!
  • Make an effort to see one another. Chris came to see me twice in Boston last year and that was great! We also went on my spring break together. The longest we went without seeing one another was 8 weeks, but usually it was 6 or less.
  • Trust one another. Jealousy over what the other person is or isn’t doing will not get you anywhere and will likely just cause a problem.
  • Cherish the times you do get to see each other.
  • Don’t let your relationship lose the “romance”. Remind the person that you love them and why. Send them things in the mail or write a “love letter”.

Those are just some of the things that I’ve realized with long-distance dating. As I said before, it is hard…but ABSOLUTELY worth it!

———-

This morning I kicked my own butt with my workout and it felt awesome! I lifted and threw in some plyometrics to get my heart rate up. My body is already feeling it. Here’s what it looked like-

Lifting Workout

Lower Body

  • Squat jumps: 2 sets 12 reps
  • Squats: 2 sets 15 reps
  • Lateral bounds: 2 sets 10 reps each side
  • Straight-leg deadlifts: 2 sets 15 reps
  • Split jumps (pop lunges): 2 sets 10 reps each side
  • Rear lunges: 2 sets 15 reps each side
  • Burpees: 2 sets 10 reps
  • Bridges: 2 sets 15 reps

Upper Body

  • Chest press: 2 sets 15 reps
  • Bent over rows: 2 sets 15 reps each side
  • Push-ups on bench: 2 sets 20 reps
  • Reverse fly: 2 sets 15 reps
  • Bicep curls: 2 sets 20 reps
  • Lateral raises: 2 sets 15 reps
  • Lying triceps extension: 2 sets 15 reps

Core

  • Side bends with dumbbell: 2 sets 15 reps each side
  • Reverse crunches: 2 sets 15 reps
  • Bicycle crunches: 2 sets 60 reps
  • Lower leg lifts: 2 sets 15 reps
  • Supermans: 2 sets 15 reps

Hope you guys have an awesome day!

Questions:

Have you ever seen baby turtles hatching?

Have you ever been in a long-distance relationship?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on August 20, 2011, in Guest Post, Life, Lifting, Relationships, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 27 Comments.

  1. I saw baby turtles hatching once in Costa Rica! It was increadible. They are so stinkin little!

  2. I used to be in a long-distance relationship. Well if you can call 3.5 hours away a long distance. It certainly was hard, but so worth it. Now my prince charming and I live together, and the days of going weeks without seeing eachother seem like forever ago.
    Whenever I was upset about not seeing him as often as I wanted, I always told myself it wouldn’t be forever, that there’d be light at the end of the tunnel.
    You and Chris are such a cute couple. I hope you are reunited soon ❀

  3. I’ve never seen a baby turtle hatching, nor have I ever been in a long distance relationship. But I think baby turtles are flippin’ adorable, and that having a long distance relationship with someone that you absolutely love is better than having a normal relationship with someone that you’re not in love with. When you find that special person, it’s definitely worth it to hold on to them no matter what you have to go through to be with them. It’ll all be worth it in the end πŸ˜€

  4. That must be so difficult for you two! I’m sorry that you can’t be with the one you love! 😦 I first started dating my bf the summer that I was going to move away for school. We became so attached to each other that when I actually had to move, it was extremely difficult! I wasn’t cut out to be on my own anyway. Moving to a new city and not knowing anyone was hard in itself, but being away from him made it that much harder. Long story short, I ended up moving back home and now we live together. I only experienced that long-distance thing for a short time, but I definitely know that it was difficult. So I know that what you must be feeling is probably 10x harder! As long as you two are both committed to each other, you’ll definitely make it through! πŸ™‚

  5. completely agree with each of your points! My boyfriend and I have been long distance for a year and even though its hard at times I wouldn’t want it any other way! I actually think we have been able to strengthen our relationship through the distance – communicating is essential to making it work and you get to learn things about each other you might not have known. Jarod graduates MBA school this weekend so we’re on the final stretch! When it works, it works no matter the distance πŸ™‚

  6. healthycollegegirl

    I’m so glad you did this post!! I need all of the long-distance relationship advice that I can get πŸ™‚ So glad you enjoyed your time with your man. You guys are so cute together…what a hot couple!!!

