Cooper Gets a Bath

Hi guys!! Sorry I’ve been MIA thus far today…one of my best friends from college was in town and I got to spend the entire day with her :).

Thank you all so much for your support and encouragement about me running a 10k! It means so much!

So last night we had to give Cooper a bath. Now, as is fairly common knowledge, cats hate water. When I was petting Coop the other day I noticed a bunch of scab-like bumps around his neck. We wanted to make sure that Cooper didn’t have fleas so we decided to give him a bath- apparently fleas are much easier to spot if the cat is wet.

Cooper was not at all happy about being held down and getting super wet…but he did such a good job! I was so proud of my little baby :).

As soon as we had him rinsed off, Cooper tried to run away, but we didn’t want him getting water everywhere so we dried him off really good with a few towels.

Awww…he’s such a cutie :). He was licking himself pretty much the rest of the night after that bath. Cooper already has really soft fur, but I think it may actually be even softer after last night’s experience!

——————-

As I said earlier, Rae, one of my best friend’s came to visit today! She is currently in PA school in New York City and she has a couple weeks off before she goes back. Rae and I attended college together and were in the same sorority!

Rae got to my house today around noon. We started chatting away and finally decided to go to Panera for lunch. After lunch we went to the mall. You see, I have a friend’s wedding to attend on Saturday and I don’t really have a dress to wear. Sadly, after trying several on at Forever 21 and H&M I didn’t find one :(. Oh well.

We came back to my house after our mall excursion and sat on my couch and talked for several hours. It was so amazing to talk to her and catch up on all of the intimate details of our lives that we don’t get to share on the phone. I love that Rae and I are able to pick up right where we left off even though we don’t get to see one another that often. She is a friend that I will always have in my life! We can talk about anything and everything- nothing is too “scandalous” or gross or personal. I am so grateful for the friendship we have!

Rae had to leave around 6:30, so we went to an early dinner with my mom and one of her friends. I’m hoping we will be able to see each other again soon! I’d love to get to NYC again before I’m done with school!

I didn’t get to workout today, but I’m hoping that will just give me fresh legs for my long run that is scheduled for tomorrow. I’m supposed to run 8 miles? Thank god it’s at a really really slow pace. There is no way I could do that distance fast haha. I think that this plan is having me run that far so I can build up endurance and be able to run the 10k with ease by the time race day comes.

Hope you guys have a great night! Can you believe that it’s already Friday again tomorrow?

 

Questions

If you have a cat, have you ever given it a bath? How did it react?

Are you able to easily reconnect with friends that you don’t see too often?

 

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on August 25, 2011, in Friends, Life, Pets. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Rae is such a pretty name!

    Haha & Cooper looks so upset 😦 That reminds me of when I used to try to bathe my cat Sneakies and he would just NOT have it at all. I’m pretty sure I have some battle wounds from the whole experience.

  2. oh my gosh, I have never given my cat a bath – am I supposed to?! haha I think she would claw my eyeballs out!

  3. Awwr poor Cooper! I’ve never had a cat, but my pup doesn’t like getting baths either. I feel so bad for her because she looks like someone is trying to drown her while she’s in the tub, but she has no problem jumping into a lake or river. Weirdo.

    And that’s so great that you had an awesome time with Rae! You know it’s a true friendship when you can just pick up and start talking like no time at all has passed πŸ˜€

  4. I have friends from high school that I see every once in a while and we’re able to pick up where we left off.. it’s the best thing ever!

    I don’t have a cat because i’m very allergic… but I used to have to wash the dog and he hated it!!

  5. What a beautiful kitty, and even adorable when getting bathed! The first time we gave my cat a bath several years ago, he nearly clawed my mom’s arm off! It’s safe to say he doesn’t like water at all haha
    Good luck on the run tomorrow, you will rock it girl πŸ™‚

  6. Those pictures of your cat are hilarious! My cat weighs 30lbs and has diabetes, the only bath we’ve ever tortured him with was an accidental one. So awesome that you got to see your friend! Mine all went to school in Boston and I was on the other end of the state, but hopefully I’ll get to start seeing them more now that I’m spending more time in Boston πŸ™‚

  7. Ahh…! I have never given a cat a bath – we usually left that *fun* job to our dad. Ha! πŸ™‚

  8. Your little man is too cute! I’m glad the bath went well! πŸ™‚

    One of my best friends lives in VA and I talk with her often online. The other is in Africa and sadly we don’t get to connect much. However, when we do it’s like she never left. Friends like that are such a blessing! Love it!

  9. I think one of the best ways to tell how close you are with someone is to see what it’s like when you get together after not having been around each other for awhile. I have a few friends where we can leave right where we left off even though we haven’t seen each other for months!

  10. healthycollegegirl

    I love friends that you can not see for a while but pick up right where you left off when you eventually do. One of my close friends from elementary/middle school is like that:) good luck on your long run girl!

  11. sara @ the foodie diaries

    Hahahaha oh my gosh that looks like quite a task trying to give Cooper a bath! I don’t have a cat but when I give my pups baths they just stand in the bathtub and shake. They don’t really like water! We tried putting them in the pool once and they FREAKED OUT. Maybe they’re really cats at heart? πŸ˜‰

  12. My cats would absolutely murder me if I ever tried to do that to them.

Leave a Reply

