Healthy Health Care Providers

Happy Friday everyone :D.

I don’t know about you, but I’m extremely ready for the weekend.

So, I finally purchased something this week that I’ve been wanting to try, and I must say- I was not at all disappointed!!

OMG you guys, if you haven’t tried this- DO IT ASAP. It really is wonderful ;). Dare I say it may even be better than the dark chocolate dreams?? I dunno- but in my book they are at least tied.

My arms are still feeling it from my workout on Wednesday. I think I’m definitely going to like my new strength training plan! Hopefully I’ll be able to come up with some new workouts to post for you guys!

And after yesterday’s rest day, I’m hoping that my long run goes well today! Sadly it’s kind of gross outside, and that means I’m destined for a long date with the treadmill. Thank goodness those treadmills have TVs on them- I’ll have to find something good on.

————

I was reading Lauren’s blog the other day and she wrote a great post about how some doctors today don’t really listen to their patients and just want to quickly solve things with a pill. It was a really good topic so I suggest you go check it out, but her post got me to thinking about health care providers.

I think it is really important for health care providers (this includes doctors, nurses, therapists, etc.) to actually lead healthy lives. It always bothers me when I hear about doctors that are telling their patients to stop smoking, yet they themselves are smokers. Or when a therapist who doesn’t exercise or eat healthy tries to tell a patient they need to completely change around their life and do both of those things in order to lose weight so their knee arthritis will get better.

I believe that health care providers should be setting an example for others. As a future health care provider, I think they should be the epitome of what it means to lead a healthy life. So many people have health care problems due to their lifestyle choices. Wouldn’t it be great for them to get suggestions from someone who is making healthy choices and can actually express the personal ways that it makes them feel better? I don’t know about you, but I am much more likely to “believe” something and am more willing to try something when I hear about how it personally impacted someone.

Sure, it’s great to receive pamphlets and fact sheets that express all of the researched reasons why living a healthy life is good for you. But, tell me how it’s impacted your life and the ways that you have gone about doing it and I’m way more likely to be intrigued. I mean seriously, I have known about healthy living for so many years and I’ve done it myself, but it wasn’t until I started reading healthy living blogs that I could fully appreciate the enormity of how it can impact a person’s life for the better. A personal and intimate illustration of what it can look like to lead a healthy life and how it feels is way more inspiring and is more likely to lead to change than telling someone they “should do it because we know it’s best for you for reasons x, y, and z”.

In one of my classes earlier this week my professor presented us with a quote that really stuck out to me:

“Let’s face it, in America today, we don’t have a health care system we have a sick care system.”

– Senator Tom Harkin

It’s kind of sad how true this often is. Perhaps if health care providers really embraced living a healthy life, our health care system could really make an impact through promotion and prevention as opposed to just treatment once the condition is already present. Please know, I’m not trying to “bash” health care providers and I don’t under any circumstances think that they are all unhealthy. I mean, I’m going to become one! I just believe it would be awesome if ALL of them personified a healthy lifestyle. It’s a fabulous profession and I think that by being a part of it there is often a huge opening to make an impact.

I’m thankful that I live a healthy life and that when I do have patients in the future, if it’s something that comes up, I will absolutely be able to give them personal, meaningful, and passionate examples of how it really helps me live my life to the fullest.

**Please understand, these are my personal opinions. I absolutely do not expect you to share them. I just wanted to express my views on something that has always kind of bothered me!

Questions:

Have you tried the white chocolate wonderful?
What are your thoughts on health care providers leading and promoting a healthy life?
About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on September 23, 2011, in About Me, Health, Random. Bookmark the permalink. 32 Comments.

  1. I haven’t tried the White Chocolate Wonderful, but I keep reading about it and I am about ready to head to the grocery store right this minute to try it out because of all the great reviews it’s gotten. Sounds amazing!

  2. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    BEAT OUT DARK CHOCOLATE DREAMS!? Now I need to try this stuff!

