Why I Chose OT

Happy Labor Day :D.

I’m so happy today is a holiday because that means that classes don’t start til tomorrow! Since my busy grad school schedule is starting up again I may not be able to post every day anymore. This makes me sad because blogging is something I’ve come to love so much! However, I also don’t want it to feel like a chore and stress myself out over having time to do it.

Tuesdays and Thursdays are my busier class days. I was thinking that I would set up a blogging “schedule” so that you guys no which days I will be posting. I would like to do 3 days during the week and one weekend day, so Monday, Wednesday, Friday, and then either Saturday or Sunday. If I have an exam or some crazy busy week, those days may change, but I’ll try to let you guys know!

I hope this isn’t a problem…and I hope you all will still read because I love you :).

Ok, now in an effort to get me motivated for classes (if that’s even possible) I thought I’d share with you why I decided to choose occupational therapy as a career path.

First off, what is occupational therapy? People always ask me if it’s helping people get jobs…no, it’s not.

  • Occupation itself can be defined in many ways, but essentially, it covers all of the daily activities that an individual participates in and that have meaning or value to them.
  • Occupation can include emotional, psychological, and physically observable “activities”.
  • Occupational therapy helps people participate in the activities they want and need to do. Therapy occurs through the use of everyday activities- so, instead of helping a person who has difficulty feeding themself through the use of strength or fine motor skill exercises, you could actually create a therapeutic intervention that involves feeding oneself and you would adapt the process to their needs.

Why did I choose OT?

I’ve always wanted to be in a profession where I was helping others. Originally, I wanted to be a doctor but my heart was never fully in it. Then I thought about nursing, but when I thought about why I wanted to do it, I couldn’t really think of any good reasons. I think that’s because I just couldn’t see myself only interacting with a person on a medical level…I wanted to have more of an interaction with a patient. I also thought about physical therapy, but after interning at rehab facility for people with spinal cord injuries, I recognized that I was always wanting to do more than just help with movement related functions.

That was when I discovered occupational therapy. My best friend was applying to PT schools and she suggested that I shadow an OT. I did, and completely fell in love with the field.

Here are some of the sentences from my personal statement that I used when applying to grad school:

My desire to become a doctor lessened as I realized I wanted to assist people not just physically, but mentally and emotionally to enable them to achieve full and functional lives. When I discovered that occupational therapy deals with each of these components, I fell in love with the field.

Occupational therapy is appealing because its approach in increasing quality of life is holistic, and it will be rewarding to help patients with their complications in unique and creative ways that are meaningful to them.

In a hospital inpatient rehab center, I observed an elderly woman recovering from a brain tumor work on regaining her ability to grocery shop. In an elementary school, I saw a boy with schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, and autism work on sensory integration and fine motor skills. I was fascinated by how therapeutic practices were customized for the physical, psychological and emotional needs of the individual.

Another thing that I love about OT is that there is great deal of variety in what you can do.

  • An OT can work with all age ranges.
  • Job settings include, but are not limited to: hospitals, private practice, school, nursing home, in-home, office/industry
  • Areas of practice can include: physical dysfunction, psychological dysfunction, driving rehab, ergonomics, assistive devices and technology, pain management, work rehab, etc.

This is a great thing for me because I tend to change my mind a lot…so I don’t think I will ever get bored with all of the things in my field :).

Anyway, I just wanted to give you guys an insight into why I’m in grad school for OT! Hope you all have fabulous Labor Days!

 

Questions:

Are you okay with me changing my posting schedule?

Had you ever heard of OT before? What did you think it was?

What do you want to do with your life?

 

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on September 5, 2011, in About Me, Blogging. Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. ahh I’m SOOO happy you posted this! I was really curious as to why you chose it 🙂 I, of course have heard of it because 1) my sister is an OT at a hospital and 2) I’m going to school for speech therapy and OT PT and speech are all kind intertwined! And I definitely change my mind a lot too, so I’m grateful to have SO many options as to where I can work.

    I may be changing my schedule too… once I start working I’ll have a lot less time to devote to the blog. So.. i completely understand! I will still read yours each week 🙂

  2. I really enjoyed this post! I have considered going into OT, so I love reading things about it. I will love to continue about your journey as an occupational therapist!:)

  3. I really really enjoyed this post Lindsay! I don’t know very much about OT but it was great getting to know what you are planning to do and love what you do as well 🙂

  4. Good luck with your career path! I wish I could figure out which path I want to head down. 😉 I think your posting schedule is perfectly fine!! What works for you is best because that’s when you’ll have the most inspiration to write a post. 🙂

  5. healthycollegegirl

    Nice work figuring out a blogging schedule! I am so all over the place…I should do that! 🙂 I had heard of OT, but never really knew what it was. That’s so great that you found exactly what you want to do and have such a passion for it. You rock, girl. Can’t wait to hear from you MWF! Those are my less busy days too so that works great!

