A Chocolate A Day…

Another week, another Monday….but this week is going to be awesome. Wanna know why?? Because Chris arrives in Boston on Thursday!!!!! 😀

That’s right, I get to spend a weekend with my fabulous boyfriend, whom I haven’t seen in 6 weeks. Thursday better get here asap.

And by the way…guess what today is? OUR 4 YEAR ANNIVERSARY!!! I cannot believe that we have been dating for 4 years…time has blown by and it’s been an absolutely amazing 4 years. I love you so much Chris! I absolutely cannot wait to see you and celebrate!

———–

Back to my post title. I have discovered that-

a chocolate a day keeps my cravings at bay

I eat at least 1 piece of dark chocolate everyday. Generally it’s my after dinner treat. And sometimes I have two pieces….just depends on what I want.

What I’ve come to realize is by having that chocolate everyday, I don’t crave as much junk food as I used to. Yes, I still eat delicious desserts and still crave them sometimes. But I don’t crave them nearly as much.

I used to want a dessert every single day (usually after dinner). And I would have it. Frankly though, those desserts weren’t always that good and I was probably eating them out of habit more than anything- so a lot of the time I was left wanting more. I think it’s common to get a raging sweet tooth after consuming a savory meal- at least it is for me. Eating a piece of chocolate helps satisfy that sweet tooth and has allowed me to learn to recognize a real dessert craving.

I would rather enjoy a really good dessert on occasion and when I actually want it. By doing that I feel more able to appreciate the deliciousness of the dessert and since I’m not doing it everyday I have no need to feel that food guilt when I do enjoy it.

Plus, chocolate releases endorphins and who wouldn’t want more natural happy-inducing chemicals released in the brain??

I like to put my chocolate in the fridge and I have 3 kinds that I tend to rotate through:

Hershey’s Bliss Dark Chocolate

Dark Chocolate Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups Miniatures

York Peppermint Pattie Miniatures

Yep…one of those bad boys after dinner generally does the trick of satisfying my sweet tooth and keeping my cravings at bay. And if it doesn’t, then I know it’s a real craving and that it’s time to get me some yummy dessert that’s worth enjoying :).

 

Questions:

Does your sweet tooth or junk food tooth seem to set in after eating a meal?

Do you eat a small amount of something everyday to help keep your cravings in check? What is it?

 

 

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on October 3, 2011, in About Me, Chris, Health, Relationships. Bookmark the permalink. 32 Comments.

  1. Happy Anniversary! You 2 are so cute! I’m glad you get to see your sweetie this week. 🙂

    I always want something sweet after dinner. I love freezing the peppermint patties–it makes them even MORE delicious! If I’m not hungry but want something sweet, I’ll drink a little fruit flavored soda water (I like the flavors at Kroger), and that tends to keep my cravings at bay. I agree that you enjoy a dessert so much more when you really want it.

    Have a great day!

  2. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    My chocolate stash & I completely agree with you– Although I don’t do it every day anymore, a nice hunk of dark chocolate is always a satisfying filler 😉

  3. Happy 4 years to you and Chris! That’s amazing! My boyfriend & I just celebrated 3 years together – time sure does fly, doesn’t it?

    I’m sort of the opposite. If I snack on mini chocolate bars at work (mini twix & kit kat are my favs!) then I actually end up craving even MORE chocolate throughout the day. it pretty much makes me want to eat the entire bag! i simply can’t control myself! so i find NOT eating it during the day, and saving it for after dinner, helps. i’m quite ravenous when it comes to chocolate though haha.

  4. Aww – happy anniversary!

    I’m probably going to be the lone commenter here that doesn’t like chocolate (it makes me feel sick, unfortunately), but I prefer a glass of wine (or 2, ahem) or something salty (mmm…chips) after a meal.

  5. You two are so adorable, I am so so happy for you… and yay for him coming to visit so soon! 😀

    My sweet tooth is always out of control after eating a meal… I always want SOMETHING. But it’s hard for me to figure out what it is. II think I will try a small piece of chocolate or a few pieces of gummy candy… to see if that helps

  6. We keep the mini chocolates at work. I’d say about an hour or so after lunch we all head over to the drawer and dig in! How funny is that? We usually just grab a single piece each. It works 🙂

  7. I completely agree with you!! I usually crave something after dinner. If I just want something sweet I will have a piece of fruit. Lately I’ve been craving chocolate so I’ll have it 🙂

  8. Happy anniversary!!! I always eat some sweet treat after dinner. I loveeeee dark chocolate though. Yesterday the boyfriend and I split a mint dark chocolate bar (on his suggestion, how awesome is that??) and it was delectable! I really want to try the Lindt Sea Salt bar. Good stay-healthy tip 🙂

  9. Happy 4 years anny to you guys! Mike and I have our 4 year anny next May! You guys look great together!

    6 weeks is a long time to be apart, I am sure you are super happy to see him soon!!!

