Supersets and Chicken for One

Hello friends!!

Thank you all so much for your comments on my post about CJ and Zoey!

Zoey is doing great! She’s already making herself at home. And she’s very curious about everything, she loves to play, and she’s a great little snuggler :D.

She really didn’t want me to do my homework yesterday…

…and for some reason she loves to get in my drawers…

….and last night she passed on the couch for a while- so cute!

Last night I had a really good piece of chicken of for dinner! It was really easy to make too!

Chicken Dijon for One

**This can easily be adjusted to serve more people!

Ingredients:

  • 1 chicken breast
  • 1/3 – 1/2 cup of wine
  • Less than 1/4 cup of olive oil (probably about 1/6 cup)
  • Several shakes of low sodium soy sauce
  • 1 Tbsp dijon mustard

***I used 1/2 cup of wine and it was kind of liquidy, so if you want it to be a thicker marinade, use less!

Directions

  • Marinate chicken in a bag for a couple of hours (or more) in the refrigerator – the longer you marinate it the better it will taste!

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  • Place chicken and marinade in a dish.

  • Bake for 20-25 minutes depending on size of chicken breast. Mine was fairly big so I baked it for 25 and it was perfect!

YUMMY :).

———–

I told you that with my new strength training schedule I would try to post some new workouts for you guys. Well, the one I did this morning was awesome! My arms are already getting sore!

Upper Body and Core Superset Workout

**Supersets are two exercises completed back to back with no rest in between

For this workout- complete each superset 3 times with only 30 seconds of rest between each set.

Superset 1

  • Push-ups on bench – 20 reps
  • Seated row – 15 reps

Superset 2

  • Chest dumbbell fly – 15 reps
  • Lat pull downs – 15 reps

Superset 3

  • Hammer curls – 12 reps
  • Shoulder press – 12 reps

Superset 4

  • Tricep pushdowns – 12 reps
  • Arm circles – 25 reps forward, 25 reps backward (I used a very small amount of weight)

Superset 5

  • Weighted side bends – 15 reps each side
  • V-ups – 20 reps

Superset 6

  • Supermans – 15 reps
  • Plank – 1 min

Those arm circles are killer!

 

Hope you are having a good Monday so far!

 

Question:

What is your favorite thing to marinate chicken in?

What upper body exercise do you find the hardest?

 

 

 

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on September 26, 2011, in Dinner, Lifting, Pets, Recipe, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 27 Comments.

  1. Aw, Zooey is so cute. She’s so tiny!! I like marinating chicken in soy sauce and sesame oil…simple, yet so good! I have the hardest time doing any exercise that works my triceps. They are so weak that it’s hard for me to use a 5 pound dumbbell!

  2. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Aww 🙂 I’m glad Zoey is adapting to her new home & mommy!

    This dijon chicken looks great– I loveeee dijon mustard and actually just discovered it a few days ago! My favorite thing to marinade chicken in would probably be teriyaki sauce 🙂

  3. I’m so glad the new kitty is working out!!! Don’t you just love that sore feeling?

  4. Mmm that chicken looks delicious! My hubby and I love McCormick Montreal Chicken Seasoning. I will marinate it with a little olive oil, white vinegar, and the seasoning, and it’s so yummy!

    Great workout! Love the looks of it. I will definitely by trying it out! I always have a hard time with triceps exercises… I think mine are just kind of weak. Plus, they’re a smaller muscle, so they get fatigued easier.

  5. Believe it or not, I haven’t really done a lot of marinading, and I have no idea why!!! But I love your idea! 🙂

    And I think tricep dips on the bench are pretty tough for me. Another tough one is pull-ups!

  6. Amanda @ the beauty notebooks

    Loving this recipe! I am currently studying abroad in Scotland and looking for quick, easy and delicious recipes to make in my flat. (It’s the first time I’ve ever had a kitchen in college!) I’m going to bookmark this recipe. Thanks, Lindsay!

  7. Cute new kitty 🙂

    I find tricep pushups the hardest by a long shot!!

  8. I like chicken marinated in Italian dressing and Italian seasoning! My upper body is weaker than my lower body..so anything is a bit of a challenge, haha :).

  9. YUM! That chicken looks awesome and Zoey is SO adorable!!

  10. I’m usually in too much of a hurry to marinade, but that looks really tasty.

    Your kitty is adorable! I like dogs, but I’m definitely a cat person!

  11. That sounds like a really good marinade! And I love supersets. They really can work you good.

  12. My go to marinade it Italian dressing or Balsamic Vinaigrette. Both are quick and easy and super yummy! Any type of marinade makes a world of a difference when cooking chicken.

    Your kitten is too cute!

  13. I love finding new strength workouts. I’ll definitely try this out, thanks for sharing! 😀 Such a cute kitty!

  14. Push ups and pull ups are the hardest upper body exercises EVER for me! They kill me every time!

  15. Your kitten is so cute!!! I love him! And thank for sharing the workout . I know tank top season is pretty much over but I still need to do some upper body exercises STAT. 🙂

  16. I am so glad I saw this! I was just thinking about how I need to do upper body at the gym tomorrow, but I’m tired of my same old routine. I was feeling in a bit of an “exercise rut”. I’m going to copy and print this out!

    PS – How cute is your cat?? I wish Elvis was still that small… Time flies!

  17. mustard eckkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk that stuff haunts me lol! 😆 but i love this post!

  18. This recipe looks so delicious..and for one? Perfect!

    I love marinating chicken in Champagne Dressing..you can find it at any grocery store!

  19. I love how we both posted about lifting sets today 😀 I LOVE supersets although they make me grunt like no other, haha!

    I love love love any chicken dish, really. Honey marinade is awesome!

  20. I love the pictures of Zoey! He reminds me of my black cat I had growing up. She always used to sleep in my mom’s laptop. I guess because it was nice and warm. Wait til she sleeps in all your clean folded laundry. But you can’t stay mad at such a cutie. I love marinading chicken in lime juice, tequila and olive oil.

  21. This is such a great workout! I am going to try it at the gym TODAY 🙂

    And the pictures of Zoey are so adorable!

Leave a Reply

