Morning Hunger

Good morning friends!

I can’t believe I’m doing a morning post, this is strange for me haha. I actually would prefer to do morning ones, but since I haven’t really been on a schedule this summer that hasn’t happened. Anyway, I hope you are all having fabulous Mondays so far.

How do you wake up in the morning?

I woke up this morning pretty much ready to gnaw my arm off. I was absolutely starving!

As a matter of fact, I wake up pretty much every single morning this way. Now, if I am jolted awake by the annoying alarm on my phone then my hunger is my 2nd thought, not my 1st- which is usually something like “Omg shut up…I want more sleep!”

My hunger is outrageous in the mornings. My stomach feels almost sunken in and there are grumbling noises that I’m not sure should be coming from a girl my size. I guess it makes sense, considering I woke up at 8am and the last time I ate was last night at 8pm. That’s a whole 12 hours of no food. Freaking crazy! I can barely go 3 hours without food during the day so it’s no wonder my body feels starved when I wake up.

Wouldn’t it be cool if there was a way to feed yourself at night without waking up? No? Maybe that’s just me. I don’t like feeling hungry. It reminds me of the time when I went through a disordered eating phase- I was hungry all the time. I prefer my tummy to feel satisfied- that overly full feeling isn’t comfortable either.

I don’t know how so many people can wake up and immediately go to the gym in a fasted state. I think I would keel over on the treadmill and they only way they’d get me off is by feeding me ;). The first thing I have to do when I get up (unless of course my bladder needs to be emptied) is eat my breakfast. My brain and body just won’t function until I tame the hungry beast residing within me.

Sometimes I feel guilty that I wake up with food as the main thing on my mind. But then I get over it when I realize that without fueling my body, which also includes my mind, I can’t function. And that means that I’m not really capable of thinking about or doing anything else.

Breakfast is seriously one of my most important meals. It jump starts my day and gives me the energy to get going :).

———–

It’s a cool and beautiful morning here in Columbus, OH so I’m off to go run the stairs and enjoy some time outside! I’m going to do some “back to school” shopping later today! Would you guys like to see what I get? Or could you really care less? Let me know!

Questions

How do you wake up in the morning? Are you generally insanely hungry like I am?

What do you think is a fall fashion must have this year?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on August 22, 2011, in Random, Shopping. Bookmark the permalink. 27 Comments.

  1. I am always soo hungry when I wake up!! I’m in the middle of making oats right now and I’m getting pretty impatient. I would love to go back to school shopping right now! When I think of fall I just think of cardigans or light weight scarves… I don’t even know what’s “in” this fall!

  2. I usually wake up in the morning thinking about coffee! Some days it literally is the FIRST thought in my head! I’m not sure if that’s a good or bad thing. Most mornings I don’t usually wake up too hungry. My hunger starts to kick in usually around 9am, but that’s probably because I’ve been sipping on my coffee for about two hours already! Yikes!

    I’d love to see what you get on your Back-to-School shopping trip! I used to love Back-to-School shopping. Since I’m not in school anymore I don’t get to do it anymore. That’s ok though. I usually find other occasions to go shopping for! πŸ™‚

  3. I usually don’t wake up too hungry actually, but I DO crave a good cup a coffee. That’s a habit I should probably kill.

    Definitely share your back to school shopping! I love the darker berry colors, some plaid and trouser pants in the fall!

  4. I’m not usually grumbly when I wake up, but I definitely need food! I usually get up and go to he gym, but there’s absolutely NO WAY I could do it without some nourishment. Pick up heavy things immediately after getting up with no food? I’d fear for my life.

    Totally share the school shopping! Maybe I’ll get some ideas πŸ™‚

  5. I wake up starvingggg too! You are not alone! lol And I’d love to see your back to school shopping purchases. πŸ˜€

  6. I can’t make it very long without food in the morning. I usually workout at 6am but not before I get food in the belly. My go-to pre-workout sustenance is either a cliff bar or a banana and then I eat a real breakfast after my workout. Like you said, breakfast is so important to fuel the body for the day.