    Have a great Monday! xoxo

  10. Happy 4 years!

    I definitely eat a sweet daily! 🙂

  11. Happy 4 years!

    I definitely eat a sweet daily! 🙂

  12. Happy Anniversary!!! 😀 How exciting your weekend will be!!

  13. Oh my goodness, this post must have been written for me to read… I always crave a dessert after a savory meal. But you’re right, I think it’s mostly out of habit now. It’s something I’ve been wanting to try to change for awhile now, so this post was perfect for me to read. I’m going to try your trick with a piece of chocolate or two instead of a bowl of ice cream or some other dessert! Your chocolate choices seem right up my alley too! 😉

  14. Happy Anniversary to you and Chris! That is so awesome that he will be here for a week. You must be DYING to see him!

    Yep, I definitely crave dessert after nearly every meal. When we lived at Andrew’s parents for a year, they had tons of dessert-y treats on-hand, and I would always have dessert after dinner. Usually a Flaky, Jos Louis, Ah Caramel, something like that…which are all terrible for you. I gained a lot of weight when we lived there, because I can’t resist those things! Eating a chocolate a day is a great idea, and now I usually do the same… you are absolutely right when you say it keeps your cravings at bay. Although sometimes it is hard to stop at just one… 😉

  15. Happy anniversary!

    I am not good with limiting myself to one serving of dark chocolate although I do enjoy a few squares of it now and then and force myself to save the rest for later.

  16. I get to see my lady friend this weekend too 🙂

  17. I should try this, seeing as I just ate about 10 cookies in one sitting. Woops.

  18. For me, I can’t have candy like Reese’s in the house because I’d eat it all in one sitting! I usually have a bag of Dove or Hershey’s Bliss Milk or Dark chocolate … and I’ll bring one or two in my lunch with me. After dinner, I have to have something sweet, too … but it’s usually an ice cream sandwich or something more “substantial.”

    Doing those two things keeps me from wanting HUGE desserts every week! 🙂

  19. happy anniversary!!!!! 🙂 That’s so exciting that you get to see him this weekend! I love Dove dark chocolates.. soo addicting!

  20. Four years – congrats! I am sure this week can’t go by quick enough!

    I totally agree. If I let myself indulge in a little bit of something sweet everyday I don’t get the massive sugar cravings I used to get when I overly restricted sweets from my diet.

  21. Usually I’ll just go with my cravings. I don’t have sweets every day, but if I’m having a craving I definitely have something!

  22. Great idea! I keep a pack of mini mixed chocolate treats in my dorm room .. mini twix, 3 musketeers, and snickers.. and it does just the trick!

  23. Happy anniversary to you both. I am so glad you get to see Chris this weekend! Give him a big hug from his Mom. Miss you both and can’t wait to see you at Christmas time.

    Be safe this weekend and have a great time together!

    Tess

  24. Happy Anniversary!

    I’m going to have to try your trick with a little piece of chocolate every day!!

  25. Amanda @ the beauty notebooks

    Happy Anniversary! ❤ That is wonderful. I know that long distance relationships are a challenge, but so incredibly worth it. (My guy and I have been together over three years, almost all of which has been long distance!) Enjoy every moment with him this week!

    p.s. a piece of chocolate a day also makes me a happy girl. Yesterday I bought my first bar of Green and Black — a dark chocolate infused with coffee! seriously, can it get any better than this!?

  26. HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!!!! 🙂

    a chocolate a day TOTALLY keeps my cravings away. in fact, any form of small treat is definitely better than restricting myself all week. if i do that, i end up going CRAZY on the weekend.

  27. Happy anniversary!

    And I always have to have some form of sweet built into my day to help me stay balanced.

  28. Kim @ Eat, Live, and Blog

    I love having a sweet after a savory meal as well. Chocolate is the best dessert. That remind me, I need to go get some soon. I love putting mine in the freezer too. It’s so much tastier!

  29. Happy anniversary! Have a wonderful long weekend with Chris!

  30. My favorite is a few dark chocolate covered almonds after dinner!

  1. Pingback: New Little Personal Challenge | My Food 'N' Fitness Diaries

  2. Pingback: Blogiversary Giveaway

Leave a Reply

