Not Meant for Speed and A Pasta Recipe

Hi guys! 🙂

Yesterday was one long ass day of driving. It took us about 12 hours and 30 minutes to get from Ohio to Boston. Let’s just say I was really sick of driving!

Thankfully I unpacked all of my stuff last night. I just didn’t want to deal with it this morning. A lot of the day was spent getting me settled again. My mom and I woke up and since I didn’t have any food in the house, we ran over to Whole Foods and just got the breakfast necessities- coffee, creamer, oatmeal, peanut butter, and bananas.

Oh my gosh, I bought the So Delicious Coconut Milk Creamer in french vanilla flavor and it really was sooo delicious ;). I’ve never had it before and I will definitely be buying this from now on!

After breakfast we went to the gym and I had my first “speed work” day for my 10k training. Let’s just say it didn’t work out so well. I don’t think my stomach can handle me running very fast for much longer than 2 minutes. I was supposed to run a total of 4 miles which included- a warm-up jog, 3x800m in 4:15min with 3x400m recovery jogs, and a cool-down jog.

The first 800m at a faster pace was fine. The second one, I felt like I had severe burning in my stomach, but I pushed through it. The third one, I had to run much slower and after that the rest of my run felt like absolute crap. I finished the entire 4 miles but I did not feel good at the end. My stomach felt like it was going up into my chest, my mouth was incredibly dry, I almost felt like I wanted to throw up….AND my face was the reddest color I have seen in a really long time. I’m pretty sure my 8 mile run last Friday felt way better than this one did.

So, maybe I shouldn’t really focus on speed work? I mean, I’m not trying to increase my speed…I just want to finish the 10k and feel good at the end.

Anyhoo…after working out, taking our showers, and eating lunch we went to the grocery store to stock me up. So excited to have my cabinet and area of the fridge/freezer full :).

Tonight my mom, roommate Kelly, and I made a fabulous dinner! Once again, I used my “The Best of Clean Eating” cookbook.

Chicken Pomodoro Angel Hair Pasta

Serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1 box whole wheat angel hair pasta
  • 9 baby carrots, roughly chopped
  • Olive oil
  • 1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breast tenderloins
  • 1 medium yellow onion, finely diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 lb fresh Roma tomatoes, seeded and coarsely chopped
  • 1 tsp Italian seasoning
  • 2 Tbsp dried basil
  • Sea salt and fresh ground black pepper, to taste
  • 2 oz low-fat feta cheese, crumbled
  • 4 Tbsp minced Italian flat-leaf parsley

Directions

  1. Cook pasta according to package directions. Drain and set aside, keep warm.
  2. Bring a small pot of water to boil. Boil chopped carrots for about 8 minutes- this is to make them tender. Set aside.
  3. Set a large nonstick skillet over high heat for one minute. Drizzle with olive oil and add chicken. Saute chicken for about 3-4 minutes per side or until browned and cooked through. Remove chicken from heat, let rest for about a minute, then cut into chunks.
  4. Heat same skillet again over high heat for 1 minute. Reduce heat to medium, add more olive oil and add onion and garlic. Saute for about 5 minutes or until onion is translucent. Add tomatoes and cook for another 5 minutes. Remove from heat.
  5. In a food processor, roughly puree carrots and onion-tomato mixture or pulse for about 2-3 minutes. Pour sauce into a medium-size pot and heat over medium heat. Stir in Italian seasoning and basil and season with salt and pepper.
  6. Mix pasta, chicken, and sauce in one large bowl. Garnish with parsley and feta cheese.

Our cute little dinner table!

This pasta was so light and fresh tasting! It was very tasty :).

I hope you’re all having a great night!

 

Questions:

Do you bother with speed work if you aren’t trying to increase your running pace?

What is your favorite kind of pasta?

 

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on August 30, 2011, in Dinner, Recipe, Running. Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. That’s an adorable table, and a delicious looking meal. I hate those 12 (or 12+) hour drives. I basically either lose all sense of time OR just lose my mind. My favorite pasta is normally the tri-shape with tubes, twirls, and shells. I know there are fancy Italian names for those, but I call it like I see it.

  2. That pasta looks great.. i love anything with feta cheese! I eat pasta way too often, but I’m so boring.. my favorite pasta dish is my grandma’s italian pasta sauce (maybe it’s my favorite just because theres meaning behind it!). Oh and i love vodka penne. yum.

  3. I love fresh flowers on a dinner table! Loving that pasta also…

    I definitely can’t run after I eat, I get so crampy! Even water sometimes gets me. I gotta be careful!
    i want to try coconut milk so badly…and that creamer.

  4. Yay glad you made it! The bf is moving to Davis on Thursday.

    What did you eat before running? My stomach can’t handle oatmeal or bananas before running, but I tolerate them fine otherwise. Maybe play around? Honestly I never work on my speed, but I probably should!

