Introducing CJ!

Hi everyone!

I’m sorry I didn’t post yesterday. I really just didn’t feel like it, and I didn’t want to write a crappy post just for the sake of having one. Also, when my mom leaves tomorrow I’ll get back to posting more regular topics…hope you don’t mind!

Yesterday my mom, my roommate Kelly, and I went and walked around downtown Boston for a while. It was an absolutely gorgeous day! Boston Common was looking especially pretty :).

My Mom and I

Kelly and I!

After walking around the common for a bit, we headed to The Old Granary- one of the historical cemeteries that is part of the Freedom Trail.  It was so cool seeing such old tombstones and the ones of several famous individuals!

Last night I made my first Mama Pea reci”pea” :). It was fabulous!! We had the “Tempeh Chili” from her book Peas and Thank You.

I had actually never had tempeh before and I was pleasantly surprised! It didn’t taste gross at all haha. Actually, I couldn’t tell that it was fake meat, so I definitely think I’ll be making this again! My mom and two roommates both liked it as well :).

And today….well, today, I got a kitten!!!

I decided to name him CJ 😀

You see, his hair is kind of “gingerish”, and my bf Chris is a ginger as well- so CJ stands for Chris Junior. You can call me weird, but I like it.

My mom and I drove to get CJ earlier today. He is 5 months old and extremely scared to be in a new place. He was at a foster home with his mother, so I’m sure he’s super freaked out by being away from her too. I just hope he warms up to me soon because he keeps hiding under my bed and all I want to do is love on him!

I am so excited to have a pet of my very own :). I went and bought him a bunch of stuff- litter box, food, toys, scratching post, etc. I think he’s so stinkin’ cute. And once I get him in my arms, he just stays there and lets me pet him for as long as I want!

Also, CJ is a special kitty. He is what is known as a Hemingway Polydactyl. He has extra toes and therefore it looks like he has mittens for his front paws. It’s adorable :).

Okay, I’m gonna go love on him some more. Hope you’re all having a fabulous night!

 

Questions:

Do you have an animal of your own? What do you love most about having one?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on September 1, 2011, in Boston, Pets. Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. Awww, CJ is darling! We don’t have any pets – super strict apartment rules. We’re moving next summer, so we’d like to find a pet-friendly place!

  2. I do not mind AT ALL! It’s good to take a day of blogging sometimes, and it’s better to have no post than a crappy one.

    Congrats on the kitten!!! Ahh, I love kitties! I’m excited for you, and CJ 🙂 What a cute little muffin.
    Looks like you had an awesome day also!

  3. I think it’s cute that you named him after your boyfriend :). I don’t have any pets, but I’m allergic to pet hair, so it wouldn’t work too well anyway!

  4. Oh my gosh! He’s so cute!! I’m not much of a cat person, but I think I can make an exception for that lil guy!! 🙂 I don’t have my own pet yet, but I’m dreaming of the day when my bf and I get puppies!! He wants to get two puppies at the same time so they can have someone to “hang out with”. Haha! 🙂

  5. I think a day off is necessary once in a while.. definitely better to not post than to write one that’s not so great!

    I used to think I wasn’t a cat person, but I’ve recently decided I like them – I just happen to be allergic. My eyes kind of swell shut if I touch one or get near the fur. It’s a little bit of a problem. I’m not allergic to dogs, though and I want one so bad!

  6. Awww, such a cutie! Good for you for rescuing him! I have a 30lb diabetic (old) cat. I love him to pieces, I miss him now that I don’t live at home.

    And OMG, I’ve never made a recipea I didn’t love!

  7. That’s great that you rescued him. 🙂 When I went to Key West, there were lots of cats with extra toesies!

  8. You got a kitten! Gush! What a cutie! And I thought I noticed something different about his paws in that first picture, but I didn’t know it was a special type of cat. My friend had one of those as well, and his kitty paws were huge and extremely adorable. I’m sure that CJ will warm up to you soon, how could he not? You’re such a sweetheart 😀

  9. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Aw what an adorable little kitten! CJ is the perfect name for him– I’m sure Chris was more than flattered haha 😉

    I do have a dog back at home in Miami, but while I’m up at school I pretend that my roommates cat Bella is partially mine haha

  10. CJ is so cute! and girlfriend, I LOVE your hair straight!

  11. So. stinkin. cute! CJ is a great name 🙂 Enjoy having your own pet, they bring so much joy!

  12. You got a cat!!! I love CJ already.

    Also…in June I was in Boston! We have practically the same Boston pics! I love the Boston Public Garden…so nice.

  13. well helllo CJ!! he will keep you warm at night! I have a dog and I don’t know what I’d do without her.

    Now about that first sentence, never apologize for not posting. Your busy and have lots to enjoy!!

  14. Aww how sweet! My husband and I adopted a kitty last year, we love her!! I also got a dog when I was in college and still have him. Pets are so wonderful!!

  15. CJ is so cute! i love his little paws. i adopted a very fat cat last year & she has been a wonderful addition to my life. congrats!

  16. Little CJ is adorable! How fun! I have thought about getting a kitty many times during grad school. They just seem so snuggly!!

  17. great blog! I’m actually from the boston area but currently living down south because of my husbands job… I MISS HOME especially in the fall!! Looking forward to reading more

  1. Pingback: Sleepy Time « In Sweetness and In Health

Leave a Reply

