Meatloaf and The Animal Whisperer

Happy Friday!!!

Chris is here! I’m so happy :). And for that reason, I’m going to keep this short and sweet with a recipe!

We made an awesome dinner last night – turkey meatloaf. It was incredibly easy, and super duper tasty!

BBQ Turkey Meatloaf

Adapted from Cooking Light

Yields 1 9×5 inch loaf

Ingredients

  • 1.5 lbs lean ground turkey
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat dry breadcrumbs (about 1 piece of regular sized bread)
  • 1/2 medium onion, chopped
  • 1/3 cup BBQ sauce, divided
  • 1 Tbsp yellow mustard
  • 1 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 2 large egg whites
  • Cooking spray

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • Combine turkey, breadcrumbs, onion, 1 Tbsp BBQ sauce, and the rest of the ingredients except for the cooking spray, in a bowl.
  • Shape meat into a 9×5 inch loaf pan that has been coated with cooking spray.
  • Spread remaining BBQ sauce on top meat loaf.
  • Bake at 350 degrees for about 50 minutes or until the meat is no longer pink, but still tender.
  • Slice and enjoy!

We served our turkey meat loaf with rice and steamed broccoli and cauliflower. It was a fantastic meal!

And Chris has already bonded with Zoey. I swear, he is like an animal whisperer or something. After him being here for like an hour yesterday she was already biting his toes and snuggling in by his legs while he was sitting down. It’s crazy because she won’t even do that with my roommates yet! BUT, after he bonded with her she suddenly became more open with my roommates. Last night she was sitting next to them and letting them pet her. Thank you Chris :).

Awww, my little baby…so adorable.

Ok friends, I hope you all have an awesome Friday! Chris and I are off to get the gym.

 

Questions:

If you like meatloaf, what is your favorite way to make it?

Do you know anyone who animals always seem to love?

 

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on October 7, 2011, in Chris, Dinner, Pets, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. I LOVE meatloaf, I just hate the name. That looks like a great recipe, I believe I will be trying that asap.

    haha, I am a cat whisperer, for sure. I don’t know what it is about kitty cats, but they love!

    Hope you and Chris have an awesome weekend together!

  2. enjoy your time with Chris! So glad Chris and Zoey hit it off – pets liking the boyfriend is very, very important! 🙂

  3. I ❤ meatloaf! I like to make it with lean beef, onion, cheddar, some spice, and oats. I just learned that I can sub oats for breadcrumbs, and it actually turns out okay.

  4. I LOVE turkey meatloaf! My stepmom would make it all the time for us growing up, and it was easily one of my favorite meals. I don’t make it that often anymore because my husband isn’t a huge fan of any kind of meatloaf unfortunately. Your BBQ variation looks so yummy! I need to try it!

  5. YUM! I love to make meatloaf in a muffin tin so you have little individual meatloaves. My favorite part is always the crusty end piece, so this way every piece is an end! 🙂

    Enjoy your time with your honey!

  6. I used to love meatloaf, but I haven’t had any in years! I put oats, spices, bread crumbs and cheese in mine, with a ketchup topping! Enjoy your time with Chris, I’m also in a long distance relationship, and I know how precious that time is when you finally get to spend time together!

  7. The title of this post cracks me up!

    I don’t know anyone who animals are instantly attracted too – but kids are like that with my hubby! They love him. It’s so funny.

  8. Have soo much fun with Chris! Your cat is adorable… just had to say it again 🙂

  9. BBQ meatloaf?! Delicious!! I love BBQ sauce on seriously anything. So sorry I have been MIA lately! I have missed your blog so much and can’t wait to catch up on reading. Hope you have a BLAST with your man 🙂

  10. hi! i’ve never even seen meatloaf before never mind tried it! i’m vegan but haven’t even tasted a veggie version 🙂 maybe i’ll experiment a bit! have a great weekend!

  11. That meatloaf looks delish!

  12. I think animals like a male figure and warm up to them easily. My dog is the SAME way he LOVES my brother and always goes to him first! ENjoy your weekend with your boyfriend!!

  13. Turkey meatloaf is my favorite. My favorite meal growing up was turkey loaf with homemade cranberry sauce and baked potato.

  14. That meatloaf looks so good! I love anything smothered in bar-b-que sauce! My mom use to always make us meatloaf growing up, but I haven’t had it in a while. When she made it she used ground red meat (which I don’t eat much of anymore) and would bake it with ketchup on top! And then serve it with mashed potatoes and corn…it was always one of my favorite weeknight meals!

  15. meatloaf is the key to a mans heart, and BBQ is even better. I am made one with bison before. So good. and there is a really good Pineapple BBQ meatloaf recipe that even better. Sweet and tangy!

  16. so glad you’re having a great time with chris! that meatloaf looks great, i’m loving the addition of bbq sauce. will have to try it sometime! 🙂

  17. That recipe looks great. 🙂

    My bf is definitely a kitty whisperer as well. Cute blog!

  18. I def think there’s people that animals gravitate towards- I’m not one of them haha I’m mostly scared of dogs and I think they sense that.

  19. I’ve never actually had meatloaf. Must try this!

Leave a Reply

