October Goal

I can’t believe that today, my baby brother is 20 years old!! Happy birthday Matt :D. I love you!

I think we look alike, don’t you?

So I realize that yesterday was the 1st of October, but I thought I’d talk about my goal for the month today :).

Yes, that’s right, only 1 goal. I’m not really a goal-oriented person. I can write them down or think about what I want my goals to be and then I’ll probably forget about them. I don’t know why, that’s just how I am. Maybe I would rather focus on the things I deem important that day or week. Also, I’m pretty sure that if I didn’t accomplish these goals I set for myself I would get really upset…there’s no reason to induce that.

However, I do have 1 goal for this month…actually this goal could probably extend until next May and I think it’s something that I can actively work on. My goal is:

To not let school stress me out so much.

In high school, undergrad, and even last year I would let myself get really stressed out with school. I would easily get overwhelmed and feel like I wasn’t going to do well. I felt the need to constantly be doing work, even when I didn’t need to be doing anything, so that I would do well. And honestly, it never got me anywhere. I always did fine (actually better than fine) and all the stress did was make me unhappy and constantly worried. Yea…that’s no fun and no way to live life.

This year, I don’t want to let school get to me. I know that even when I have a lot to do, I will get it done and I will do it successfully. I always have so there is no reason to stress about it. I had already implemented a lot of stress management strategies into my life, so where has the problem been? In my attitude and how I approach things with a sense that I’m not going to get it done or I won’t do it well. That’s gotta change.

So far this year I think I’m already off to a good start. I’ve been letting myself relax more and I’ve just been going forth with the positive attitude that I know I will get stuff done and that there is no reason to worry to about “how I’m studying” because it’s always worked in the past. It’s amazing what positivity and not overworking yourself can do :).

Hope you all have an awesome Sunday!

 

Questions:

What are your goals for October? This year?

Do you think that being positive can help reduce stress?

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on October 2, 2011, in About Me, Birthday, Family. Bookmark the permalink. 27 Comments.

  1. Great goal! I need to focus on not stressing, too! I think being positive is the absolute key to not stressing. Being positive and having faith that what is meant to happen will happen is the only way not to freak out about things you have to do 🙂

  2. oh my gosh this is a goal I need!! I get so stressed over the smallest things and it always turns out to be FINE and not even that bad to stress over! Thanks for giving me the idea!:) happy birthday to your brother!

  3. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    That’s a great goal, Lindsay– I need to stop stressing so much too. It’s tough to not let something so important take over, but the trick is to find a balance between productivity and enjoying yourself.

    You’ve got this 😉

  4. Being positive DOES reduce stress, it works for me : )

    Happy birthday to your brother!

    Happy Sunday love!

  5. My goal for the month is to work on reducing my stress. I have been way too stressed lately.

  6. I definitely do think being positive reduces stress 😀 It has proven to be true in my life!!

  7. Great goal Lindsay!! I’m hoping I can do the same…I’m having a great time right now, but as a college senior, I really need to tone down the inherent stress in my mind about next year!!

    • Aw, I’ve definitely been there…try not to worry about it! Things will definitely work out the way they are supposed to!

  8. I DEFINITELY believe that thinking positively and looking at things optimistically can reduce stress significantly. It’s all about the positive attitude! This is a great goal – I’m sure you’ll do great.

  9. I think being positive has everything to do with stress! If you have a positive outlook on everything, then you’ll most likely be less stressed . Also, exercising helps me SO much. Just having 30-60 minutes of “me” time everyday helps so much. This is a great goal, and one of my goals too! School is tough, but being stressed doesn’t make it easier!

  10. Great goal! I should do that myself 🙂

  11. Hey just found you. cute blog. I think it is 100% true that you can reduce stress by remaining positive. You can really change anything if you throw a smile at it 🙂 sometimes when someone is arguing with me I secretly beam love at them. then they start getting less mad – try it /w your tests 😉 it’ll work!

  12. Great goal, I need to stress less too.. it sure as heck doesn’t make me feel better! And Happy Bday to your brother, you guys do look alike 🙂

  13. HAPPY BDAY MATT!!! GREAT GOAL…hard to do but I know you can do it! You are so dedicated to your school work and it is a great example to me! My goal this month….find an awesome halloween costume:)

  14. That’s a good one. I hope it works out for you. Mine is to practice more yoga. Since I only do it about once a month, it shouldn’t be hard to squeeze in a little more.

  15. It’s amazing how stress can negatively affect you and cause you to do even worse at times! When it comes to school, if I let myself get too stressed out, I get overwhelmed and then just quit altogether. Not studying for an exam at all because I’m worried about not acing it is just plain stupid!

  16. I definitely think you guys look alike!

    Good luck with your goal — I think it’s a great one. I used to get so strung out with school — if I could do it again, I’d definitely try and take a different / healthier approach.

  17. Happy birthday little bro!

    I was just like you up until this past year. I stressed myself out to the max. Then I decided it wasn’t worth it, and you know what? I still did (better than) fine, and enjoyed myself way more! We have to keep the important things in life in mind, and while school is one, so are fun and well-being!

  18. Great goal and even better that you recognized you need to stop stressing! A lot of people can’t, or deny that it’s a problem, but stress truly does manifest itself in many physical ways!

    My goal as of late is just to stay off my knee as much as I can until it fully heals. It’s really going to be tough but I just need to in order to get better

  19. i’m so with you lindz. Not a goal oriented person but I love this goal. Its healthy and will keep you enjoying life! I’ll hold ya to it!

  20. I love setting monthly goals. I just have to figure out what this month’s goal for me will be. Ha, ha. 🙂

  21. One of my October goals is to eat a variety of foods and not always the same thing. I also want to get out of my comfort zone a little more!

    Yes! I believe that thinking positive and help reduce stress! 🙂

Leave a Reply