    I agree with you girl. A lot of providers are sadly just in it for a “quick fix” and for the money. The worse is when the doctor literally spends 15 seconds with you, then magically knows whats wrong. It is reassuring to know that there are going to be people like you in the field 🙂

  3. I absolutely agree on health care providers. The same goes for personal trainers, or anyone really who gives advice to others. They need to be the epitome of what they are prescribing. I also hate that we have a “sick care” system. Honestly, so many lives and so much money could be saved if we focused on prevention as opposed to treatment. I could go one for hours on this, but I’ll just stop here! Happy Friday 🙂

  4. Agreed. I have written about this very thing. I can’t even begin to tell you how many overweight and even borderline obese nurses that I see on a daily basis.

    in my opinion, it’s the same as going to a hair stylist who has bad hair. or a personal trainer who doesn’t look fit or healthy themselves.

  5. Agreed!!! No one likes a “do as I say, not as I do”

    Very good points.

    I have been wanting to try that peanut butter for AGES!

  6. I always have a hard time with doctors who want to treat the symptom and not the cause. I’ve had stomach issues for years, and no doctor could ever figure out why. They just prescribed me meds and sent me on my way, even though I told them time and time again that I wanted to know why it was happening so I could try to correct the cause. Eventually, I gave up on doctors and started taking supplements on my own (flaxseed oil and probiotics). I made a few small changes in my diet (like not eating Lean Cuisines for lunch anymore and not chewing gum), and it has made a HUGE difference. I know I kinda veered off topic there! Whoops!

  7. It’s funny how topics always coincide–we were talking about health care in my grad class last night. We were learning about health literacy, and how many people in the US don’t understand what kind of care they need/can afford/etc. Since the illiteracy rate is so high in the US, there is a ton of money going into false diagnoses since the patient may not know what form they’re filling out (just one example). And with the pressure to make appointments quick, they often get swept along but not accurately treated.

    Kind of topic from what you were posting about, but it’s all so interesting.

    Happy weekend!

  8. I guess I don’t mind if my doc leads a healthy lifestyle, but I agree that many don’t listen like they should. I refused to do a simple test last year (trust me – very simple and worthless, nothing major), and the doc looked at me like I was crazy. Sorry lady, but just because insurance foots most of the bill doesn’t mean I have to waste $$$ – mine or the other plan members!

    Oh, and I haven’t tried that pb before. It looks too addicting! I have tried the cinnamon raisin though, and that was heaven in a jar!

  9. I couldn’t agree more! I have seen my fair share of doctors (especially in the last few years) & I cannot tell you how many just want to push pills on me..and I’m NOT ok with that. I’ve actually left 2 doctors for that very reason. I’m so lucky to have a doctor (well gastro) now that really LISTENS to me, answers all of my questions, and is totally open to trying holistic measures. I’m very grateful!

  10. I need to try the white chocolate wonderful if its that great. I usually get mighty maple or dark chocolate dreams. I definitely need to branch out and try all the other flavors. Doctors aren’t required to take nutrition classes in medical school, so they don’t know that much about living healthy lives anyway. I agree though. I wish they would healthier lives to be an example to us.

  11. Yay I’m so happy to see someone else as obsessed with white chocolate wonderful! I too think it’s better than dark chocolate dreams. I just emptied a jar which I’m def using tonight to make overnight oats and picked up another jar already because I can’t live without it! hehe

  12. Omg, I LOVE White Choc Wonderful! I could eat a whole jar of the stuff if I let myself.

  13. I have never tried the White Chocolate PB, but love the Maple and Cinnamon Raisin one so I am SURE I would enjoy this flavor 🙂

    Ooo health care… so many things need to be reformed. How about let’s focus on prevention as opposed to ridiculously expensive treatments?! Yeeshe. Of course all easier said than done!

  14. That is funny – I JUST tried Peanut Butter & Co Cinnamon Raisin this week. Delicious! I have been melting a big tablespoon of the PB into my hot oats in the morning. I will definitely be trying some other kinds (including the white chocolate) ASAP. 🙂

    I agree with you about setting a good example. I am a physician assistant student graduating the end of the year. As a future healthcare provider, I look forward to promoting a well-balanced diet and active lifestyle. I really hope to incorporate my love for nutrition into my soon-t0-be profession. It’s exciting! Hope school is going well for you!

