Healthy Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

I can’t believe it’s already Wednesday! This week seems to be going by pretty quickly, which is just fine by me. I’m happy to get a paper, a quiz, and a presentation out of the way thank you very much :D.

Ooooo boy do I have a yummy muffin recipe for you! On Monday I realized that the three bananas I had left were getting pretty brown, and after looking at a bunch of recipes on the internet I decided to kind of create my own based on the ones I saw. And let me just say, what I came up with was really tasty!

Healthy Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

Makes 12 regular sized muffins

These are hearty muffins made with whole wheat flour and oats. The banana and chocolate chips add a really nice and subtle sweet flavor! They are perfect for breakfast, a snack, part of a meal, whatever! And if you heat them up and top them with peanut butter, they taste even better ;).

Dry Ingredients

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup quick oats
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips

Wet Ingredients

  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 3.5 Tbsp unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1/6 cup agave nectar
  • 3 mashed bananas

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Combine all dry ingredients, except for the chocolate chips, in a bowl.
  3. Combine wet ingredients in a separate bowl- make sure to whisk the eggs first.
  4. Combine the wet ingredients with the dry ingredients in whichever bowl is bigger.
  5. Stir just until it’s mixed (it will look lumpy).
  6. Add chocolate chips and mix again.
  7. Spoon batter into a greased regular sized muffin pan about 3/4 full.
  8. Bake for 20-22 minutes or until a toothpick comes out of the center of a muffin clean. **Probably closer to 20 min**
  9. Enjoy!

Yummy in my tummy!!

Seriously guys, these are delicious!

And after enjoying one of those muffins for a class-time snack break yesterday, who wouldn’t enjoy coming home and seeing this cute little thing sleeping on your desk?

Zoey brightens my day!

————–

Do you ever feel like your body needs more than just 1 day off from working out? Right now, that’s exactly what I think my body is trying to tell me. The last 4 days all of my workouts have felt pretty crappy. I haven’t been able to make it through a single interval workout- and both that I’ve tried are ones that I have done plenty of times in the past. My muscles have been screaming at me when I’m lifting and therefore I’ve had to lift lighter weights. And, well, I don’t feel good after a workout- I feel even more tired and I just want to sleep.

So, I’m going to take a few days off. And by that I mean I’m not going back to the gym until Saturday. For the next few days the only thing I’m going to do is stretch and maybe do some leisurely walks. I think the way I’ve been feeling during exercise is a sign that my body needs a break and some time to recover. This generally happens to me a couple of times a year and usually after a few days off I feel completely rejuvenated and my body is rearing to go!

It’s important to pay attention to the signs your body gives you! Sometimes, that’s healthier than pushing it too hard.

 

Questions:

Do you like banana muffins? What are your favorite recipes?

Do you ever take more than 1 day off from exercise?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on September 28, 2011, in Health, Life, Recipe, Snack. Bookmark the permalink. 40 Comments.

  1. Those look delicious! At least once a month I take a 3 day break from working out. Just like you said I know when consecutive workouts feel impossible and crappy, I know my body would much more benefit from the rest than continue to push it. Enjoy the time off 🙂

  2. The combo of banana + chocolate is one of my absolute favorites. Those look delicious. I took a day off yesterday between super tight calves and a painful knee, and it was totally the right decision. I feel like another day today would be beneficial as well. It’s always so hard for me to take days off, because I LOVE to eat, and the more I workout the more I eat (usually). That’s the only set back!

  3. I think sometimes we really do need more than one day off. I always say, just listen to your body, it will tell you what it needs! Those muffins look delish!

  4. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Oh, I am the #1 spokeswoman for rest days. I’ve gone too many years of my life forcing workouts into my days, even when I knew that my body was craving a break.

    Good for you being able to give yourself a break. I promise, when you get back into the swing of things you will be more than ready to pump out a great workout 😀

  5. Those muffins look amazing. I LOVE eating muffins, but for some reason I never make them myself! Seriously, I have never baked muffins. I’m pretty sure this needs to change.

    I am just catching up on your blog and I read the post about CJ. I am so sorry to hear he didn’t work out! I know you mentioned on twitter, but I wasn’t sure what happened with that. Sometimes cats are weird though, and it’s better that you…I don’t want to say traded him in, but you know…did that now than later. Zooey looks like a much more fulfilling kitty! I hope she continues to brighten your day.

  6. Yummy!! These looks delicious, Lindsey! I LOVE banana muffins and bread! Especially when chocolate chips are thrown in. 🙂 These look pretty healthy too, so I’m definitely baking these asap!!

    I was just feeling like you are a couple weeks ago in terms of my workouts. I decided to take a few days off, and my body loved me for it. When I started my workouts again, I felt totally rejuvenated and ready to work hard. I think we all need a few extra long breaks every now and again! Enjoy your rest days!

  7. I have a love-hate relationship with bananas. I can go weeks without eating them, but when I get on a banana kick will incorporate them into every meal.