  7. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    I wake up and am usually eating breakfast within 20 minutes. I see it as the prime opportunity to get my metabolism revved up πŸ˜€

  8. Don’t feel guilty for thinking about food first thing in the morning, because the first thought on my mind is the delicious bowl of oatmeal that I’ll soon be able to enjoy! I always wake up ready to gnaw my arm off too, despite the fact that I eat pretty much right before I go to sleep. The days where I don’t wake up crazy hungry, I actually get a little bit worried and wonder what the heck is up lol.

  9. I am opposite – I am never hungry when I wake up! I usually just snack on some fruit until I work up more of an appetite!

  10. I always have a banana first thing in the morning before I work out and then I have a breakfast afterwards. In the past, I would work out and sometimes run up to 10 miles with no food in me.

  11. Funnily enough, I am usually not that hungry when I first wake up. This is surprising for sure since I cannot go for more than a few hours without eating when I’m awake.

    I’d love to see your back to school shopping finds, ’cause I’m nosy like that! πŸ™‚
    I definitely need to stock up on cardigans this year.

  12. I’m definitely like you! I always feel like running to the kitchen the second I wake up!

  13. I wake up ravenous. Sometimes I’ll even wake up hungry in the middle of the night! People who skip breakfast absolutely baffle me. Like….how??

  14. I’m very hungry in the morning too! I just don’t understand how people say they can’t eat breakfast!

  15. Ooh, yes! I want to see your purchases! πŸ˜€

    I’m not usually all that hungry when I wake up–or really for the first half of my day. So strange! But in the afternoon and evenings, I’m ravenous. I typically just wait until I’m hungry and then eat whatever sounds good. Breakfast for dinner? Yes, please!

  16. I’m actually not really that hungry when I wake up.

    I eat a large snack a few minutes before I go to sleep. I run right when I wake up before breakfast and I have to eat something to sleep.I’m usually hungry after my 10 miles though πŸ™‚

  17. I am not hungry at all when I first wake up… I am such a cliche because coffee is the first thing I nee to have! And then about an hour later I am ravenous and ready to eat my own arm off πŸ™‚

  18. It depends on the day.. sometimes I wake up STARVING and other days I can go a few hours without eating… weird. Please share your school shopping! I love to see what other people are wearing…I need inspiration. πŸ™‚

  19. I totally relate to being starving in the morning. I don’t understand how people can go straight to the gym! I would DIE. I’d love to see what you get- I’m going back to school shopping this week too!

  20. Great questions! I would love to see what you get. I’m a big shop-o-holic lately and wanna know what everyone else is getting for Fall. I think a must have this season is a trench coat- I actually have a post coming up tomorrow on everything I’ve bought for back-to-school and a trench is on there!
    It’s funny how some people are opposites. When I wake up, I’m not hungry right away. It takes a good workout at the gym to build up my appetite!

  21. I’m usually pretty hungry in the morning, too. I ALWAYS eat a good breakfast. Sometimes I can wait 30-45 minutes, until I’m done getting ready for work. Other days, I HAVE to eat first thing.

    As far as fall fashion, I don’t have a clue. I’m not very good with fashion! I wish I was!

  22. First off, you’re in Columbus?! I’m from there! I just moved to Virginia last year, but my parents are still back in Columbus (Powell, specifically!) Awesome πŸ™‚

    I hit the snooze button about 87932 times… and then finally the thought of breakfast drags me out of bed πŸ˜‰

  23. I’m always hungry when I wake up! Breakfast is the first thing on my mind. I’m way too grumpy without it!

  24. I dont mind being hungry in the morning – it makes me look even more forward to the bowl of oats and protein shake I eat/drink before work. I used to be one of those “don’t eat til lunch to cut back on cals” gals (craziness……), and now breakfast is my all time favourite meal. I am so much more productive in the morning with a good meal in my system.

  25. I am ALWAYS hungry in the morning! Even if I have to get up at the crack of dawn, I will wake up starving. I’m almost jealous of people who aren’t ravenous in the morning like I am since it usually means I’m grumpy until I get food in my system!

  26. Usually im not hungry in the morning but i think its only because i trained my body to eat about 3 hours after i wake up!

  27. I either wake up hungry or need to eat within at least 30 minutes! I love waking up hungry though, makes me feel refreshed and ready to start a new day!

Leave a Reply

