New Strength Training Plan

Happy Wednesday everyone!! Today is going to be filled with lots of homework…but that’s okay because class got cancelled, which means no quiz! 😀

So, in one of my labs on Monday I got to do something really cool- I got to make a wrist splint!!

This is the splint on my arm- but it doesn’t fit because it was made for my partner…I just wanted to give you an idea of how it would look if someone was wearing it.

It was awesome to do something in class that had a visible and concrete outcome! Pretty much all of our first year was spent learning about the human body, health conditions, theory, and reasoning. I’m pretty excited that this year we will finally get to apply all of that knowledge and actually learn practice skills :).

—————-

Brittany wrote a post yesterday about organizing her google reader and it really made me realize that I need to do the same asap! I love google reader but sometimes it is extremely overwhelming when I open it. Especially when I’ve read everything and then two hours later I go back and there are 30-some new ones….not gonna lie, that can definitely raise my stress levels a bit haha. I liked her idea of putting blogs into categories within google reader- I think I’m going to start doing this! Perhaps seeing categories of new posts will be less overwhelming than seeing a whole bunch of scattered new ones. We’ll see!

———–

Lately, my workouts have been feeling a little lackluster. In particular- my strength workouts. I feel like I’m going through the motions, and yes I’m definitely still feeling the burn, but I’m kind of bored with them and I want to feel challenged in a way that makes it fun for me again.

So what am I going to do about it??

I’m going to try splitting up my strength workouts. You see right now, as I’m also still running 3 times a week for my upcoming 10k, my workout schedule looks something like this:

  • Monday- interval workout
  • Tuesday- run
  • Wednesday- total body strength
  • Thursday- rest
  • Friday- long run
  • Saturday- total body strength
  • Sunday- short run

I want to split my strength workouts into upper and lower body ones. So perhaps now it will look like this:

  • Monday- upper body strength, intervals
  • Tuesday- run
  • Wednesday- lower body strength, cardio
  • Thursday- rest
  • Friday- long run
  • Saturday- upper body strength, cardio
  • Sunday- lower body strength, short run

What I’m hoping, is that by splitting up my strength workouts, I will be able to focus more on that half of the body and incorporate some new moves! So I guess you’ll have to stay tuned to see what I come up with :). Unfortunately, since it’s the middle of the week and I’ve already tired out my legs the past two days, I think I will do upper body strength exercises this morning and then get on this new schedule starting Friday!

I hope you all have a great Wednesday!

 

Questions:

Do you use google reader? How do you organize it?

How do you generally strength train?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on September 21, 2011, in Blogging, Class, Random. Bookmark the permalink. 35 Comments.

  1. I have a Google reader account but I have never taken the time to organize it. I read Brittany’s post yesterday and have been thinking about setting aside some time to do the same thing. Good luck with yours! 🙂

    I strength train 3 days a week with a personal trainer. I am pretty new to the strength training world so it’s nice to have someone organize workouts and tell me what to do.

  2. I use Apple Mail, but I might switch to Google Reader! I finished New Rules of Lifting for Women a few months ago and am now working through the original. Women is a great read, even if you don’t go through the workouts!

  3. my google reader is soo not organized.. I need to get on that. asap. It was totally overwhelming when I came home from my busy day yesterday and had 50+ unread blog posts. Good luck with changing up the strength training! I’ve skipped two days at the gym and i’m dyyyying but right now laundry is taking priority. How lame. 🙂

  4. I usually split mine up too. It just works best for me, but then again, I’m not training for any races right now.

    Oh – and I adore that pic of Marilyn. If I had a home gym, that poster would be in it!

  5. Great new schedule! I need to put together something similar for when I finish Insanity. 🙂 I also need to get on the organizing train for my google reader! lol

  6. My google reader is, well, a mess. :/ I get overwhelmed by it, but I don’t really have the time to organize well!

    I love your strength training idea! Maybe I need to try something like this since I am the worst strength trainer EVER! 😉 I also like doing intervals on the treadmill with sets of weights in between. So I’ll run 10 minutes, then do one circuit of a weight routine, then repeat twice more. Works pretty well!