  5. Awwwr sweetest looking dinner spread EVER! And that pasta sounds super tasty. I need to start making more actual meals from that Clean Eating cookbook. The only things that I’ve been making so far have been the desserts lol. I need to branch out. And as for pasta… does Mac&Cheese count? I’m actually not the biggest fan of pasta, but I absolutely adore Mac&Cheese.

  6. Yum, your pasta looks great! My favorite pasta is black ink pasta puttanesca with scallops from The Daily Catch restaurant in Boston. unbeatable!

  7. The dinner you made looks great! Cute table setup too! And it looks like something I could make for my boyfriend. Lately I’ve been getting him to try new healthy things and he’s liked all of it surprisingly. 🙂

  8. Oh.my.goodness. I had no idea there was such thing as coconut milk creamer!! I’m totally buying it pronto.

    Also, your pasta looks amazing! I honestly have a hard time choosing my favorite kind of pasta… I am in love with any kind of stuffed pasta (ravioli, tortellini, stuffed shells, etc.), and a good alfredo or pesto sauce is always a winner.

  9. That looks like an amazing dish! i’d love to try it now that i’m living on my own. my fav pasta is either angel hair, or elbow macaroni. random, i know!

  10. psh, if I didn’t care about my pace, I really wouldn’t do ANY speedwork. the only time I’d high-tail it is if I’m trying to burn fat faster (and to do so, intervals are key). 😉

  11. I have never trained for speed. For me it is all about finishing. I don’t run very often so when I do I just want to finish the workout.

    I love anything pasta. I think my favorite, for now, is pesto. YUM!

  12. I’m the same way–hate to have the unpacking hanging over my head! Glad you made it back to Boston safely. 🙂

    For the speed work, I’d say don’t give up on it just yet. Try hydrating well before and after. It sounds like you need more H2O in your system. I’d aim for 2-3 32 oz. bottles of water a day (that’s what I drink & I could do more!). Also, I’d try something different for breakfast, like gel blocks or maybe a Clif bar. I know you like to eat first thing, but what helps me most is doing that kind of work on an empty stomach. My alternative is to workout in the late afternoon right before dinner. I will have a spoonful of almond butter or a Clif Z bar (the ones for kids) about an hour or 2 beforehand and it usually works out well. Good luck! 😀

  13. That recipe sounds really good!
    When I was training for a race I didn’t really focus on speed. I just kinda did what I felt comfortable with and concentrated on breathing.
    My favorite pasta- and prob fav food- is baked ziti. Mmm so cheesy and delicious!

  14. sara @ the foodie diaries

    Okay it may be lunch time over here at my office, but that pasta looks AMAZING! My stomach is actually grumbling as I read this 🙂

  15. I wouldn’t give up on the speed workouts just yet, I mean only if you still truly want to! They are so freakin tough and take a ton of effort, but the pay off is awesome. They make such a difference in races and allow you to power through workouts as time goes on. These types of workouts are quite demanding so it may just be your body adjusting!
    And that recipe is so pretty looking! And tasty I am sure 🙂

  16. I always try to include it every now and then. I’m not a competitive runner, but I don’t want to get slower or stay where I’m at either. Doing it is a pain in the butt, but I think its worth it in the end.

    And the pasta looks delicious!

  17. I’m glad you got back to Boston! I think you shouldn’t give up on the speed work…don’t get discouraged! It’s part of training, but doesn’t have to be the biggest part!

  18. Ugh, sorry to hear your speed workout didn’t go so well 😦 I hate those feelings. Yuck!
    BUT, you could TOTALLY send some of that pasta THIS way 😉 Looks delicious!!!

  19. I’m sorry the speed work didn’t suit you. Better luck next time! I’ve only done one 10k, and I only ran 6 miles before the race one or two times, but never more than 6. I also didn’t do any speed work. I was thrilled with my time, but you’re inspiring me to try it again!

  20. I’m with you on the speed thing, Lindsay. I’d say for now, just focus on finishing. The more I’ve been reading, the more convinced I am that I’m not going to worry about speed until I’ve been running for at least a year. I want to give my body time to adjust and not risk injury!

  21. Dinner Looks DELICIOUS! Jealous 🙂

    I took inspiration from you this summer and finally created my own blog! Thank you for starting this and giving me hope that I can do it too!

  22. healthycollegegirl

    glad you arrived safely! 🙂 that pasta looks fantastic.
    i haven’t done a ton of speedwork, but usually my legs are the only things that really suffer. it definitely takes me a lot of practice before i can build my speed too much!

  23. Speed work takes time. Start slow and work your way up to faster speeds!

Leave a Reply