    I’m currently on a workout break. I’m getting over a really bad cold and every time I break a sweat, I find myself nearly coughing up my lungs. Not really worth it, but hopefully I can get back into the swing soon.

  8. Way to listen to your body and not feel compelled to do workouts because they are “on your schedule” or you feel peer pressure to do so. I hope you enjoy your rest days and eat lots of muffins coated in PB.

  9. Holy heck! Those look fantastic!

    I usually just take one day off and I do some yoga on that day–it helps me get all the kinks out since I’m terrible about stretching! I find if I take more than one day in a row off, I have a really hard time getting back into my routine.

  10. These muffins look great! I love banana muffins 🙂

    When I feel that my body needs more than a day off, I go with it and enjoy the days off 🙂

  11. These look simply superb, and I of course love that they are healthier!

    I needed to read this post right now. Ever since my race last weekend I have been feeling tired but am unwilling to give my body a break because I already took one on Saturday. Why not take two, three,four?! per week?! Ugh must get out of my own head sometimes!

    • I hear ya! I always feel like I must do 6 days of exercise a week or I kind of freak out. But, putting it out there on the blog kind of makes me feel a lot better about it, especially since I’ve been getting positive feedback and reports that it definitely helps!

  12. Loooooove banana muffins! I wonder if these would work with flax eggs. Perhaps I’ll try it!

    Right now my body has had wayyyy too many days off of working out due to a schedule change. But listen to yours if more than one is what you need! Your kitty is so cute! I’m pretty sure I’m getting one 🙂

  13. I think the last day I took more than one day off was last year. LOL.

    These muffins look good 🙂

  14. Every week is different for me regarding exercise. Some weeks, I can do 6 days. Other weeks, I either don’t have time or feel like my body needs rest. After my 10k, I took almost the whole week off! Listening to your body is definitely smart!

  15. holy yummmm!!

    and i totally hear you about needing more than one day off! this past weekend i seriously could not get myself to do ANYTHING. i was exhausted physically and mentally and simply the idea of working out exhausted me. so i took the whole weekend off. and my workout monday felt AMAZING because of it! 🙂

  16. Mmm those look delicious! I am doing the insanity workout right now and am in the 4th week, but am not doing very well keeping up with the actual schedule. 6 days of workouts is a bit too much for me!

  17. pretty sure our bodies scream at us when we need rest, we just need to listen. That can be hard! I LOVE BANANA and CHOCOLATE chip muffins. You know you are my kind of woman. Its gotta be the name.

    😉

  18. Hi love!

    Hi Zoey : )

    Your muffins do look amazing! Loving the chocolate chip goodness ; )

    I have not been to the gym either, I have done some at home workouts, short and sweet, but Im over exhausted from move and all, so I am taking a break too! Have to just listen to your body!

    ❤

  19. Banana bread/muffins are my absolute favorite! I haven’t really tried to make a GF recipe since I went GF though :/ So I haven’t had any banana baked good for about 2 years. Wow… I need to get on that…

    Yours look incredibly yummy 🙂

  20. Chocolate chip banana muffins are THE BEST. These look incredible.

    I’ve DEFINITELY taken more than one day off from exercise!! I try to listen to my body and not push it – some days are just busier than others and it just doesn’t allow for it.

  21. Those look great!

    When it comes to rest days the best thing you can do is listen to your body. If it needs more time, give it more time girl!

  22. These sound delicious! I have some browned bananas that I need to bake with, I think I found my recipe!

  23. Oh my gosh! Those muffins sound awesome! Definitely bookmarking this recipe! 🙂 I’ve actually never had to many unusual varieties of banana muffins. I don’t bake very often though because I live alone and I would devour the entire batch by myself way too quickly. :S

    I don’t give myself much rest between workouts. I usually take one day off a week and that’s it. Sometimes I really feel like I need to do more but for some reason I feel guilty if I do.

  24. These look amazing, I want to make them!!

    I think I still have trouble with taking rest days when I need more than one. In reality, it is totally fine to take more than one rest day! If you aren’t performing as well as you should, why should you push it and continue to have more days like it? Taking day off will just give you the break you need to come back even stronger!

  25. Amanda @ the beauty notebooks

    oatmeal and banana are one of my favorite combinations — add some chocolate, and you’ve got a recipe for heaven in a muffin 😉 I’d love to make these sometime! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  26. Julia @ The Coffee Crazed Teacher

    I will be making these. . . in approximately 5 minutes. They look AMAZING! 🙂

  27. Julia @ The Coffee Crazed Teacher

    I made these delicious muffins last Saturday morning and between my bf and I we ate about 6 of them! They are so delicious. I heat one up every morning on my way out the door for a yummy breakfast. Thank you for the delicious recipe, I will be making them again and again. I hope you are having a ton of fun with Chris!

  28. I am most DEFINITELY going to have to try these!!

  1. Pingback: Spreading the Love

Leave a Reply