  7. Sometimes I feel like my marriage is long distance with him in the military and deploying, going away for training, schools, etc. It’s tough and the end isn’t for a good 10 years (when he gets out)

  8. Before I married my husband we were in a long distance relationship. (6 hours away) It was tough, but all your points are excellent. Those are what helped us make it! You are right… it is SO worth it! πŸ™‚

  9. I have never been in a long-distance relationship…I wish I could offer you some insight my dear! 😦 You do have a lot of good points here though

  10. I was recently in a long distance relationship and I just ended it because I felt like my life was on hold. Your post is totally making me thing I made a mistake…

  11. “Don’t let your relationship lose the β€œromance”. Remind the person that you love them and why. Send them things in the mail or write a β€œlove letter” – OR have a risque skype date πŸ™‚ hehe.

    Good luck with your long distance love! That will be tough for sure. I can’t even imagine. I guess since you’ve done it before, you know what to expect! Trust me though, living with your lover is no walk in the park either… jk jk. Well, semi πŸ˜‰

    So glad you had a great time in Florida with him!

  12. I’ve seen baby turtles hatch πŸ™‚ The resort I used to work at (which is about 20 min north of where Chris is) was right on the beach and during turtle nesting season our beach was covered in with nests. Because the baby turtles head towards light, the resort had to keep the lights off near the water for the whole season.

    In undergrad I was in a long distance relationship. The relationship itself wasn’t very healthy and I spent most of my junior year of college unhappy. From that I’ve realized that long distance relationships only work when both people are committed and truly in love. Even though I had that bad experience, I would still do long distance for the right guy. I know how much it sucks to be apart, but it makes the time together so much better!

  13. I was in a long distance relationship for over two years and now we finally live together. It’s tough, so I definitely know how you feel! The longest we ever went without seeing each other was probably almost 3 months.

  14. When my boyrfriend and myself moved away to uni, we used skype as a means for talking. I would put him on the screen and put him in the corner and just faff about and he would do the same. working out. cleaning. cooking. you name it. we did it. well…. x

  15. baby turtles!!! ah, so adorable! i’m glad you find ways to make it work–your posts about chris are so happy and light hearted! πŸ™‚

  16. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Don’t worry girlie– you & Chris have this in the bag πŸ˜‰
    Really though, your pointers are awesome and I can agree with them 100%. I’ve managed 2 LDR’s in my life (one with a previous boyfriend, and one with Will) and I have learned that communication is the absolute key to everything.
    Best of luck girlie πŸ™‚ Oh! And I hope you figured out what you’re going to do as far as the hosting!

  17. you guys will learn to appreciate the time you have together even more….if thats possible. I”ve been there linds. The hubs and I did it. Surround yourself with lots of good friends while he’s away!

  18. I agree with your distance relationship advice! My boyfriend and I live an hour away (him in Boston and me in Worcester) which isn’t so bad. We see each other on weekends, but it would so not work if we didn’t trust each other, love each other, and communicate well. GChat is a lifesaver! I’m glad you cherished your time together, and you’ll be back together before you know it πŸ™‚

  19. Oh my gosh, great post! It is comforting to hear that if both people want it to work, it can! I am going to move in a week to pursue a job 3 hours away from my boyfriend (not super far, but far enough to make it LD). I’m getting really nervous, but this post calmed my nerves a tad!

  20. Gosh, that can’t be easy, Lindsay. Honestly though, I think if people can make it through long distance relationships, and the relationship can actually grow from that, you’re bound to make it in the long run!

    I’m sure it helps that when you get to visit him, you get to go to sunny FL!

  21. sara @ the foodie diaries

    I was in a long distance relationship for my senior year of college. Although we weren’t as far apart as you and your boyfriend, we made it work through Skype dates, honesty, and communication. If you truly love each other enough, the distance will just be a minor bump in the road πŸ™‚ It will be hard, but in the end if you really love each other, it’s worth it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