  6. You need to have a blogging schedule that works for you- it’s completely understandable! When I started working full time I had to cut back on blogging. It makes me kind of sad, but I had to do it in order to have a life! OT sounds like a great field to go into!

  7. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    This is a great intro post into your profession, Lindsay! I agree– you will have a wide variety of options as far as where you work and what exactly you do. It sounds like a great field 🙂

    As far as the blogging schedule, don’t push yourself to do anything out of your comfort zone and you make school your #1 priority! I will be here waiting for you whenever you do decide to post 🙂 A schedule would be a great idea so that I know when to keep my eyes peeled for an update

  8. I ditto what Brittany said about your blogging schedule. And I can completely relate. Husband and I were having a similar conversation last night. Since I’ve started working again, sometimes blogging feels more like a chore than a fun activity. And I want it to continue to be a FUN thing! So I’m debating if I’m going to cut back or not.

    And I think OT is an awesome profession. I love the OT’s I work with in the schools, and I’m a little jealous of the neat things they get to do! 😉

  9. That is a perfect reason for you to want to get into Occupational Therapy. It sounds like the perfect career for you 🙂 This post kinda made ME want to get into it too! haha

    I feel ya on blogging. I am so busy at work right now, so finding the time has been tricky. But I keep reminding myself it is a HOBBY and I am not going to get stressed out about a hobby. Work though, I am slightly stressed about that…

  10. I also chose a profession where I am helping others, and it definitely makes your work life a heck of a lot more rewarding when you know that you’re doing something for others. I totally cracked up when you said that people think OT is about helping people get jobs. Great informational post! ❤

  11. I love that you chose OT 🙂 I really admire people who are in that field…helping people is such a fulfilling career!

  12. OT is such an kind and beautiful career path to choose, I’m sure it will be sooo rewarding. My friend has actually just finished a degree to be and OT and she really enjoyed learning about all the different types of activities and professional therapy techniques.
    I totally get you with wanting variety, that’s why I chose teaching – not one day will ever be the same. Great post!

  13. absolutely love your quotes from your personal statement! I also love that some people actually think OT is helping people get jobs..lol what the heck
    you bring up a very good point about blogging schedules…my grad school work is insanely busy and I find myself posting all over the place and probably losing readers as a result. I’ll have to follow your lead and create a schedule 🙂

  14. I’m in the same boat! I go back to teaching tomorrow after the whole Summer off. It’s tough and I know I won’t be able to blog as much. I’ll def keep reading your blog, I love it!

  15. My best friend is a PT and works in a rehab hospital with OT, so I’ve gotten to meet a few. It’s funny to hear all their stories about patients. It’s so great you’ve found a career path that you love. I’ve just started mine in the past week. I’m so happy I found a job after grad school that I think will be a perfect start to a career. I understand how you feel about a blogging schedule, my new job will definitely make it harder to try to post every day. I didn’t start blogging until my last summer of grad school, so I didn’t have to worry about fitting it in with classes, since my last class was a professional paper done through an online class. Good luck with classes!

  16. Yay for OT!!! Great post…super informational and I love your description of why you chose OT!!

    Do you know what area calls you most at this point? I essentially went into OT thinking pads as I have a special place for working with kiddos but I am currently in the acute care setting, which I never say myself in…but things always have a way of working out and happen for a reason! 🙂 I am also going to be filling in for an OT while she is on maternity leave working w/ kiddos 0-12 in their home starting mid October..super excited!! 🙂

    Hope you first week of classes are fabulous!!

  17. Your schedule changes are fine! Remember, this is YOUR blog .. you rule the show 😀
    Great post! OT sounds like such a great fit for you, I’m sure you’ll do great!

  18. Good for you for choosing such a rewarding career path! It sounds like you’re in it for all the right reasons 🙂

    I’m a PhD student right now, but I have no idea what I want to do with my life! I’m considering different options, so we’ll see!

  19. Just as long as you don’t disappear! I love reading your blog too much 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  20. Sounds like a great fit for you 🙂

  21. Glad you found something you love. I work in a similar field but it’s not my passion. Not that work should have to be of course…but it’s a big part of life. And I would prefer to spend most of it happy if possible 😉

    Good luck with your studies!

  22. My sister got her OT degree at Tufts, and loves her work. I am starting up grad school, too, and feel ya on the whole posting-thing. I have to remind myself why I started blogging, and not beat myself up if I miss a day. It’s supposed to be fun, after all! 🙂

Leave a Reply

