Sleepy Time

Hello everyone :).

It’s an absolutely beautiful day here in Boston! The sun is shining, there are very few clouds, and it’s a nice temp (in the low 70s). After taking my mom to the airport this morning, my roommates and I decided to soak up some rays in our barely there backyard. I got way too hot after about an hour and then came back inside haha. Even though it isn’t that warm out, sitting directly in the sun makes it feel much hotter!

CJ is still incredibly scared today, and he won’t come out of my closet unless I grab him and pick him up :(. He also hasn’t eaten or had any water…I’m getting kind of worried! I know he’s probably just really freaked out about being in a new place and being taken from his momma, but it’s breaking my heart to see him so frightened!

Anyway, the first two nights that my mom and I were in Boston this week, I slept like absolute crap. I couldn’t fall asleep and then I woke up multiple times during the night and had difficulty going back to sleep afterward. Both of the following days I felt like crap too. My energy was very low, my muscles were tired (and they had no reason to be), I was kind of on the grumpier side, and overall I just felt really blah. I was once again reminded of how important sleep is to me.

I am a person who needs a lot of sleep. Actually, about 9 hours a night is right where I feel the best. Anymore or less than that and I am fatigued all day long. I realize that a lot of people can get by perfectly fine with 6-8 hours of sleep a night. I can’t….at all. I’ve tried. When I get less than 9 hours a night consistently, I start to get sick. My throat will get sore and other “cold-like” symptoms will start to develop.

Also, when I am really tired from a lack of sleep, my workouts are crappy and my healthy eating goes down the drain. If I’m tired I tend to crave more junk food and since my mind isn’t well-rested I’m more likely to give in to those cravings. And well, if that happens a lot I just don’t feel good about myself.

I consider sleep an extremely important part of life- and not just any life, but a healthy one. A lot of people are surprised that I am able to get 9 hours of sleep most nights even while being in graduate school. Yes, I work my ass off and I study a lot. But I also know that if I don’t get my sleep, then all that studying won’t pay off for exams and my work will not be the best. I make sleep a priority.

A lot of my friends actually make fun of me because I tend to go to bed early, even on the weekends. Sure, on occasion I’ll stay up really late when we go out to the bars or something, but my body just isn’t made to do that all the time. I get way too tired, and it isn’t usually something I can snap out of. And frankly, I just really don’t want to feel bad the next day either. I want to be able to approach my days with a refreshed mind and body :).

And speaking of late nights- tonight will probably be one. A group of us are planning to go out in downtown Boston. I haven’t had a late night in a while, so this will be fun! And I have no obligations tomorrow so I can sleep as late as I like to ensure I get enough hours of zzz’s.

Hope you all are having wonderful Fridays!

 

Questions:

How much sleep do you tend to get?

Are you able to stay up really late all the time?

 

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on September 2, 2011, in About Me, Health. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I’m the same way you are in that I need my beauty rest! šŸ™‚ If I don’t get 8-8.5 hours of sleep, I am not my best the next day. It’s refreshing to know I’m not the only one because sometimes I feel “not normal” for needing more than 6-7 hours! Have fun tonight!

  2. You took the words out of my mouth Lindsay. I’m the same way- can’t function without sleep. I’m usually the one of the first to leave when I’m out with friends! I start falling asleep and can’t snap out of it. I like to start the next day refreshed too, I hate feeling sluggish.

  3. I feel like I could have written this whole thing… i am the EXACT same way! Even down to friends making fun because I go to sleep early even on the weekends! I study my booty off but when 11 rolls around I HAVE to go to bed.. especially if the test is the next day! My friends will stay up really late studying and I just can’t do that!

  4. I have to get at least 8 hours of sleep a night otherwise I am completely useless! I get made fun of so often, but oh well, I just like my sleep way too much to get any less!

  5. Congrats on the new kitty!! šŸ™‚

    I try to get a solid 8 hours of sleep … which is difficult when I often have to wake up at 5:15 am (and therefore have to go to sleep at 9:15).

    I’m someone who needs both good sleep and good food. Otherwise, you do not want to be around me. šŸ˜‰

  6. Everything you’ve said is exactly the same with me!
    I used to always stay up late, go out and all that but I just can’t.
    I need my sleep as well. Even though I can definitely get up early and get by with at LEAST 7 hours of sleep, whenever I have more I feel the best. I love sleeping and I definitely get called a grandma because of it šŸ™‚

  7. Oh girl, I’m definitely feeling you on needing sleep big time. I’m an absolute wreck if I don’t get enough. I get grumpy, cold, hungry, and just tend to have a bad day. My workouts suffer a lot too, as does my motivation to do pretty much anything. And I find that if it continues for too long, my digestion starts going all wonky as well. Yeah. Sleep is super, super important to me, which is why I’ve kind of become one of those people who refuses to stay up late lol. I’m pretty much always in bed by 10, even if I’m not that tired. It’s weird because I used to stay up until 1 or 2 every night, but I just can’t do it anymore. I prefer going to bed early and waking up early… and not being a bear for the entire day!

  8. I’m with you on the 9 hours thing! I have friends who say they only need somewhere around 6, but I can usually see the evidence…grouchiness, tiredness, etc. šŸ™‚

  9. I can function on 6-7 once I get into a routine. If not, I feel dead at even 8 hours of sleep. It’s weird how your body gets into a rhythm. Thinking back, i have no idea how i averaged 5 hours of sleep per night in high school, but my body was probably just so used to it!

  10. I definitely need 8-9 hours to feel my best. It never happens on a weekday because I wake up so early for work, but I catch up on the weekends šŸ™‚

  11. 9 hours is definitely my ideal too. Since I started working and waking up early, I’ve been getting closer to 8 hours, and it’s not great. I’ve been known to sleep for 10-11 per night if left to my own devices.

    Sleep just feels soooo good! Definitely excited for the long weekend šŸ™‚

  12. I need about 9 or more hours of sleep to feel good in the morning! I am an early to bed early to rise person!

  13. I’ll almost always choose sleep over going out or staying up late!!

  14. Great news that young people cant function without 8-9 hours of sleep. I’m 52 and am in extrodinary shape – runner, lift weights, play sports, etc, etc. They say as you age you do not need as much when the reality is you just dont sleep as well and wake up too early so you have to go to bed soooo early. Now I know why older people eat dinner at 5pm! I was cruising along , looked much younger than my years and hit menopause and wow! Today I felt so bad I had to come home from work. Could not function at all – eyes hurt so bad, uncomfortable, cold, hungry, achy, miserable! I went to bed at 9 , awoke once, then awake at 5am. Was NOT enough sleep! All day I was wondering if something is wrong with me. Yet when I get 8.5-9 I’m great. I feel really down when I dont get enough sleep and feel this way & that is not the normal me. People have always made fun of me too – dont care. And the fact that I workout alot means I really have to repair my body!

Leave a Reply

