Revving Up Your Strength Workout and A Lush Nuts Giveaway!

***This giveaway is now closed. Thank you so much to everyone that entered!!***

 

Hi friends! Sorry I was MIA from the blog world yesterday. I’ve had lots of hw and studying to do. I’ve got another awesome giveaway for you today…more on that in a minute!

Yesterday I wasn’t in the mood for a long workout because frankly, I needed to keep doing work. I decided to head to the gym and complete and upper body and core workout. Once I got there though I also realized that I kind of wanted to incorporate something that would help raise my heart rate and give me an effective workout in a short period of time. I loved what I did :).

For each upper body exercise I completed 3 sets. After each set I did some sort of cardio or plyometric type exercise to rev up my HR. And it totally worked! Not only did I challenge all of my upper body muscle groups but I also got in a fatiguing cardio workout. After that I completed some core work and called it a day. I was able to finish everything in 30 minutes.

I can’t believe I have never thought to incorporate cardio between my strength sets before! It was a great challenge and I definitely felt like I got in an awesome workout! Here are the cardio and plyometric moves that I did:

  • Jumping Jacks
  • Invisible Jump Rope
  • Tuck Jumps
  • Squat Jumps
  • Leap-ups or Jump-ups (I don’t really know what to call this; basically you squat down and then jump straight up as high as you can and repeat; the move is similar to what you would do at the end of a burpee)
  • Ski jumps
  • High knees

I love jumping πŸ™‚

Completing this type of workout would be awesome if you are short on time, looking for a challenge, and want to do something different than an interval workout!

Lush Gourmet Foods

Last week I was contacted by Bisera of Lush Gourmet Foods and she sent me samples of her nuts to try and review!

I’m gonna come right out and say it- these nuts are delicious! I’m amazed with myself that I haven’t eaten them all already and the package came on Friday…but they are so good that I’m trying to savor them for as long as possible :).

Lush Nuts come in 5 different flavors: Original, Salt & Pepper, Cinnamon Spice, Coffee, and Hot Curry.

At first I was a little skeptical about the hot curry one because I’m not really a fan of curry and spicy things in general…Bisera told me that they were one of the most popular flavors and after trying them I completely understand why. They are goooood.

Each batch of nuts are handcrafted in small batches to ensure the highest quality to the consumers.Β  The nuts are 100% natural and there are never any artificial ingredients or flavors used! They are made with only 3 ingredients: the Peanuts, a bit of sugar, and quality spices. Lush Nuts are all hand sorted and packaged, and any peanut that doesn’t cut it is tossed.

According to Bisera:

Growing up, my parents had always made these delicious peanuts whenever we had company over and the response was great. Our family friends would constantly ask for them and said that my parents should make and sell them, but having other careers, and three young children, they never followed through. Knowing that everyone enjoyed this product and my love for food growing up, I thought I would give my go at the whole business thing.Β  I enrolled to pasty school at Kendall College in Chicago and finished with a Pastry degree and a B.A. in Food & Beverage Management as well. Throughout those years, I spent many hours in the kitchen testing out the original family recipe from my mothers side and making it into the 5 flavors found today: Original, Salt & Pepper, Cinnamon Spice, Hot Curry, and Coffee. After several batches of the peanuts and MANY tasting sessions, I was ready to start with the packaging and developing the brand. I moved back to Kalamazoo, MI one year ago to do an internship as a part of my degree, and started selling the product in January of this year.

Um, I don’t know about you but I think it’s pretty sweet that Bisera started this company on her own after perfecting a family recipe that was brought over from Macedonia and has been passed down through the generations!

And guess what?? Bisera would like to offer 1 reader a 5-pack of the medium size!! This consists of a 3.5oz pack of each flavor. I’m jealous…I want to win ;).

Here’s how you can enter!

1. Go to the Lush Gourmet Foods website and tell me which flavor you most want to try!

2. Like Lush Gourmet Foods on facebook or follow on twitter! Leave a comment letting me know that you did.

3. Subscribe to In Sweetness and In Health or add me to your reader! Leave a comment letting me know that you did.

4. Tweet about this giveaway! “I entered to win a delicious 5-pk of @lushgourmet nuts from @SweetNHealthy. Enter here: http://wp.me/p1RDDv-kc”. Leave a comment letting me know that you did!

 

Good luck!! I’ll be announcing the winner on Friday :D.

About In Sweetness and In Health

I'm Lindsay! I'm a 23 year-old graduate student in occupational therapy. I love all things health and fitness related and this blog will document my life as I learn to really love myself, try to stop worrying so much about my body, and truly take advantage of all the sweet things that life offers us.

Posted on October 17, 2011, in Giveaway, Review, Snack, Uncategorized, Workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 105 Comments.

  1. Wow! These look divine. Since I’m basically addicted to Salt and Pepper kettle chips, I’d love to see how they translate that flavor to nuts!

  2. Yum! These looks great! I think I’d love the Cinnamon & Spice ones the best!

  3. I now follow Lush Gourmet Foods on Twitter!

  4. You’re already in my reader. πŸ™‚

  5. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    These are the type of workouts I LIVE on! I loveeee mixing strength with cardio– I feel like I see results faster, and sweat so much more than I do when just doing straight strength work.