  7. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Aw, thanks for the shout out, Lindsay 8)

    Organizing my Google Reader was one of the best things I’ve ever done in blog world! I had so many random subscriptions that I needed to get rid of, and the categories really help too. Definitely a time saver!

    Good luck working in the upper body workouts! I actually did a circuit workout for arms yesterday that KILLED me– my shoulders and arms feel like they are about to fall apart haha 😦

  8. You have me beat… I don’t even use Google reader… talk about disorganized. Its on my to-do list to set up! I try to do BodyPump once a week and then do one intense leg workout and one intense arm workout a week. I like doing total body and isolated workouts to mix things up.

  9. Great idea on the Google Reader thing… I often feel overwhelmed when I open mine too! I’m going to give the category idea a shot!

  10. I don’t have google reader! I just read blogs from my wordpress account. I always look up knew strength training routines and it helps me from being bored!!

  11. Just found your blog and I love it!! Good for you with the strength training – I admit I’m still wayy too intimidated by the gym boys to do any weights at the gym, and at home I just feel lazy and uninspired! I’m more of a cardio person but I know strength training is really important for women, so this post was really inspiring! Thank you!

    • Aw yay! I’m glad you commented :). I totally used to hate doing weights with the guys in the gym, so I started out going to fitness classes or working out with a friend!

  12. i dont actually organize my reader and monday mornings that thing gets FULL. luckily, at my job im able to check it all day so it stays pretty low 🙂

  13. thats a great point, i need organize my reader….when i have time! eek! Keep up the great strength work lady, its doing ya good!

  14. LOVE strength training! I try to do a full body circuit once or twice a week, with cardio spurts mixed in. Or, I’ll do 20 mins of cardio then lift focusing on one body part and really tire that one out.

  15. I just cleaned out my GReader because it was full of blogs that I never read and I didn’t use it. Now I want to add ones I do read (like this one!!) and start using it to keep track of my favs again.

    • Yay, I’m glad I’m going to be in your reader! Your wonderful blog is in mine!! And yea, mine is full of blogs that I don’t read much anymore haha

  16. I use Google reader but I am pretty sure I am not using it “correctly.” I have blogs everywhere… no folders/lists or anything like that. Whoopsie

    Love the new plan… I am getting so obsessed with ST and it’s fabulous

  17. I cut down on my google reader like whoa a few months ago. I’d rather keep up with just a few blogs then skim a lot of them.

  18. What a great post! I need to set up a legit workout schedule for myself instead of just seeing what I “feel” like doing that day. What a great way to stay motivated and on task!

  19. I don’t like google reader—I feel like I’m the only one! Haha!

  20. I use bloglovin! I got hooked on it a while back and never really gave Google reader a try!

  21. I didn’t even know I could organize my google reader until the other day! I’ve GOT to do that! ….It is soooo stressful and can take the fun out of reading blogs when there are just soooooo many to get to. Maybe managing can help! 🙂

  22. I love your new layout- it’s so cute! My shoulder is finally about 85% healed from surgery, so I can start incorporating strength training into my workouts again. My physical therapist suggested doing it 2 times a week with 5-8 pound weights, and then I’ll go from there as I get stronger!

  23. Categories! Brilliant! I too get stressed out by my google reader, especially when I am away for a couple days and I come back and it is jam-packed! It is silly though, reading all of your lovely blogs is a HOBBY, so I need to remind myself of that. No stress. That is silly.

    V nice job on the splint!

  24. I love google reader! It’s a great way to stay organized and continue to add blogs I love, so it makes it easy to check everyone out!

  25. I strength train 3-4 days a week. I love it!

  26. Great training plan, girl! I have such a hard time incorporating strength training into my workouts. I like how you split your workouts into lower and upper half!

  1. Pingback: New Strength Training Plan | Fitness

  2. Pingback: Healthy Health Care Providers

Leave a Reply

