The Help (movie) and Germs

Hi guys! Sorry I’m just now getting around to posting today! I’ve been a busy bee today.

I got up this morning and made some yummy pancakes- very similar to these guys :). Nothin’ like having syrupy goodness on a Sunday morning!

After catching up on some blogs and letting my food settle, I went to the gym. I hopped on the treadmill with the idea of just running a couple miles, but it felt good so I did 4! I realize that many of you are runners and 4 miles is a short run for you, but that is long for me. And I have to take those miles slow if I don’t want my stomach to act up. But hey, I would rather run slow than not be able to run at all!

A little after noon, I met my dad for lunch. Let me just tell you, whenever I run I am super hungry the rest of the day! I gobbled my food up pretty fast…so much for learning to eat slow. That idea went right out the window as soon as my food was set in front of me haha. Oops 😳

When I was done with lunch I went to see The Help with my mom. This movie was amazing!

I think this movie was so well done. It definitely followed the book, and I was not disappointed! Of course, the movie doesn’t go as in depth as the book does, but the story was wonderfully portrayed. I laughed and cried during the movie and even felt “worried” for the characters when you knew something bad was about to happen. To me that shows that the actors are doing a great job! If you have read the book, you should absolutely see the movie! Actually, you should absolutely see the movie even if you haven’t read the book!

While we were at the movie, I noticed that 4 people sitting a few rows in front of us had brought plastic bags and they wrapped the backs of their seat with them. Um…germaphobes perhaps? Or maybe they were afraid of getting lice? I was a little confused. I think I would have been embarrassed to be seen wrapping my movie theater chair with a plastic bag…but to each his own right?

I don’t consider myself a germaphobe. In fact, I think that our society is sometimes a little too obsessed with everything being “antibacterial”. Some bacteria and germs are necessary for our survival. Without certain bacteria in our intestines, our digestive systems wouldn’t function optimally. When my brother was diagnosed with crohn’s disease we found out that this condition and some other auto-immune disorders are not found in third world countries. Wanna know why? It’s because people that live there are exposed to the bacteria and germs that actually helps strengthen the immune system. That’s right…sometimes, we are too clean for our own good!

I’m not saying that you shouldn’t wash your hands after you poo…actually, please do! But, I think that we need to stop being so obsessive over getting rid of every single piece of germ and bacteria that encounters our bodies. It’s not necessary to use antibacterial hand gel every time you touch something that another human has contacted. Yes, that stuff kills the bad germs, but also the good ones.

Anyway that is my opinion, and I’m in no way saying it should be yours too! I just don’t want to live my life freaking out about germs all the time. That’s not another annoying thought that I need bouncing in my noggin’.

Hope you guys have an awesome Sunday night!

 

Questions

Have you seen The Help yet? What did you think?

What are your thoughts on germs and bacteria?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on August 21, 2011, in Health, Movie, Running. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. I’m definitely a little germaphobic, but wrapping up my movie theater seat is a little extreme! I’m just a big hand washer.

  2. I have not seen ‘The Help’ yet because I am in the middle of reading the book! Definitely once I finish though.

    I agree that we all need some germs! I wash my hands and use hand sanitizer regularly but not after every little touch.

  3. I ran four miles today also! And, like you, it was a long distance for me! Congrats on your run – and enjoy the last little bit of the weekend. 🙂

  4. Eeee wasn’t The Help good!? I try not to psych myself up over movies that are based off books, because they’re usually pretty crappy, but this one definitely did a good job. It was a little bit long, but I still enjoyed it enough to want to see it again. And that’s crazy about the seat thing! I agree that people go a little bit overboard when it comes to germs. I always wash my hands when I get home, but I never use any antibacterial soap or wipes… I think germs are beneficial to our bodies, and being exposed to them strengthens our immune system, while trying to limit their presence in our lives only makes us weaker. Plus the idea that we might just be creating super strains of bacteria from all of our efforts to wipe it out is a little scary…

  5. I really want to see The Help! Wanted to this weekend but didn’t get around to it as I’m preparing for a move very soon. Maybe this week! Read the book & loved it.

    I’m not a germaphobe either- totally agree with ya there!

    And 4 miles is a long run- good for you!

  6. I’m the opposite of a germophobe! What doesn’t kill ya makes ya stronger. I hardly ever get sick (knock on wood) so I must be doing something right!

  7. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Good job with the 4 miles! I havent run distance in FO EVA, so 4 miles would probably be pretty long for me too haha

    I have not seen The Help, but I need to get on this train because everyone has been raving about it

  8. I loved the Help I thought it was such a great movie! I’m not really a germaphobe but I do sanitize the carts at the grocery store and wash my hands a lot. That seems normal to me though!

  9. I loved the Help too! But like you said the book was better…they still followed the plot well
    That is a bit of an odd story with those people… I am not a germ o phobe at all!

  10. I saw “The Help” and I loved it too! I liked how it made you think, but in a positive and uplifting way.

    I agree that we are way to germophobic these days. The more we try to combat little germs, the more opportunity they have to mutate into super-germs and REALLY make us sick!

  11. I’m with you on the running…I’d rather take it slow and log the miles!

    I haven’t seen the movie yet or read the book – but I want to see the movie! I’ve only heard good things.

    I’m not a huge germa phobe either – I just wash my hands when necessary and expected. I don’t freak out over too much, there are more important things to worry about 🙂

  12. I looooved The Help! I think it’s the first book to movie adaption I’ve seen that I had absolutely nothing to complain about. I thought the movie was an excellent follow through of the book. I can’t wait to see it again.

Leave a Reply

