Pumpkin Black Bean Turkey Chili

Hi everyone!! It seems like a lot of you enjoy Love Grown granola as much as I do :).

As I said yesterday, I went to try out the kickboxing class at my gym. It was great! It was so nice to do something completely different. And it was a male teacher in a room full of women and he totally knew how to keep us interested and motivated. This morning, my body is totally feeling the workout haha. My back is sore in places that haven’t been sore in ages. I guess that’s a good thing though right?

Anyway, I have a super tasty recipe for you guys! This was my first time making chili on my own…usually I make it with Chris or someone else. And let me just say, I’m really proud of myself and how it turned out.

Pumpkin Black Bean Turkey Chili

This is the perfect meal for a cool, crisp fall day. The pumpkin adds a nice thickness to the chili, but doesn’t take away from the standard chili “taste”.

Servings: 6-8 (depending on how much you eat πŸ˜‰).

Ingredients

  • Olive Oil
  • 1 1/4 lb lean ground turkey
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 1 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 15 oz cans diced tomatoes
  • 1 15 oz can pumpkin puree
  • 2 cans black beans
  • 1/2 – 1 cup water
  • 2 Tbsp chili powder
  • 1 1/4 tsp ground cumin
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Heat oil in a large pot over medium heat. Brown the turkey thoroughly.
  2. Add onion and cook for a few minutes to soften.
  3. Add garlic and green pepper and cook for about a minute.
  4. Add tomatoes, pumpkin, and beans and mix everything together.
  5. Add 1/2 – 1 cup water depending on how thick you want chili to be and mix.
  6. Season with chili powder, cumin, salt, and pepper and mix everything together.
  7. Reduce heat and simmer for at least 20 minutes.
  8. Serve and enjoy!

This chili was awesome! And it was really easy to make. Just an fyi, it’s not very spicy and that’s the way I like it…if you prefer yours to be a bit hotter you would definitely need to add more spices! I’m really happy there are tons of leftovers because I’d be happy to eat this for the next week :D.

Sorry for the short post today! I have a test, paper, presentation, and critique due this week. Lots to do!

Hope you all have a great Saturday!

 

Questions:

Do you like chili?

What’s your favorite kind?

 

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on October 15, 2011, in Dinner, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    This looks great, Lindsay πŸ™‚ I’ve been looking for a chili recipe to make a huge pot of– do you think it would be okay if I made it without the turkey and doubled the beans?

    • I’m sure it would be! Maybe you could add different kinds of beans- kidney or something just so that there isn’t an overwhelming amount of black beans (but that’s just what I would like haha). You could also probably use tempeh if you aren’t wanting to use meat!

  2. Oooh I bet this would be awesome with chickpeas or tempeh instead of turkey. And I’d probably spice it up, I like it hot πŸ™‚

    Glad you enjoyed your workout, good luck with all your work!

  3. I’m glad you enjoyed your kickboxing class! I love kickboxing.

    Mmm your chili looks fantastic! I honestly love almost any and every chili out there. That stuff is just so good. I usually like to make mine with ground chicken and a variety of beans in a tomato base with tons of spices! I’ll have to try your’s out too!

  4. Yum!! This looks awesome! I love pretty much all chili, but the one I have on my blog is my current fave! πŸ™‚

  5. Yumm loving this recipe, you have done it again πŸ™‚ I don’t like too spicy either so I bet I would really like this! My favorite is a sweet potato and black bean one I made last winter

  6. I love chili! It’s not quite cold enough for it here, but I made some last night anyway.

  7. thanks for this wonderful recipe! going to have to try this out sometime during the weekk– the beauty is that i can eat it for long after if i make enough since i live alone. Have a great weekend Lindsay! πŸ˜€

  8. I LOVE chili and pumpkin, this kind of sounds AMAZING πŸ˜‰ Goodluck on all your work due this week, have a great weekend love! πŸ™‚

  9. This is definitely an intriguing recipe…must try it! I love turkey, I love chili, and I love pumpkin. Seems like this will be good πŸ™‚

  10. That Chili looks SOOO good!!!! Perfect for a chilly day like today!! Mmmmm!!!!

  11. Do you think this would work with sweet potato? I’m not a pumpkin fan!

  12. I love pumpkin chili. It makes it nice and thick… Just the way chili should be. Adding corn is a good change of pace sometimes too. And I have to have corn bread with my chili:)

  13. I want to make this SO BAD! Maybe i can next time I go home…this might be a little too challenging to make in my dorm room haha. πŸ˜‰

  14. This chili looks so delicious! I can’t wait to make this when it gets cooler here πŸ™‚

  15. I am always sore in random places on my back after a kickboxing class. I think it’s because all that punching you use so many different muscles without even knowing it! This chili looks awesome!!

  16. I love chili, especially in the Fall & Winter. My favorite is turkey and I am really intrigued at the idea of throwing some pumpkin in. Yum!! πŸ™‚

  17. I love chili! I just asked my mom for her recipe so I could make it tomorrow. My makes a pretty traditional chili with ground beef and beans, but I’m going to make it with ground turkey and red beans. πŸ™‚

  18. This looks great!! I love chili, its perfect for cold weather πŸ™‚

  19. Hey beautiful! AHH this looks so good- i have so been craving chili during the colder days! I need to make this. love you!

  20. Ahh, yumfest. That chili looks amazing! I love eating chili in the cooler weather. Hope you had a good weekend!

  21. This looks delicious! Thanks for sharing.

  1. Pingback: Breaking the Weekend Workout Routine + Turkey Chili Recipe « My Life as a Lazy Girl

  2. Pingback: 10 healthy pumpkin recipes | Fat Fighter TV

Leave a Reply