  15. I am always tempted to try that brand of pb since every blogger I follow seems to love it. But the price tag is what gets me every time to hold back and by regular pb. I am a huge couponer/saver and it breaks me every time to spend to much on something. Do you find it cheaper at a certain store? I know it can get crazy high at some stores. I really want to try all flavors, I am going to have to breakdown and just do it one of these days.

    I completely agree with you about healthcare providers. I know someone that has a loved one that has had constant headaches/migraines and other aches for over a year now and they just give him meds to solve the problem but not looking further into it to see what is causing it. Just this week he was rushed to the hospital because his entire side of his body went numb when he got the migraine and now he is in ICU. It’s so sad that doctors don’t take time to get to the root of the problem. There are some out there, but they are few and far between. And yes, doctors do need to portray a healthy lifestyle if that is what they are promoting.

  16. Great topic. I absolutely believe that health care providers should practice what they preach. I also wish that more would entertain proactive holistic alternatives rather than pushing pills on a reactive basis. Oh man, I could go on about this for a while….Thanks for making me think! 🙂

  17. I don’t go to the doctor because I’m never sick 🙂

    I think they do try to solve everything with a pill though. If people weren’t sick, they wouldn’t make money right?

  18. That peanut butter is like crack. I can’t buy it because I’ll eat the whole jar in one day! 😉 But it’s definitely amazing!

  19. I agree with ALL of this. You’re seriously awesome.

    Also, I have NEVER tried white chocolate wonderful!! Terrible, I know. I have only had cinnamon raisin swirl and dark chocolate dreams. LOVE both!

  20. WCW = ultimate mouthgasm!! I love Mighty Maple the best, though 😉 … actually, I can’t decide, haha!

    I could go on and on about healthcare providers and YES, I do think they need to be leading healthy lifestyles as well – totally a time when “practice what you preach” really matters. How can a patient trust someone giving them “health” advice who isn’t practicing “health” themselves?! Agreed.

    Love you!!

  21. I don’t care if my doctor is overweight, it is none of my business.

  22. Ok, I have never tried these nut butters everyone swoons over, but now I have to! Thank you for the review and waving it in my face 😉

    I never see a doctor anymore only a naturopath or a homeopath…it wasn’t resonating with my beliefs or my actions, so I was tired of being prescribed pills and “masking” i wanted to know myself and realized I have control over my health, the aches and pains in my body, etc. Everyone needs to read Louise Hay’s books 😉

    Great post!!

    xxoo

  23. Lindsay @ cupcakes to carrots

    I work for a HUGE health insurance company that EVERYONE has heard of and although I cannot speak for healthcare providers, I can say that this company promotes and works with its employees to keep a healthy lifestyle by offering incentives to be healthy, tons of resources and classes. Free gym and fitness classes, There is help you can access in an area of your life you are “unhealthy”. Each year they give us hundreds of dollars off of our insurance if we go get a physical. This year they are doing it a bit differently. There are categories and if you “pass” that category, you get money off of your health insurance. For example, if when they draw your blood and you test positive for nicotine, you lose $300. Passing all categories would give someone $1300 off their insurance for the entire year!!! Categories are obesity, nicotine, blood pressure, cholestrol, diabetes, health exam, and flu shot.

    Our cafeteria at work has NO fat foods whatsoever. Turkey bacon, turkey meatballs, turkey burgers, egg beaters, wheat waffles, wheat pizza, you get the point. Although I do agree with you regarding the providers (trust me, i’ve seen some shady stuff from working in the industry) I did want to point out that some (can’t speak for all) insurance companies are trying to give the resources to allow people to lead a healthier lifestyle.

  24. I completely agree that healthcare providers should “practice what they preach.” To know how harmful something is for your body and continue to do it and tell others not to seems semi-crazy to me 😉

Leave a Reply

