I’m Gonna Do It

Hi friends πŸ˜€

The other day I was searching upcoming races near Boston, MA for the fall and stumbled across an all women’s 10k for the Tufts Health Plan. I am a grad student with Tufts University, and a women (duh), so this particular race sparked my interest.

The reason I was looking up races to begin with is because lately I’ve been wanting to train for one. I’ve mentioned before that I like to run, it just doesn’t always like me (you can read that here). Whenever I read about Tina’s half-marathon training, Alyssa’s marathon training, and Janae’s return to running after an injury, I get an itch to run more. Granted, I have no desire to run a half or full marathon…6.2 miles is PLENTY for me, but it would also still be a challenge. I recently read Cely’s blog post about creating a training plan and loved that she said she prefers to run only 3 days a week, and follows training plans for that.

I can totally run 3-days a week. In the past I’ve always run 5-6 days a week and that’s usually when things go downhill. My joints yell at me and my stomach sends me running (literally) to the bathroom. But 3 days? And no back to back days of running? I think my body and I can handle that. Also, I sometimes get bored with running when I’m doing it just to do it. I think that having an end goal and a plan to follow will really help motivate me! Plus, with 3 other exercise days I can still switch things up and strength train the way I like to.

So, I’m gonna do it. I’m going to register for the race!

Last night I went to the Runner’s World website and created a training plan through their Smart Coach. This plan calls for running 4 days a week- with 2 easy days, a speedwork or tempo run day, and a long run day. I’m just not going to do one of the easy days. I’ll cross-train on that day instead. Also, I plan on running pretty damn slow, especially for my long runs. This is not about the time for me…it’s about the distance and actually finishing it.

I started this morning with a tempo run! It consisted of an easy warm-up mile, 3 miles at a faster pace, and an easy cool-down mile. I can’t tell you the last time I’ve run 5 miles. Actually I think it’s probably been about a year. But, since I went slow and didn’t push myself too hard I actually felt really great during the run! Don’t get me wrong, I was very tired at the end…but I made it through without any stomach or joint issues :). Woo hoo!

Also, I’ve been a hungry beast all day haha. I’m gonna have to make sure to fuel myself properly on days that I have longer runs. My body isn’t used to exercising for over an hour and it’s definitely going to need more food!

Hope you all have a great Wednesday night!

 

Questions:

Have you ever run a race before? What distance?

Have you ever trained for an athletic event? What did you learn from it?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on August 24, 2011, in Boston, Life, Running. Bookmark the permalink. 27 Comments.

  1. Congrats! Good luck to you!:) I’ve never ran in races except middle school XC!

  2. Ooo! That’s awesome Lindsay! Congrats πŸ˜€ I’ve never run a race before because I don’t think I’m made for that much running, but I really admire anyone who trains for one. Can’t wait to hear about your training, and I definitely hear you on having to learn to adapt to a different fueling strategy. I thought I had my eats all figured out, and then weight lifting totally threw a wrench into all my plans lol. Oh if only we came with instruction manuals…

  3. Yayyyy so exciting!! This is such a fun and empowering race. I ran it two years ago and I’m pretty sure I’m going to run it this year too! It was my first 10K, and 10K quickly became my favorite distance. I ran a half, but that just made me not have any desire to run. Hopefully this race will get me back into it.

    And I agree, training for something is way more motivating than just running to run!

  4. Congrats on taking the plunge on the 10K! Training and completing a race is SUPER rewarding – careful, you might get hooked πŸ™‚

    I’ve completed a 10K and 1 half marathon…and I have my 2nd half marathon in October! I think I trained much better for my first one. Good thing I know this isn’t my last…because I can always get better!

  5. Hey there sweet girl! I finally had a minute to catch up on your blog! It looks fab by the way! I have run a few 5K’s and had PLANNED on conquering numerous 5Ks this year with a 10K to end the season. The Pumpkin Fest is the 10K that I have in mind, so I need to start getting ready for it…thank you for the reminder and GOOD LUCK!

  6. Congrats on signing up for a race!

    I’ve ran one 10K and several 5Ks in the past. I didn’t train properly for any of them…I basically just endured the pain and ran as fast as I could without giving up (not a good idea). I love the idea of a 3 day training plan! I’m thinking up signing up for a race in the fall..it’d be something fun to look forward to!

  7. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Yey! I’m so glad you decided to dedicate yourself to a 10k πŸ™‚ I know that you are totally capable of doing it!

    And congrats on your first 5 mile run in a year. I actually decided to break up from running a couple months after my marathon because my little leggies were aching like crazy!

  8. Yay for you! That is awesome! I decided that I will be doing on in December this year. I have only run 5K’s so I am scared to try out the 10K. Training, training, training is the key. good luck!

  9. yay! that’s so exciting! i just recently started training for my very first half, i’m pretty nervous. can’t wait to read about your training!

  10. Nice! I’m sure you’ll do well. I’ve walked a couple 5ks, but that’s the extent of my “racing” career. Maybe one day I’ll get the courage to start running and sign up for a race. I’ve never trained for a specific athletic event, just for basketball season in high school.

  11. YAY for running! Honestly, once you get the bug, I think it’ll be hard to stop! I love running and never feel better than when I’m training for a race. It’s the best! Plus, I love having something to work toward. enjoy! πŸ™‚

  12. You can totally do it! If I can do it, believe me, you can do it!! πŸ™‚

    I’ve only done a 5k so far, but I’ll be doing a 10k in a few weeks … and then a half in November. Eeeekkk!! πŸ˜‰

  13. Good for you! I’ve never run in a race before, but I want to start running as a release from graduate work– I’m sure it clears the mind!

  14. All I have to say is WOOO HOOOO!!!!

  15. I love road races πŸ™‚ It’s such fun to run with others and the “free” tshirt rocks! Good luck in your training and race! Too cool!

  16. YAY for you! That’s so exciting. I really like the 3 day training plan too. I have always wanted to run a race but I haven’t taken the plunge and signed up for one. There are few 5k in my area this fall. Maybe I should give one a shot πŸ™‚

  17. Great job on your run! πŸ™‚

    I’ve only ran 5Ks and a 10K…which I love! I find the momentum of a big crowd during a race gives you SO much energy! You’ll have a blast!

    The 3 day training plan sounds good! It’s enough to train, but not too much that you’re overdoing it.

  18. So awesome that you’re doing this!! I was just getting into a routine with running over the summer, but now that i’ve moved into my new apartment and getting ready for school, I’ve kind of lost that routine. If (i mean.. when) I start getting back into the routine I might consider doing a 5k or 10k. I need your motivation πŸ™‚ Good luck training.. I’m sure you’re going to love it!

  19. I’ve only done some 5Ks but they were all so much fun (other than the last one where I injured my ankle). If I’m ever cleared to run again I’d love to work up to a 10k!

  20. sara @ the foodie diaries

    YAY good for you! If I had the motivation to do a race I would, but I’m still building up to actually ENJOYING running πŸ˜‰

  21. Yay! Congrats and good for you. I’ve run in lots of races and I always feel such a sense of accomplishment after.

    Can’t wait to hear all about it!

  22. Yay, good for you! Races are so much fun and you feel great afterwards. I have run 2 half marathons, and want to run a marathon eventually!

  23. Good Luck with your training. I like to follow a training schedule too- it helps me stay motivated. I am actually starting a 10k training schedule in a couple of weeks. Looking forward to it.

  24. Ahh good luck! I am so proud of you for doing this Lindsay πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