    Anddd the cinnamon spice sound like my cup of tea πŸ˜€

  6. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    I followed them on Twitter πŸ™‚

  7. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Of course you’re already on my reader, girl πŸ˜‰

  8. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    And I Tweeted!

  9. I would love the cinnamon spice flavor !!! Yum

  10. I just liked luck gourmet foods !!!

  11. Ooooh! I would love the cinnamon spice nuts~

  12. Love that Bisera’s based in MI! πŸ™‚

    I would probably try the Original first–gotta go with the signature flavor!

  13. Followed Lush on twitter!

  14. I’m already a subscriber πŸ™‚

  15. Where did you get your blog layout from? I’d like to get one like it for my blog.

  16. Love quick workouts. I got one in between work and school this morning, it felt great because I hate going in the afternoons when all I want to do is be in my PJs.

    Those nuts look awesome! My spicy and sweet tastes are dragging me in two directions, but I have to say hot curry is my top choice, followed by cinnamon spice πŸ™‚

  17. I am such a sweets person, so I would love to try the cinnamon spice!

  18. follow lush gourmet on twitter πŸ™‚

  19. I would love to try the cinnamon spice!

  20. I just subscribe to In Sweetness and In Health via RSS (in Google Reader)

  21. I want to try the salt and pepper and the cinnamon spice! I can’t decide between sweet and savory πŸ™‚

  22. I already subscribe to your blog in google reader πŸ™‚

  23. I’m following on twitter πŸ™‚

  24. Your added to my reader πŸ™‚

  25. I would love to try the cinnamon spice! YUM πŸ™‚

  26. Those coffee ones sound quite intriguing. I too, think the curry ones sound weird, but you don’t know until you try it, I guess.

  27. I want to try the cinnamon and spice!

  28. I follow them on twitter!

  29. Cinnamon spice for sure!! Coffee would be my second choice πŸ™‚

  30. Following them on twitter!

  31. I have already subscribed before!

  32. You are in my reader! I would love to try the coffee-flavored variety. I am such a coffee fiend that these would be just the compliment to my morning cup of coffee πŸ™‚

  33. I’d like to try the curry one- I’m a big fan of curry and don’t have it enough!

  34. Just tweeted about your giveaway

  35. Mmm – hot curry! I love spicy stuff! πŸ™‚

  36. I want to try the coffee flavor!!!!

  37. I’ve got to say, probably the hot curry or the coffee?

  38. definitely like to try Cinnamon Spice!!!

  39. I would most love to try Cinnamon Spice–yum!

  40. I’m subscribed to In Sweetness and In Health on my google reader! : )

  41. After looking at the lush gourmet site… I’m going to have to say the cinnamon spice nuts look best to me! πŸ™‚

  42. I added you to my google reader!

  43. Ohh. and I did tweet about this WONDERFUL giveaway<3

  44. I would love to try the hot curry flavor.

  45. You are already in my google reader:)

  46. cardio between strength is the best! a good sweat fest for sure. I’ll have to try out these LUSH treat. Off to check them out now!

  47. Salt and pepper for sure!!! I love salt and pepper chips, pretzels, etc!

  48. Liked them on FB!

  49. Follow them on Twitter!

  50. Added you to my reader! πŸ™‚

  51. I tweeted! @lifeafterswim

  52. Cinnamon Spice sounds perfect for fall!

  53. i would love to try the hot curry. i don’t know, i feel adventurous!

  54. I tweeted ❀

    thanks for doing this giveaway ❀

  55. That workout looks great! The lushnuts look flaming lush, I’d be mad to try that coffee one yum!

  56. Cinnamon and Spice look DELISH! I cannot wait to try them!

  57. COFFEE COFFEE COFFEEEEE!! πŸ™‚

    they all look SO delicious though!

  58. You’re already on my google reader πŸ™‚

  59. aaaaand i liked them on FB

  60. This looks like a great giveaway! I’m not sure which ones I’d like better, they all sound so yummy!! But I think I’d have to guess the cinnamon spice flavor πŸ™‚

  61. I already have you on my google reader πŸ™‚

  62. I followed Lush Gourmet Foods on Twitter!

  63. I tweeted about the giveaway!!

  64. Oh my goodness I WANT TO WIN! Those look de-lish. I tweeted it, btw πŸ™‚

  65. Strength training + cardio workouts rock. I love incorporating it alltogether. Time flies and I always leave those workouts sweaty like there’s no tomorrow. What better way to leave the gym than with sweat dripping down your face ;), huh?

    So glad we connected in the blog world!

  66. Oh the nuts look delish! I would definitely try the coffee flavor!

  67. I definitely want to try the hot curry! Mmm!

  68. Found you on Twitter! Love the site! Of course we RT’ed your contest!!

  69. I’d love to try cinnamon spice!

  70. You’re on my (overloaded) Google Reader too πŸ™‚

  71. I would want to try the original ones!

  72. I would have to go with the Cinnamon Spice!

  73. Followed Lush Gourmet on Twitter!

  74. I entered to win a delicious 5-pk of @lushgourmet nuts from @SweetNHealthy. Enter here: http://wp.me/p1RDDv-kc

  75. Okay – delete that last one. Meant to say “I tweeted”

    Haha πŸ™‚

  76. I must try the coffee flavor! Coffee is my favorite!!

  1. Pingback: Safety in the Weight Room

  2. Pingback: Food Textures

