Wine and Dine – Grad School Style

Where has the weekend gone? Wasn’t it just Friday?? Now that school has started again I feel like time is flying by…except for when I’m studying or doing work. Then it seems like time is crawling at a snail’s pace haha.

Anyhoo…last night my friends and I went to a dinner party! My roommate’s boyfriend hosted us and made all of the delicious food which included: homemade ravioli with eggplant pesto and pinenuts, eggplant rolls- one vegetarian and one with meat, and a vegetarian capanata. For starters we had some type of amazing bruschetta and dessert was chocolate fondue with strawberries and figs as the dippers! Yum yum yum. It was all fabulous!

The cook!

My not so great pictures of the food haha-

 

And yes, lots of wine was consumed…in classy mini solo cups. Hey, don’t judge- we’re grad students! I bought a bottle of red wine that I thought was fabulous and it was a really good price. It was a bottle of Cupcake Vineyards Merlot….seriously, it was so good!

Source

It was a very fun night hanging out with friends- wining and dining :D.

Roommies!!

Random bathroom pic haha

"Ian...make a funny face"

A fabulous night :D.

—————–

I started this morning off right with my standard breakfast of oatmeal with pb, banana, and cinnamon…and of course a steaming cup of coffee.

And then I headed to the gym and completed this strength training workout.

Now, it’s time to spend the day doing a lot of school work. Booo…

Hope you all have a fantastic Sunday!! ❤

 

Questions:

What is your favorite type of wine?

Do you and your friends ever have dinner parties?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on September 18, 2011, in Dinner, Friends, Life. Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. I’m a white wine girl- particularly Pinot 🙂

    I love those chill kinds of nights- good food, good friends. And please, wine out of solo cups is a frequent occurrence with my roomies and I 🙂

    Have a great Sunday! I’m doing work all day too…

  2. Looks like a good time.

    I LOVE wine. Fave is red, usually merlot, but I’m not picky. I am not really a fan of fruity wines or ice wines though.

    My friends and I have a lot of cookout parties in the summa, but definitely not enough dinner parties! I am going to need to talk to them about this.

  3. aw how fun!! i LOVE cupcake wine. my dad actually owns a winery so we really only drink his wine now, but my sister and i still have cupcake every once in a while 🙂

  4. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Aw it looks like you had a great time! And hey, solo cups are the best way to have wine 😉

    My favorite wine would have to be something sweet. Maybe moscato?

  5. Cupcake merlot is great!! Good choice!

    Looks like a fun time you had with friends! U looked pretty!

    Happy Sunday!

  6. Looks like such a fun evening! 🙂 All the food sounds delish.. I think I need to become friends with this cook! 😉

  7. Awe, so fun! Just catching up on blog reading & loving your new look! So cute!

    I love cabernet–big, rich, flavorful wine is my fav! We don’t usually do dinner parties, but I’ll make dinner with one or two friends from time to time. I like smaller groups better because then I feel like I get to talk to everyone more.

  8. I’ve recently discovered the Barefoot wines… they have some light, sweeter wines that are delicious! Looks like a great night! I love dinner parties. 🙂

  9. We both had wine weekends! Don’t let anyone trash that Cupcake wine – I love that stuff! 🙂

  10. I love the new layout of your blog! Looks great! Did you do it yourself? If so, I’m super impressed!

    I like the light, fruity wines that taste like juice haha. Love white zinfandel but they tend to be super sugary so I have to limit myself to a glass or two!

  11. I love having dinner parties and I think being a grad student/with other students is always the best because everyone appreciates a good meal, wine and company so much! 🙂

  12. GIRL…you are so so so so so incredibly gorgeous! DINNER PARTIES are my favorite and that food looks awesome. I definitely think the weekends go by so much faster now that we are in school:( Have a great Monday though!

    • Thank you Janae!! You are absolutely gorgeous as well…I’m kind of jealous that you manage to look super pretty even after exercising! Have a fabulous Monday!

  13. Your dinner party sounds so much fancier than mine ever were when I was in college. And delicious! 🙂 White wine is my favorite…I have had the Cupcake chardonnay before, and loved it!

  14. Hi! Just started reading and oh my- I wish I could go to such a fab dinner party! Undergrad needs to take it up a notch. Bruschetta is just so yummy… fresh tomatoes! 🙂

  15. I’ve never had the Cupcake Merlot… but all of the other cupcake wines I have tried have been delicious! The cute packaging definitely helps. I also noticed last time I was at the liquor store that there is now a cupcake vodka! I will definitely be checking that out. I love the bathroom pic. Those are always classic.

  16. I’m not sure when you changed it exactly, but I love the blog’s makeover. It’s adorable!

    My fav wine depends on my mood, but a few favs are big, full-bodied cabs and really nice chiantis. I bought two cabs this weekend because for me, cabernet season just started!

  17. awww a dinner party sounds SO fun! I’m not a fan of the cupcake wine but I’m glad you enjoyed it! I hope when we get a new house, we will host more dinner parties!

  18. Looks like you had a great time, and the menu sounds fab! I’m not a wine girl, I prefer beer, but alcohol kills my tummy and puffs me up like a balloon so I try to avoid it. Good luck with the schoolwork!

  1. Pingback: Start Your Fitness Journey Now

Leave a Reply

